What I Ate Wednesday :: Actual Wednesday

Happy Hump Day and What I Ate Wednesday [hosted by the fabulous Jenn @ Peas and Crayons]! Wish I could say this morning has started off on a happy note, but I would then be lying. As Monday went on, I started getting a sore throat & earache. I took some cough drops (ate some cough drops… does anyone else have a problem on forgetting to actually suck them?), and some medicine for my throat. Well, just my luck, this past day and half has been down-right brutal; can’t sleep, can barely eat, and just not hungry. Because the pain hadn’t eased up, I went to the doctors last night. Here to find out, my throat is inflamed & I need to get one of my ears drained. Lucky me! They gave me antibiotics, so I’m just patiently eagerly waiting for the meds to kick in… before I go crazy!

Phew! Now that y’all just listened to me vent, let’s move on to What I Ate Wednesday [last Wednesday]

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

Meal #1: Allison’s Salted Caramel Pancakes topped with peanut butter, cinnamon and apple slices. I’m very content with water throughout the day, however recently I’ve been drinking other liquid in the morning for extra calories. On this particular day, I enjoyed hot chocolate on ice (told you, I dislike anything warm). *Random fact: I actually don’t eat my pancakes right away. I let them sit for a little while so they are almost cold.

Meal #1

Meal #2: Smoothie: In the mix: 1 cup water, 1 tsp. xanthan gum, 1 frozen banana, pineapple, 2 tbsp. earth balance coconut peanut butter spread, ice. Topped with a serving of Anahola Granola-Original thanks to my best friend, Sandra ❤

Meal #2

Meal #3: Salad with Chickpea Mix (grounded chickpeas, with crushed almonds, chopped apple, onions, peppers and lemon juice) with more peppers, tomato, parmesan cheese & salsa. On the side I enjoyed and quickly devoured one of the Lifebars that Lucie (thank you again darling) sent me.

Meal #3

Meal #4: The usual. Tuna mixture (tuna, laughing cow cheese, celery, cucumber, and yellow pepper) paired with pretzels, and sliced apple

Meal #4

Meal #5: Breakfast sandwich: 2 slices whole wheat  buttered toast with 1 egg, 1 egg white, 1/4 avocado, turkey bacon ketchup. + sliced apple. For some reason, I was craving apples all day.

Meal #5

Meal #6: 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 scoop cinnamon bun protein powder, and crushed carrot cookies (frozen for an hour), and of course topped with more cookies. This bad boy is amazing! I have no shame admitting that I’ve eaten it for dessert every night since.

Meal #6

… now i’m going to go lay back down, and try not to cough up any lungs 🙂

  • Last time you were sick?? About two weeks ago, but with the stomach bug
  • Favorite form of exercise? Was running, but now I enjoy my daily walks 🙂
58 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday :: Actual Wednesday

  1. I’m still waiting to make Allison’s pancakes. I don’t know why I haven’t yet! They look so yummy! I hope you start to feel better soon! You have a big trip coming up and we can’t have you sick!

  2. Feel better, love! I know exactly how you are feeling! I had that entire thing 2 weeks ago, and found out I had an ear infection and bronchitis due to my coughing. Mess! I hope yours clears up. You are smart to go to the dr quick! I tried to wait it out! That being said, last time I was sick was a few weeks ago. I also used to love running, but now I’m loving lifting! Goes back and forth 🙂 Feel better!

  3. I am SO making those pancakes for Luke and I tomorrow morning! Last time I was sick was about two weeks ago with the flu, yuck. Favorite exercise is yoga! Or any Jillian Michaels DVD. I would love to talk with you more about needing to eat additional calories and HA…something I have struggled with/getting back into…..if you’re up to it? My email is allison.hayes91@gmail.com 🙂

  4. awww sorry you’re not feeling well!! I’m actually sick now– I think it’s from being stressed though cause that’ll do it to ya. But the last time I was super sick was when I had the flu. Def get some rest and drink lots of fluids 🙂 Your dessert sounds amazing 😀 I love anything pumpkin

  5. I’m sick off and on with colds and such. Plus seasonal allergies are always a kicker. I used to get sick everytime I went home with my pets… Runny nose, swollen eyes, the works, but since simplifying my diet with GAPS all of these problems have basically ceased.

    I hope you get to feeling better soon, and stay feeling well. Being sick during the summer is one thing, but being sick when you have school to worry about is a nightmare!

  6. Oh no! I swear you and I have been back and forth with sickness’. Horrible! Monday was the first day I was actually feeling somewhat normal. Watch (knock on wood) as soon as you feel better I’ll be sick! Double knock on wood!

  7. I’m so sorry you are sick, hun, sending you millions of smiles to feel better soon.
    Also gorgeous gorgeous meals! Really tempting.
    And I don’t remember being sick. Oh, I was… sometime last year…
    As for the exercise – lifting weights, and heavy. 😀
    Stay warm, drink lots of teas and relax – take your time to get better, Jessie! Happy Wednesday!

  8. Feel better soon Love!!! I am sending all my healthy energy your way. I haven’t been sick in years. I can’t even remember the last time I was sick.
    Besides that your Food looks sooooo good, That meal 6??? Yummyness!!! Just, my blonde head didn’t really get it beside that it looks so good – is it a smoothie??
    Sending you love!!

  9. Poor Jessie. I wish I could take care of you (it’s a bad habit of mine), but try putting your cough drop in a cup of tea. You actually get the benefits without chewing the whole thing down (I like to chew mine too). Or add a little honey and lemon juice to your tea. Very soothing on the throat. As for the ear, they can be super painful so maybe some OTC meds for the pain. Get better soon.

  10. I hate hearing how you are sick again girl!! I hope you feel better FAST!! Reason # 78921 why we are meant to be best friends….I don’t like my food hot either! Room temperature is perfect! 😉 And those Go Raw Carrot cake cookies are BOMB! 🙂 I have almost every flavor!!

  11. Oh no hope you feel better soon! Being sick is the worst. Your meals do look delicious as always though especially those salted caramel pancakes! They sound amazing. Feel better girl!

  12. I seem to have a lingering cold that just won’t go away! really annoying. So sorry you aren’t feeling well again- hope the meds kick in quickly! That b-fast sandwich sounds so good right now 🙂

  13. I hope you feel better soon! I’ve got a sore throat slowly creeping up on me too and I’m praying it doesn’t last!
    I’m the complete opposite when it comes to food, I’m always cold so I love my food to be extra warm!

  14. Bummer, so sorry you’re not feeling well, hope things are looking up! Your eats look delish, nourishing food always helps me when I’m down for the count. I had a wicked flu over Thanksgiving that put me out of commission for 2-days. As for exercise, I’m loving strength training!

  15. I was sick back in December, and fingers crossed I’m good for a long time! Yummmm to all this food, I seriously gush over those circle pretzels every time I see them haha.

  16. I’m sorry you’re sick! I had the crap over this weekend and feel your pain. Antibiotics FTW! It all looks yummyyyy!!!! I’m on a tuna kick lately too–SO yummy! Feel better soon honey!

  17. I am sorry you are sick again. how about joshua? Feel better you guys. I am salivating at that pancake and sandwich with avocado and eggs- yum yum yum! I was sick about two weeks ago- sore throat and cold, so glad its over now. workingout- is kinda not happening these days but looking forward to running once it gets warm

  18. Babe! I’m so sorry you’re sick again! You’ve definitely had your fair share of pesky bugs this year. 😦 Praying for you! ❤

    Your eats look delicious, as always! I'm especially intrigued by your pumpkin protein dessert; I'll have to try that out! The breakfast sandwich looks amazing, too!

    The last time I was sick was at the beginning of February. I spent several days in bed, which is something I rarely do–even when I'm not feeling well!

    Love you to pieces, and can't believe I'm going to meet you in a few weeks!!! 😀 ❤ xoxo

  19. Feel better girl! Thanks for sharing my pancakes – you know I’m a ‘cake fanatic! I hope you enjoyed them! I love those carrot cake cookies… So much so I think I’ll take a trip over to WF during lunch today and get myself a bag 😉

  20. Aw, Jessie – I’m sorry you’re feeling sick again, especially so soon after your stomach bug from hell! I hope you feel better, ASAP — I’m sending lots of good vibes your way.

    Also, I love the salted caramel pancake idea. I’m going to have to try that this weekend!

  21. Misery has company I see–I am back at work today but still coughing up a lung. Luckily my fever broke last night (which was icky!) so I’m feeling a LITTLE better.

    My favorite used to be running. Now I’m getting more into lifting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

