What are Superfoods?

Hi guys! I thought for today’s topic we would focus on Superfoods! I’m sure many of you are already familiar with different types of Superfoods, but do you know why they are good for you?

SUPER

As David Wolfe, author of Superfoods Book, explains “Superfoods are a class of the most potent, super-concentrated, and nutrient rich foods on the planet. Extremely tasty, and satisfying. Superfoods have the ability to tremendously increase the vital force and energy of one’s body, and the optimum choice for improving overall health, boosting the immune system, elevating serotonin production, enhancing sexuality, cleansing, and alkalizing the body. Nourishing us at the deepest level, they are the true fuel for today’s “superhero””.  (written by the true raw food guru himself)

Now that more of you have a better understanding of what superfoods really are, I want to list a few of my favorites & the benefits that come along w/ each one.

  • Cacao are the Mayan “Food of the Gods”. Raw cacao comes in multiple forms; whole cacao beans, cacao nibs, cacao powder, and cacao butter. Not only is cacao rich in minerals, but cacao promotes cardiovascular health and is extremely high in magnesium. I have noticed over the past few months, cacao nibs have been showing up all over the place; Not only are cacao nibs sold as a chocolate covered snack, but they are being incorporated into baked goods in replacement of chocolate chips or nuts.
  • Chia Seeds are tiny black and white seeds that comes from the plant Salvia Hispanica. They are an unprocessed and whole-grain food source of Omega-3 and Omega-6 essential fatty acids. Chia seeds are high in fibre, calcium, loaded with antioxidants and vitamins. They also contain 20% of protein. Most people will top cereal, smoothies, yogurt and even vegetables with Chia Seeds. Another cool thing when working with Chia; you can substitute chia gel in place of 1/2 the butter/oil in baked goods. 
  • Flaxseeds are highly nutritious. Flaxseeds are rich in Omega-3 fatty acids which are key forces in helping and preventing inflammation. By preventing inflammation, you are decreasing your risk of: heart disease, asthma, diabetes, and arthritis. Flaxseeds are also high in fiber, and high in phytochemicals; including many antioxidants and lignans. Evidence shows that lignans have been found to not only promote fertility, pre-menopause, but also reduce your risk of breast cancer. 
  • Goji Berries are a bright orange-reddish berry that almost always come from China. Goji berries are filled with powerful antioxidants that are known to prevent heart disease, lower cholesterol, and boost your immune system. They protect against alzheimer’s, vision, and are known to help with quality of sleep and athletic performance. Goji berries are an extremely rich source of Vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, C and E. 

As there are many other superfoods; maca, blueberries, hemp products, avocado, adzuki beans, I chose four of my favorites to share with you. I hope you enjoyed my little learning session today, Ha Ha =) If you have any other questions, don’t hesitate to send me an email. 

  • Do you incorporate superfoods into your daily diet?
  • What is your favorite baked good that either incorporates flaxseeds, or chia seeds? 
54 thoughts on “What are Superfoods?

  1. I am happy to report I use chia seeds and flax seed 🙂 haha I have never even seen Goji berries! I am going to search for some now 🙂 I love lessons like this- in fact I really just need a nutritionist! Haha

  2. Blueberries and avocado for sure 🙂 chocolate too..but not always cacao so i’m not quiiiiite sure that that counts 😉 i like throwing chia or flax seeds into my oats in the morning, too!

  3. I definitely eat superfoods on a daily basis! Things like yogurt, dark chocolate, blueberries, and avocado make regular appearances in my diet, and I adore them. I don’t usually go out of my way to get any of the fancier powders or superfood supplements, but I like to toss a spoonful of chia seeds into my smoothies every now and again.

  4. I eat lots of super foods 😀 def use flax everyday in my smoothies, and chia seeds I try to throw in my salads every not and then (I tend to forget sometimes haha) since I bake vegan, I usually make either a flax egg or chia egg instead of a real egg– both work the same 🙂

  5. Thank you for a great learning session! I am a fan of blueberries, goji berries, Chia Seeds and Avocado. SO easy to just add them to everything – pancakes, smoothies, oats, salads……love it! I never use supplements, since I am sure that we can get enough if we just eat REAL food and SUPERFOODS!

  6. I absolutely LOVE cacao nibs! I know it is an acquired taste but to me, there is nothing better than a few spoonfuls of PB with some nibs scattered on tip, with an apple to dip. They also taste great in yogurt or even eaten by themselves. I have tried goji berries but not a huge fan. Chia seeds are also good in desserts 🙂

  7. Unless I’ve had them in something, I don’t think I’ve had goji berries. I love the others you mentioned though. I’ve been having lots of berries and chia seeds lately.

  8. I love the goji berries in granola, chia and flax in oatmeal, and cacao nibs in cookies! I’m not one to force myself to eat something just because it’s good for you, but all of these are really tasty! The chia seeds might not have a taste but I like how they bulk up in oatmeal!

  9. I’ve just started eating chia seeds and they others are regulars in my diet. I love cocao nibs and goji berries topped on my smoothies, flaxseeds and chia seeds find their way into my oats and yogurt. Great post, Jessie. I’m going to share it on my FB page 🙂

  10. What a great little tutorial (thank you!) I’ve mixed chia seeds into my smoothies and I have a pudding recipe on my “to try” list. I haven’t tried flax yet but it’s on my list 🙂

  11. i def eat some type of superfood everyday…. lots of chia seeds and flaxseed.. i do like adding raw cacao to my oatmeal or smoothies too!

  12. Such an informative post! I definitely try to incorporate superfoods into my daily diet. I just recently discovered maca and I love it!

  13. Chia seeds are my new favs! I add them to yogurt and smoothies and everything else in between. I actually really enjoy their flavor and the crunch that they add. I’ve never tried Goji berries before but they’re on my list! Next time I feel like splurging, I’ll have to throw them into the cart 🙂

  14. Great information there Jessie 🙂 🙂 I have yet to try few of the super food listed above. As super food are great for us – so many nutritional benefits I just wanted to mention how there is so much hype about superfood in media today we often overlook at regular fruits, veggies and seeds available to us and spend a lot of money on new hyped products. Since there is no official definition of super food and anything can be considered super food 🙂 yay to good old banana, peanut butter, and walnuts.

  15. I tried a Chia Coconut Bar last night and it was the first time I’d ever had them before 🙂 I think I may have to buy a bag and throw them in my cereal/oats/salads from now on! Thanks for all of the information Jessie – very helpful!

  16. I love using chia seeds on anything from toast, to oatmeal to yogurt, Or even eggs! And obviously I HAVE to make sure to incorporate cocoa in my daily diet 😉

Leave a Reply

