Fitness Friday: Camping Edition

Hi Everyone! Welcome to another edition and my take on Fitness Friday.

6a00e554f1ae9388330120a972a95c970b-800wi

With Spring upon us, and Summer just around the corner, I figured it’d be the perfect time to share some Outdoor Clothing & Equipment that I’ve learned and found necessary for a weekend trip of hiking or camping!

Dependable Jacket and Pants-Whether that be a pull-on or jacket

  • Rab’s Women’s Aurora Pull-On; Cost $52.00; Stretchy, soft and lightweight, UPF 50+ Sun protection, Open cuffs for easy rolling, Once concealed pocket for small items; Perfect for those summer nights when the temperatures drop.
  • Rab’s Women’s Sawtooth Jacket; Cost $113.00; Lightweight; Wind and water resistance (you never know when there will be an unexpected thunderstorm).
  • Canterbury Fleece Pants; Cost $40.00; COMFY and FLEXIBLE Who wants to be sitting around a bonfire consuming a ridiculous amount of s’mores and feeling “fat” because your pants are too tight. It only makes sense to be wearing stretchy pants.. am I right? Ha Ha

Walking Shoes- Any good pair of sneakers will do, unless you’re planning to do a lot of hiking for an extended period of time.. then I would suggest looking into a good pair of trail shoes

Tent- The size you need depends on how many people will be joining you. For Joshua and I, a 2 person is obviously big enough

  • Nemo Obi 2P tent; Cost $450.00; If it were me buying the tent, I’d highly recommend investing in a nice quality tent.. unless you could careless about your tent blowing over, and maybe even leaking from one of those unexpected downfalls I mentioned above. That’s all up to you though 🙂

Sleeping Bags & Mattress- Pretty self explainatory

  • Deuter Dream Lite; Cost $45.00; Water repellent, Includes a built in pillow (which I found very convenient when my family and I spent a summer traveling the Yellowstone)
  • Thermarest Neo Air; Cost $200.00; Packs down into a compact roll; Simple to pump up (I’ve had too many horrible experiences with pumping up air mattresses)

Water Bottles & Thermal Mugs

Folding Chairs

2 awesome camping gear websites I’ve found:

…and of course NO trip is complete without some delicious snacks

  • Protein bars
  • Fruit– apples, bananas
  • Sandwiches– Peanut and Jelly, Turkey sandwiches, etc…
  • Variety of nuts
  • Canned soup
  • Hot dogs/Hamburgers + rolls
  • ALL THE INGREDIENTS YOU NEED FOR S’MORES

…and that right there is my thoughts on what to bring with you if your planning a camping trip. I’m sure there are many things I forgot to mention, but you get the idea 🙂 Oh and of course, HAVE FUN and DON’T FORGET BUG REPELLENT!

  • When was the last time you went camping?
  • Do you enjoy being outdoors, or no?
29 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: Camping Edition

  1. This is great! I have yet to go camping. My husband grew up going camping all the time with his parents, and my family was the complete opposite. When we got married, my husband registered for camping gear at REI. He was determined to take me camping, and 8 years later we still haven’t gone! I actually would love to go one of these days, so hopefully we can make it work this Summer.

  2. The s’mores ingredients are a MUST. 😉 I haven’t been out-right camping in a long time. However, Bob and I go hiking every summer in the Rocky Mountains. We pack for day-long hikes, and it’s one of my favorite getaways!

  3. LOVE, Love, LOVE! We use to go camping all the time as I was growing up. Ben and I have only been once but my plan is to fix that rather quickly 🙂

  4. Sadly I’ve never actually been camping before (I don’t think 4-H camp counts because we slept in a cabin), but when I do I’m coming to this list for sure. Thanks for the great ideas Jessie!

    My favorite thing to make at campfires has always been marshmallows, burnt to a crisp 🙂 Also in 4-H we made hamburger patties and baked potatoes wrapped in foil over the fire and those things were pretty good!

  5. haha bug spray is SO important when camping! Especially during the summer months. Oddly enough I didn’t even need it when I went camping in the winter…although camping in the winter was a whole ‘nother experience haha

  6. Joe and I do a TON of hiking and camping, so we are pretty well stocked on all of this stuff. I think we are planning the first camping trip for next weekend- can’t wait!

  7. Oh camping…i don’t mind a night in a tent but heaven help whoever forgets to bring smore stuff…i’ll whine the entire time…definitely the best part of any time in the woods 😉

  8. Ohh I am so rubbish when it comes to camping. I like the being outside but and enjoying long walks etc but the whole toilet and shower bit really freaks me out. I’m more if a glampler than camper! 😉

  9. Love this!! I am going to be camping next month hopefully on a road trip from CA to WA! My boyfriend works at REI so he will be hooking us up with all the essentials!

  10. I love the outdoors but I have not been camping since I was 8 and went with my girl scout troop! I love hiking though and I try to get in a hike whenever the weather’s nice. Since Boone’s in the mountains we are spoiled with lots of awesome trails that are really close by, I’ll definitely miss that when I graduate!

  11. Or you could skip the camping and stay in nice hotel with adjoining restaurant and spa.
    I camped all through my youth and I’ve had enough, thank you very much. With that being said, I don’t mind outdoor activities and exercising (hiking, swimming, canoeing) so long as I go home to hot shower, a great meal and a warm bed at the end of the day.

  12. I haven’t gone camping in SO long and that breaks my heart!! I used to go every summer with my daddy, and we’d go probably 2 or 3 times. It was just SO much fun. Falling asleep to the sound of the rushing river and waking up to the birds chirping. GAH I need to go again!

  13. I’ve only been camping once (I bought a pink camo sleeping bag for it, haha) but I woke up in the middle of the night and I was CONVINCED there was a bear. It wasn’t my most logical moment 😉

  14. Amen to the s’mores ingredients being a MUST!! Camping is not camping without marshmallows, graham crackers and Hershey’s. Oh, and peanut butter, too. Have you ever tried that combination? To. Die. For. 🙂

    My family would go camping with a few other families at least once a year while I was growing up, however it was often more like three or four times. I loved everything about those trips–the campfires, the ghost stories, swimming in the lake, hiking, bundling up in sleeping bag, eating sugary cereal from those little boxes etc. etc. Now I go much less frequently…In fact, I haven’t been for several years! I want that to change this summer!

    Thanks for all the great tips, girl! Hope you had a wonderful weekend! ❤ xoxo

  15. Man, I haven’t been camping in at least 3 or so years! The last time I went I had my very first s’mores! Now I can’t see how I lived without them…camping or not! Lol

    I’m not a huge camping person since I tend to prefer my nice comfy bed to any old sleeping bag or air mattress, but I’m always up for a challenge AND trying new things so I’m not quick to write it off just yet. Especially since I know that the man-friend is a HUGE camper! I’m sure we’ll be going quite a bit once the weather warms up! Hmmm, well see how that goes! Wonder if I can special order a Princess and the Pea sleeping bag? 😉

Leave a Reply

