It’s just wrong!

Hi beautiful people! I originally wasn’t going to do a post today, but after seeing this photo, my heart ached & I just felt the need to express my feelings.

48083_4508083228361_1791932296_n

I support our military a hundred percent. Both my husband and father served their country and did their time. However, this photo is just wrong. It makes me sick. I mean honestly, is it necessary? Regardless of the reasoning behind this mans death, people need to realize that there is a family mourning today, tomorrow, and for the rest of their lives. No one person’s death should be compared to another. Death is death, and it’s a horrible part of life that I never wish upon anyone. So for anyone who has maybe shared this photo on facebook, twitter or instagram, shame on you! 

God bless this mans family ❤

32 thoughts on “It’s just wrong!

  1. Jessie, you are incredible! You are so right- no one death is sadder than another. Both men are sons to grieving parents, possible siblings to brokenhearted sisters and brothers… Both deaths are tragic are awful.

    <3.

  2. I’m glad you shared this. It’s a tough subject. My fiancee served and his brother is still active, and I don’t think you gain a real appreciation for how deep the sacrifice is until you’re thrust into that lifestyle. My fiancee’s constantly pointing out things that go unnoticed like honoring sports teams as heros and having parades, and ignoring our troops. And while I think we can, as a country, do more for our military, death is death. Not everything needs to be compared to the sacrifice of the military because everyone is different (does that make sense). Like you said, he still has a family that lost a child and that is sad in an of itself.

  3. I couldn’t agree more. While yes, it is interesting to see what the media does and how it manipulates us, it is disgusting to compare a death to a death. Both are awful, and as you said, both families will be grieving for the rest of their lives now. Thank you for raising this point.

  4. That is the most ridiculous thing that I’ve seen all day. Hillbilly or not, drunk or not, that man fought to protect the lives of our country (and most likely the life of the person who created that picture).

    Also, being a hillbilly is not a bad thing. I have many friends and family members who could be considered “hillbillies” and there isn’t anything wrong with that. And to make the assumption that he was a drunk in the face of his death totally undermines all of the hard work that he did in the military.

    I’m so glad you brought this up.

    • The “drunk hillbilly” and the soldier are two different people. The picture is saying that this guy’s death means less than the soldier’s does, and I 100% agree with Jessie about the horribleness of it.

      • Now that I’ve properly done my research and am “informed” I realize now that I totally missed the point of this message. I agree like everyone said. Two deaths are equally tragic, no matter who they were or where they came from. I feel for both of their families.

  5. I love your take on this, and it’s so true. I hadn’t ever thought of it this way, but your perspective on this is spot-on. Thanks for reminding me that these comparisons do no good for anyone! ❤

    P.S. I love the new blog header/theme — it looks fabulous!

  6. A life is a life!! At first I thought you were going to say that one was more worthy to live than another and while I understand the idea I just don’t believe in it. Two families are still mourning the loss of their children and nothing makes one worse than the other.

Leave a Reply

