Who am I??!!

1

Drooling yet?! 

I have no idea what’s gotten into me these past few days, but man am I on a roll with recipes! To be honest, I’m not even sure who I am, Ha Ha! Whatever the reasoning behind my kitchen addiction lately, I’m all in!

The recipe I’m about to share is unlike any other! I’ve made countless different veggie burgers, and unfortunately NONE hold. I’m not sure if it’s me, or what, but I’m just not a fan when that happens. I mean who likes eating a burger that falls apart on them at the first bite? Mise well just eat meatloaf!

Alright, enough rambling… here’s the recipe…

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 3/4-1 cup vegetable broth
  • 8 baby carrots, shredded
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 15 oz. black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup parmesan breadcrumbs
  • 2 egg whites, or 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper

Preparation:

  • Bring vegetable broth to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Add quinoa, and cover until liquid is absorbed (10-12 minutes).
  • Once quinoa is cooked, add to food process along with carrots, onions, bread crumbs, egg, cumin, garlic powder, paprika, and pepper.
  • Pulse until combined to the consistency you want (I like mine to  be a little chunky).
  • Form into 4 large patties, or 8 sliders
  • In a nonstick skillet, spray with nonstick cooking spray; cook burgers until browned on both sides

and we all knew when you eat a burger, you gotta have some sweet potato fries….

sw

So that’s exactly what I had, except mine were in chip like form. I topped them with one packet of powdered stevia & some maple syrup!

& now it’s time to wake Joshua up for breakfast, and let the dog(s) out. We’re dog sitting for the next 2 weeks, so with Roxy & the puppy.. things are about to get crazy over here, Ha Ha! Have a great start to the weekend.

..”At a certain point, you’ll know when, you’ve reached a time for change. No going back… you’ve come to far. Don’t look down at all things that could go wrong if you fall. You can deal with them when and if they ever even happen. It’s your time to use those wings of yours and fly” ❤ 

30 thoughts on “Who am I??!!

  1. These look incredible, Jessie! I love the addition of quinoa and Parmesan cheese – yum! I’ve actually only made veggie burgers once, and guess what happened? They fell apart OF COURSE. I’ve been scared to try again since that minor disaster, but I may be able to muster up the nerve with this recipe on my hands. 🙂

    I love the quote at the end – It’s so so true! The only way to go places in life is to release fear and embrace faith. I firmly believe that God is guiding us 100% of the way!

    Hugs and happy Friday! ❤

  2. Oh, that veggie burger looks and sounds AMAZING. I love these recipes you’re churning out, girl — you’re on fire! 🙂

    I also love that quote — it’s so very apropos, and it’s just what I needed this morning. 🙂 Hugs to you, and happy Friday!

  3. sweet potato fries/chips have become my #1 favorite food i think!!! SO GREAT!! With plentyof sea salt on them.. I have become a sucker for sea salt 🙂

  4. I LOVE a good veggie burger, especially when it is homemade! And you are right, getting them to stay together is definitely the biggest challenge. I cannot wait to try these out. They look and sound delicious :).

  5. AH THis looks soooo good. Veggie burgers are my favorite!! I can swap hummus for the eggs and make this STAT! I LOVE that quote..and needed it..YOU DA BEST!

  6. I have yet to make a beggie burger of my own – I have no idea how this has happened but this recipe is definitely one to try I think. Yum!
    It’s so funny that in the UK we call fries “chips” so to me your sweet potatoes in that photo aren’t chips at all. Hehe just a random point 🙂

  7. Looks delicious!! As a veggie, I love new homemade veggie burger recipes, but I have the same problem you do (although it may just be me, my much more cooking-skilled bestie seems to have no problem lol). Excited to try these 🙂

  8. If this is you on a roll, keep it up! I love a good veggie burger–and quinoa-based ones are some of my faves! Plus, yeah, pretty sure it’s impossible to enjoy a burger without a side of sweet potato fries 😉

  9. Pingback: BEAUTY – Guest post | Fit Swiss Chick

Leave a Reply

