How do like your tuna?

Good Morning and Happy Thursday! I have been looking forward to writing and sharing this post with y’all all week. As many of you know, I love tuna. To me, tuna is one source of protein that is so versatile. Throw it in an omelet for breakfast, have a tuna sandwich, mix it with laughing cow cheese, peppers, cucumbers, and raisins with a side of crackers or pretzels for an afternoon snack. However, I must say, my favorite way would have to be in the form of a burger.

It wasn’t until I came across a company called Trees Can’t Dance webage, whom are based out of the UK that sells healthy and fresh chili condiments and marinades made with the finest natural ingredients, that I found a delicious Tuna Burger recipe.

Now, this recipe isn’t your average recipe. I’ve found what truly makes it stand out from others is the Trees Can’t Dance Cajun Rub that is used. It adds that extra kick of heat that most burgers are lacking in flavor.

Mini Cajun Tuna Burgers

cajun

Ingredients:

  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1 small red onion or shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • handful of breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp Trees Can’t Dance Cajun Rub
  • pinch of celery seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. thyme
  • 1 medium egg

Preparation:

  • In a large bowl, mix all ingredients with the exception of the egg
  • Add the egg and mix well **If the mixture is a little loose, just add more breadcrumbs
  • Shape into 4 mini burgers
  • Place on a baking tray and chill in frdige for 1/2-1 hour. **This allows the burgers to firm up
  • Heat a small amount of oil, or cooking spray, in a small frying pan over medium heat.  Fry the burgers 5-6 minutes; turning burgers regularly
  • Top with your choice of condiments. Serve on a bun or even in a salad

Sounds delicious right? If your like me, a person who loves adding some extra heat to my dishes, I highly recommend heading over to Trees Can’t Dance website and taking a look at their wide-variety of products and recipes.

**To my UK readers, if you were to spend £20.00, you won’t be charged for delivery! 

  • Are you someone who loves some extra heat in your meals?
  • Favorite hot sauce?
50 thoughts on “How do like your tuna?

  1. Happy Wednesday evening here! 🙂 I’m not a huge tuna fan but sounds really easy! 🙂 I love alternative burgers like bean burgers and veggie burgers!

  2. aww my Mom used to make me tuna sandwiches when I was in High School and still eating meat lol I’m such a weirdo, I actually don’t like anything spicy or hot… mild is my choice haha like almost just plain tomato sauce mild LOL

  3. I LOVE tuna burgers! And sandwiches! What a great idea to make homemade burgers. I am a total wimp when it comes to hot food. Even a little bit too much pepper is too much for me. Laaaaaaame 🙂

  4. Love this recipe! I’ve never been a huge fan of tuna but it is such an awesome protein source! Love the flavoring in these.

  5. I loveee tuna out of the can and I’ve always been that girl with the smelly lunch because I bring tuna – oh well! One of my favorite ways to eat it is mixed with cottage cheese + avocado, it gets so creamy… But I also really like tuna ‘cakes which I started making in college and called “poor girl crab cakes” 😛

  6. Ooo those tuna burgers sound fab! Just a heads up – tinned tuna doesn’t count as a portion of oily fish so if you’re watching that, try to eat fresh! Will check out that company 🙂

  7. I’m not the hugest tuna fan, but I do love a good burger of any variety. I think the spices and flavors in this would mask any fishiness in the tuna!

  8. My mom scared me off tuna with one too many bad casseroles when I was little…. but those look good (and easy) enough that I may have to consider giving it another try!

  9. Pingback: Friday Faves – Sun, Fun and Linklove | Fit Swiss Chick

  10. I’m not sure why, but I almost never make anything besides tuna salad out of tuna…unless I’m eating it straight out of the can with some mustard! 😉 Love the idea of making little tuna burgers…though I’m a COMPLETE wimp when it comes to spice…anything more than a pea-sized amount of sriracha and Heather’s got heartburn for the rest of the day! 😦

Leave a Reply

