Uno dos tres

Good Morning! How are you this morning? I can only imagine most of you are drained from the holiday weekend. Hopefully it hasn’t been too painful waking up and getting your day started :). Like I mentioned in my post yesterday, we had no holiday celebration since Joshua was working. Yes it sucks, but hey at least I was able to do a little experimenting in the kitchen. Lucky for you, I have not one, not two, but THREE recipes to share with y’all today!

2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Acorn Squash (baked)
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/4 cup milk ( I used Almond)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 medium apple
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. raisins
  • 1 packet stevia

Preparation:

  • To bake an Acorn Squash, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Once preheated place WHOLE acorn squash on a baking sheet & into oven. Bake for 40-45 minutes until soft, or to your liking
  • Cut acorn squash in half
  • In a saucepan, bring quinoa, milk, and water to a boil
  • Once boiling, lower heat and allow to simmer for a few minutes
  • While quinoa is boiling, cut up apple into bite size pieces
  • Add apple, raisins, stevia, and cinnamon to quinoa mixture
  • Cook until all liquid is absorbed
  • Stuff 1/2 your acorn squash with quinoa mixture
  • Top with 1-2 tbsp. of nut butter (don’t skip this step, because nut butter makes everything better.. oh and a tsp. or two of maple syrup as well)

…and here’s the second ❤

b

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 eggs
  • 3 egg white
  • 2 tbsp. applesauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • packet of stevia

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Spray loaf pan with cooking spray
  • Combine flaxseed, baking powder & stevia. Mix well
  • Add in remaining ingredients. Mix well
  • Pour batter into pan, and bake for 35 minutes
  • Enjoy!

I topped 2 slices with a mixture consisting of tuna, apple, celery, cucumber, laughing cow cheese & raisins. Delicious!

1

Ingredients:

  • 1  frozen banana
  • 1 cup chopped carrots (I steamed mine so they would be soft when blending)
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • Vanilla protein powder (I used Vega)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. maple extract (or vanilla)
  • 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum (optional)
  • Ice

Preparation:

  • Pour milk, protein powder, cinnamon, maple extract, xanthan gum, and oats into blender. Blend for 5 seconds
  • Add carrots, banana and ice
  • Blend until your liking
  • Top with coconut flakes & raisins (optional)

Alright, that’s all I have for you today! Have a GREAT day and remember… “life is a journey  with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but most of all, experiences to enjoy ❤

44 thoughts on “Uno dos tres

  1. I’ve never thought to add carrots to a smoothie before, but it sounds like an amazing idea! I’ve really been craving some carrot juice lately after seeing it all over the blog world, but my juicer is still buried in the depths of my parents’ kitchen, so this might be a perfect alternative.

  2. My hubs totally wanted to get acorn squash this weekend and I told him no because it was a “fall” thing! You’ve totally changed my mind and I feel like I need to surprise him with an acorn squash dinner this week 🙂

  3. That flax bread sounds amazing Jessie! When you said that you’d be sharing a flaxseed bread recipe I pictured 2 cups of flour and like, 1/4 cup of flaxseed like most recipes do…. I HATE that. It’s not “almond flour” bread if it has a cup of wheat and 1/2 cup almond. That would be Wheat bread WITH almond. Lol. Major pet peeve of mine 🙂

  4. I’ve been really into smoothies lately, so I’m going to have to try that carrot cake smoothie tomorrow morning! Everything here looks so divine! Hope you have a marvelous day!

  5. Pingback: Together Tuesday #9 | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear?

  6. OK….. love love LOVING all these recipes. All are right up my alley! Did you know that carrot cake is one of my favs? I’m gonna pretend that you did and that smoothie was for me. 🙂

    I was actually up super early by choice this morning! Lots of relaxing this weekend, so I was energized 🙂

  7. The stuffed squash screams fall to me, and that carrot cake smoothie sounds divine! Carrot cake is the way to my heart. 🙂 I’ve made the flax seed bread before, but with almond flour. Is is the consistency of almost a cornbread? I have to try yours!

  8. That carrot cake smoothie looks SENSATIONAL! I really need to make that. My boyfriend and I didn’t do much celebrating either because the weather was so bad in the northeast, so we had a little stay-cation. it was actually really nice and good for recharging our batteries. happy tuesday 🙂

  9. Well I guess this just answered my question from the email I sent….you HAVE been coming up with lots of yummy recipes!! They all look so good!!

  10. Pingback: It’s not about comparison |

  11. Pingback: Tuesday Recipes – Recipe Finds | Fit Swiss Chick

  12. Pingback: Putting people in their places… and some WIAW | Fit Possible

  13. Pingback: BEAUTY – Guest post | Fit Swiss Chick

Leave a Reply

