I wanna talk about Salt

Today I want to talk about Salt.

Salt is a crystalline mineral mainly made up of sodium Chloride.

salt

Sounds harmless right? However, that’s not always the case. I am not disagreeing that Sodium isn’t required for bodily function, because it is.  What I’m saying is that when you start abusing your sodium intake day after day, that’s when the problems occur.

Excess amount of sodium can completely throw the body out of balance, raising your risk for severe medical risks. To list a few, there are:

  • High Blood pressure The amount of blood in your circulation is a key factor determining your blood pressure. When you consume more salt than what your kidneys can handle, the extra salt preserves water and your blood volume increases, raising your blood pressure.
  • Heart Disease and stroke When you consume too much sodium and your blood pressure is too high, over time the added pressure can make your vessels less elastic and more vulnerable to buildup of fatty deposits called Plaque. When this occurs, atherosclerosis (hardening of arteries) develops.
  • Other problems Too much or too little salt in your everyday diet can lead to muscle cramps, dizziness, or electrolyte disturbance, which can cause neurological problems. Keep in mind though, that drinking too much water, with insufficient salt intake, will actually put you at risk of water intoxication.

Oh & did I mention that if we were to cut salt intake by a third, we would save tens of thousands of lives per year AND shave $24 billion off of health care costs.

Not sounding to harmless now, huh? Unfortunately, not many people or corporations see it that way. Take 1/3 of Denny’s FAMILY restaurant menu for an example. Adults shouldn’t be consuming any more than 6000 milligrams of salt a day and kids ages 4-6 shouldn’t be consuming no more than 3000 milligrams. Well, looking at the menu you’ll see that there isn’t ONE Kid’s Meal for fewer than 470mg. Let’s not even talk about the Adult Menu. If you were to order a classic cheeseburger WITHOUT CHEESE you’re looking at 1560 milligrams. That’s not even including your choice of a side, or your drink. I mean, to me that’s horrible!

We can’t always control the amount of sodium we intake while dining out, we CAN control it in our homes. Here is a list of foods that are high in salt for you to consider:

  • Bacon
  • Cheese
  • Pickles
  • Soy Sauce
  • Pizza
  • Bread (such as crumpets and bagels)
  • Some breakfast cereals

Instead of eating those, try incorporating Beans, Salmon, Fresh fruit & vegetables, and rice into your meals. Such a simple fix!

I know this post has been rather long, so I’m going to end it here. I hope if you learned anything, it was the severe medical risks that a high sodium diet can do to your body, not that Denny’s is a horrible place (even though that is something to keep in mind next time you’re looking for a place to dine out. HA!)

Have a great day ❤

The elevator to success it out of order. You’ll have to use the stairs… One Step @ a Time”

-Don’t forget to enter my CHOBANI giveaway HERE

26 thoughts on “I wanna talk about Salt

  1. I’ve never been a huge fan of salt and never add it to recipes even if it calls for it! There are much, much better ways to flavor your food rather than with salt. Plus, herbs and spices don’t make you swollen when you wake up in the morning. One of the worst {outward} side effects of salt, at least for me!

  2. I have a weird relationship with salt: I have really low blood pressure, so at various points my cardiologists have actually told me to consume more of it. Whoda thunk it!? That said, I’ve found that it often doesn’t help much with my BP, and it just makes me swell up like a whale that swallowed the entire friggin’ ocean. As you can imagine, I don’t like that motif too much. So, I’m all about fiber-ing it up and avoiding too much salty insanity! 🙂

  3. I’m not a huge salty person (sweet is definitely more my thing), but I to have to make sure I get enough of it because I have really low blood pressure and salt actually makes me feel a lot better. Just more proof how different everyone is and how we all have to do what works for us 🙂

  4. Great information! I don’t use salt a lot, hardly ever. Once I got used to meals without added salt, I don’t miss it anymore and there are so much more delicious herbs and spices to get that flavor!

  5. Great post, Jessie. I don’t use an awful lot of salt, only a little to season in cooking sometimes. Once I had ran out of a lot of herbs, so added a little more salt to my meal, then I found myself doing it for the next few days, because salt is addictive and once you get a taste for it you want more. So, I hid the salt and went and bought some herbs.

    My dad eats too much salt. I tell him it’s not good for him but he doesn’t listen. He always puts it on his dinner without even trying it first. I’ve even seen him put on meat in his sandwiches.

  6. Salt is a funny one, like everything its all about getting the balance right. I have avoided salt for a long time but have recently discovered I have very low blood pressure, the best thing to do is not avoid salt like the plague but instead add it yourself. If you avoid highly processed foods then adding a small amount of salt to your food, when it is necessary, is acceptable.

  7. I love salty snacks. I have really low blood pressure and sometimes I think I crave a salty snack for that reason. Drinking as much water as I do I also try to be careful with my electrolytes. I think that the average american however does eat way to much salt without even realizing it. Prepackaged lunch meats are often really high in sodium.

  8. Great post girl! We never used salt growing up so I rarely add it to foods. I will occasionally use a sprinkle of sea salt on my food and it can be addicting! Everything in moderation I guess 😉

  9. I’m a salt fiend but it’s okay because for some reason, I have really low salt so I actually need more of it than the average person due to my mom’s disease. I guess we’re all different! But for the average person, you’re absolutely right that salt can be really dangerous.

  10. Ha! I love that quote at the end. Perfect.

    I think the quality of salt can be important, too. Using sea salt that has had minimal processing is actually full of minerals that are essential to well-being. Great post–moderation is always a good reminder!

  11. Great post!!! I’ve been cutting back on salt with everything I make at home. TJ doesn’t always do it but he is getting better. And we only use sea salt

  12. I am actually pretty obsessed with salt, but have made a conscious effort not to add table salt to any foods the last couple of years. I do love me some cheese and pickles though, so I will never be able to give those up! haha.

  13. I thought the recommended amount was 2500mg/day? 6000 seems a little high!

    Unlike many of the above commenters, I unfortunately do not have any medical condition which makes it okay for me to eat high levels of salt. 😛 Too much salt makes me feel really bloated the next day, so I try to stick with foods that are low(er) in salt. That said, everything in moderation! 🙂

  14. I used to enjoy salty over sweet stuff but don’t as much anymore. I season my cooking with salt but since I don’t eat a ton of processed foods am pretty good at not getting too much. However, last year when I was training for my half marathon I had an issue with lack of salt since I was losing so much through sweat. I was extremely dizzy and light headed all the time and had to up my salt intake!

  15. I am so sensitive to salt! like, especially if i over do it at dinner i’ll wake up in the middle of the night soo thirsty and feeling soo ill. i also retain water like. a. champ. so i’ve always had to be pretty cognizant of it, its always such a surprise to me when people don’t realize the harmful effects. awesome post!!

  16. Great post Jessie! Although I have to disagree with you about no more than 6,000mg per day. I was taught in my nutrition classes to aim for about 2,500 mg a day, and no higher than 3,000.

  17. Good points. I’ve never been a big salter, until I started cooking. I actually had no idea I was using too much garlic salt (the best!) until I cooked for my parents and they mentioned I should probably cut back on the salt. Now I’ve been more conscious of it though!

  18. Great post! It always amazes me how much salt is in certain foods.Sodium is always the first thing that I look at on nutrition labels, because it can easily sneak up on you! I hardly use much salt in my cooking, only a pinch, because I’m so sensitive to the amount, along with my family’s history of high blood pressure.

  19. Sodium definitely sneaks its way into so many processed and packaged goods. I find if you stick to “real” food, like meat, vegetables, rice, fruit, eggs, etc. you can usually keep your sodium levels low enough pretty easily. It’s when you start eating packaged chips, crackers, cookies, etc where you can run into trouble!

  20. Anything in excess is not good for you. Definatley people need to keep an eye on their blood pressure and listen to your doctor. It has been my experience when you drink a lot of water you need a little more salt. The problem is, noone really drinks the right amount of water. Athletes seem to need a little more than the average person as well. There is so many things that go to making our bodies to make them function properly. I really enjoyed your article and it should be something people really pay attention to.

Leave a Reply

