Top 5 Herbs

Happy Friday!! I must say, I am so glad this week turned out to be much quicker than last. Is it just me or did last week seem to drag? Whatever the reasoning behind this feeling, I’ll take it. I am more than ready for Joshua’s day off tomorrow and to be able to get in some much needed cuddle time.

So for today’s post, I wanted to not only make it informative but fun at the same time. Not only do I want to share five of my favorite herbs and their benefits with y’all, I thought I’d include some refreshing cocktail recipes as well. I mean it is spring & summer season =)

Basil:

  • Skin & Hair Health. The juice of basil is very effective in treating acne, insect bites, and ringworm
  • Cardiovascular Benefits. Because basil is a good source of magnesium, which promotes cardiovascular health by relaxing muscles, improving blood flow and lowering the risk of cardiovascular spasms
  • Kidney Problems. When you drink basil, it can help prevent kidneys tones
  • Respiratory Disease. When you boil basil leaves, it can be used as home remedy for treating asthma

Strawberry Basil Lemonade (The one on the left)

basil

Ingredients:

  • 3 strawberries de-stemmed
  • 5 basil leaves
  • 1.5 oz. Smirnoff Strawberry Vodka
  • 1 oz. puree strawberries
  • Fill (approx. 4 oz.) Lemonade

Preparation

  • Muddle 3 strawberries with 5 basil leaves, and Smirnoff in a 16 oz. glass. Mix strawberry vodka, and strawberry puree in mixing glass or martini shaker. Add ice, shake for 15 seconds and pour into glass. Fill with lemonade and stir

Dill

  • Bone Health
  • Anti-Bacterial meaning it can be used to fight off infections
  • Digestive Benefits. The dietary fiber is believed to calm an upset stomach, and prevent diarrhea
  • Sleep Aid. Since ancient times, dill has been used as a remedy for insomnia

The Ultimat Dill

dill

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cucumber slices
  • 1 Dill sprig
  • 2 oz. Ultimat Vodka
  • .5 oz. Agave Nectar

Preparation:

  • Blend 1 cucumber slice, dill sprig, lime juice, vodka, and agave nectar. Put over Ice & garnish with other cucumber slice

Parsley

  • Healthy Heart. The vitamin B9 found in parsley can help ward off cardiovascular disease such as; heart disease, and stroke
  • Lowers blood pressure. Having parsley everyday has been found in helping reduce blood pressure and the risks related to high blood pressure, such as hypertension
  • Hormonal Balance in females, and has also been known to help ease cramps during your menstrual cycle
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis

Parsley, Kale, and Berry Smoothie

parsley

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup (packed) flat-leaf parsley (leaves and stems)
  • 4 kale leaves (center ribs removed)
  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 1 banana, cut into pieces
  • 1 tsp. flaxseed

Preparation:

  • Puree ingredients with 1 cup water in a blender until smooth (add water if too thick)

Sage

  • Brain Function.  Four compounds isolated from the extract of sage were found to be AChE inhibitors, which may be protective against Alzheimer’s disease
  • Bone Health. Sage is rich in vitamin A and calcium, which are very important for growth of teeth, bones & skin
  • Digestive problems. Helps with gas, stomach pain, bloating, etc…

Sage Lady

Mango_SageLady

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ parts Absolut Mango Vodka
  • 2-3 fresh sage leaves
  • 3 slices cucumber
  • 1 part simple syrup
  • ½ part Cointreau
  • Dash of peach bitters

Preparation:

  • Combine cucumber, simple syrup & sage in the bottom of a mixing glass, by pressing them with a spoon. Shake with ice. Fine strain into a cocktail glass. Garnish with a spanked sage leaf

Thyme

  • Nutrient-Dense Spice.  Excellent source or iron, manganese, and a very good source of calcium and food source of dietary fiber
  • Infectious Agents. Because thyme is rich in vitamin C, it helps the human body develop resistance against harmful pro-inflammatory free radicals
  • Digestive tonic and increases appetite
  • Chronic Gastritis.

Blackberry-Thyme Margarita: Serves 2 (The one in the Middle)

thyme

Ingredients:

  • 16 large fresh blackberries, divided
  • 4 small thyme sprigs, divided
  • 6 tbsp. 100% blue agave silver tequila
  • ¼ cup simple syrup
  • 3 tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1 tbsp. orange liqueur
  • 2 cups ice cubes, divided
  • ¼ cup chilled sparkling wine

Preparation:

  • Place 14 blackberries and 2 thyme sprigs in a medium bowl. Press firmly on solids with wooden spoon until mashed. Mix in tequila, simple syrup, lime juice, and liqueur, then 1 cup ice. Stir to blend well. Strain into large glass measuring cup. Mix in sparkling wine. Divide remaining ice between 2 small glasses. Pour mixture over. Garnish each with 1 blackberry and 1 thyme sprig

Woah! Now that I just wrote a novel, I’m going to end this post with a quote for you to think about…

People will hate you, rate you, shake you, and break you. But how strong you stand is what MAKES YOU”

 ❤

38 thoughts on “Top 5 Herbs

  1. I’ve gotta say that cocktails definitely aren’t the first things that pop into my head when I think of herbs, but I do like the way you think 😉 And I do love that quote, too. Happy Friday, love! Hope the day goes by quickly for you so that you can be reunited with your guy soon ❤

  2. Great post! I love your herb knowledge… you should come work where I work, you’d be great! 🙂 Herbs are useful for SO many things, they are just so hard to master, but I like how you broke it all down & even added recipes. Great idea, girl! 🙂 Happy Friday!!

  3. What a fun post! Thanks for the drink ideas. I can’t wait to soak up some health benefits by the pool 🙂

  4. Great info! The blackberry-thyme margarita sounds interestingly delicious. Have a great weekend!

  5. Mmm those drinks sound tasty 😉 Too bad I can’t try one out right now…I think my students would be a tad confused…and maybe I’d lose my job haha

  6. Awh I love that quote!

    I learned SO much from this post, hah. I didn’t know all of these herbs had so many benefits! Basil’s probably my fav, but when it comes to making sweet potato fries, I end up sprinkling a ton of spices and herbs on them. I’ll keep these in mind next time and make a conscious effort to use a few! 🙂

    Have a happy Friday, girlie! Enjoy cuddle time. 🙂

  7. Looooooooove this! I love summer cocktails (is it wrong that I worry about missing out on summer cocktails when Brandon and I decide to have kids?), and incorporating fresh herbs — especially ones with all those gorgeous health benefits — is a great idea. I love the way you think! 😉 Have a fabulous Friday, and enjoy cuddle time with Joshua tomorrow!

  8. Loooove me some herbs!! Im a basil, rosemary and mint fan for sure. Mint is by far my favorite, but I could just sniff a rosemary plant forever!! Did you know that rosemary helps bee stings? I used to rub it on my bee stings after and it would help take the pain away almost instantly 🙂

  9. Ok, I am loving all these recipes! I’m underage so I can’t have the ones with vodka, but my mom is standing behind me and giving you a nod of approval. I think you may have just found a new fan. She told me to tell you she likes how think in regards to using cocktails and herbs together! Have a lovely Saturday!

Leave a Reply

