Don’t knock it till you try it

Hi beauties! Usually on Monday’s I link up with Katie @ Healthy Diva Life’s Marvelous In My Monday campaign, however today is all about Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table Strange but Good campaign.

Yesterday afternoon I was having the hardest time figuring out what I wanted for lunch. I knew I wanted tuna, but really didn’t want it over a salad. I also knew I wanted apple slices with some type of nut butter. Well, after doing some brainstorming this is what I came up with….

Apple Cinnamon Raisin Tuna Melt with Peanut Butter

1

2

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices Cinnamon Raisin Ezekiel Bread
  • 1 (5 oz.) can tuna in water, drained
  • Sliced apple, cut in bite size pieces
  • Sliced cucumber, cut in bite size pieces
  • 1 wedge laughing cow cheese
  • 1 tbsp. nut butter (I used Earth Balance Crunch Peanut Butter)

Method:

  • Combine tuna, apple, cucumber, and laughing cow cheese
  • Top 1 slice of the Cinnamon Raisin bread with as much of the tuna mixture as possible
  • Top with 2nd slice of the bread
  • Put under a hot Panini maker until warm
  • Drizzle 1/2 of nut butter on leftover tuna mix, and then spoon the other 1/2 on top of sandwich

**I also drizzled some maple syrup on top**

Yes, I realize this may sound different but I promise I would never share a gross recipe with you ❤ Give it a try, and let me know what you think!

Also, incase you were away this weekend; don’t forget to check out my weekend posts…

  1. Think you got what it takes?
  2. Life is beautiful

 

75 thoughts on “Don’t knock it till you try it

  1. Mmm, if I liked canned tuna, I’d be all about this, but I don’t…so I’ll have to sub chicken instead 😀 I ❤ Ezekiel bread with just about anything or all by itself!

  2. I’m definitely not a knocker – the strangest combinations are sometimes the most delicious! But I do have to admit that I’m not big on tuna… Cinnamon raisin toast, on the other hand, I love. But my favorite combination is with almond butter and bananas.

    Happy Monday, love!

  3. There’s absolutely no way I’d ever knock a recipe that contains cinnamon raisin toast, peanut butter, and Laughing Cow cheese! And since I love tuna, and LOVE anything sweet and savory, I know I’d enjoy this sandwich! The maple syrup is the icing on the cake. 😀

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, darlin’! xoxo ❤

  4. I have yet to try Ezekial bread, I need to get on it! And I’ve heard the cinnamon raisin flavor is the best. As for the recipe, I trust you haha I like some weird food combos too. Glad you fulfilled all of your cravings in one! 🙂

  5. I love the ‘Strange but Good’! LOL…
    My entire family thinks everything I eat is weird, so I definitely don’t judge anyone on their food! Whatever tastes good to you! I don’t do Ezekiel bread anymore, but I used to just love it toasted. As for tuna…plain or on top of a salad. I guess I am pretty boring in the tuna department! 😉

  6. Oh I hear ya on this one. I really like sweet chicken salad with raisins, apples and such, so I’m sure I’d probably like a sweeter tuna salad too.

  7. Definitely Strange! I’m not sure I’d like this but I’m always game to try new things! I just started liking tuna out of a can again after years of avoiding it. Not sure why since it’s pretty good!

  8. Salty and sweet is one of my favorite combos so I’m definitely not knocking this… I’ve made tuna salad and put it on cinnamon raisin bread before but never added PB – you took it to the next level 😉

  9. I don’t eat tuna but I absolutely add peanut butter to just about every recipe and meal. I too combine my cravings and it always comes out delicious! I love cinn raisin Ezekial bread and often it with peanut butter, hummus/avocado sandwiches, in French toast or with melted muenster or mozz cheese with spinach and tomato. Delicious! I have also used it crumbled in egg mugs. I love the sweetness it adds to savory dishes.

  10. That looks so very unique, but you know what, I would definitely try it. Lately I’ve been learning that things that don’t go together actually do, at least with food! 🙂 Breaking down all kindssss of barriers lately. 🙂

  11. I would never have thought to add peanut butter to my tuna sandwich, but I do like to put apples in it. I can’t save I would be brave enough to try the combo but I hear people all the time eating things that seem a bit “strange” and they just love it!!

Leave a Reply

