New Recipe: Eggplant Jam

Hi guys! How are you? I’m doing absolutely wonderful. I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I haven’t been commenting on many posts lately. It’s not because I don’t adore every one of you, I just haven’t been in the “blogging mood”. I’ve been so occupied with school lectures and studying, the last thing I’ve wanted to do was sit around the computer. Don’t worry though, I’m back and ready to comment away πŸ™‚

missed-you-lolcat

Alright let’s move on to happier & exciting things.Yesterday I realized that the two eggplants I had in my fridge were about to go bad. Well, I absolutely HATE letting food go to waste and was very determined to use them in some way.

After browsing punchfork, and googling eggplant recipes for a little bit (1 hour to be exact), IΒ finallyΒ stumbled upon EGGPLANT JAM!Β I know what your thinking, eggplant jam? Yup, I wasn’t sure about it at first, but boy am I glad I decided to give this recipe a try.

Eggplant Jam :: Adapted from David Lebovitz

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium eggplants
  • Salt
  • Olive oil or olive oil spray
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled & minced
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/8 tsp. hot sauce
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp. water
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. dried parsley

Preparation:

  • Rinse and dry the eggplant
  • Using a vegetable peeler, peel in vertical strips, leaving about 1/2 inch between each peeling.Β Slice eggplant lengthwise
  • Sprinkle eggplant with salt, and lay on paper towel for about 30 minutes to extract eggplant juices
  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  • On a baking sheet, either brush olive oil on eggplant, or spray with olive oil spray, and then flip them over
  • Bake for 25 minutes, flipping eggplant over midway
  • Once cooked, put them in lg. bowl with garlic, paprika, cumin, cinnamon, hot sauce & water, and then mash well
  • Drizzle small amount of olive oil, or spray with olive oil spray in a skillet.
  • Cook the mashed eggplant on low heat, stirring frequently for 20 minutes, or eggplant mixture becomes thick
  • Stir in lemon juice, and let cook for another minute
  • Once complete, remove from heat & fold in parsley

It may look like a lot of steps, but I promise you, if I had no trouble, your good to go :).

And now I’m sure you’re wondering what in the world you can pair eggplant jam with right? The original recipe mixed in molasses, however I decided to try it a different way…..

BLT & Eggplant Sandwich

meal

meal2

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole grain toast
  • 2 slices turkey bacon
  • tomato
  • 2 tsp. light mayo
  • lettuce
  • EGGPLANT JAM

Preparation:

  • Cook bacon in skillet until done
  • While bacon is cooking, toast both pieces of toast, and thinly slice tomato
  • On one piece of toast; spread mayo, and top with lettuce and tomato slices
  • On other piece of toast; lay down bacon & top with your eggplant spread

Yes I’m aware thatΒ eggplant jamΒ may look gross, but don’t let looks fool you. It’s delicious!

  • Do you think you’ll try this recipe out?
  • What do you thinkΒ eggplant jamΒ would pair well with?Β 
46 thoughts on “New Recipe: Eggplant Jam

  1. Gotta be honest and admit that eggplant is one of the few veggies that I just don’t enjoy, with zucchini being one of the others… I’m definitely all for not letting food go to waste though, and finding creative ways to use things up. But when it comes to jam, I think I’ll be sticking to blueberry πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh yummmmmmy!! I LOVE eggplant and that recipe sounds so delicious!!! And the sandwich even better! I think it might be delicious with some Swiss Cheese on bread or over a sweet potato? is that weird? i think I like it. Thank you for sharing Hunnie. You just always have the best ideas. Happy Tuesday love!!

  3. I’ve never tried eggplant! Buttt I have wanted to try making eggplant parmesan – who doesn’t like anything breaded + sprinkled with parm?! Maybe I’ll pick up an extra ‘plant for this… I bet it would be great with balsamic too!

  4. LOVE this recipe!! I would definitely stuff an omelet with some of this and some delicious cheese! Mmmmm!!! Love the BLT sandwich!! And it is 100% OK not to comment on blogs every day girl!! We all have things in life that keep us busy…and as important as your blogging family is, you need to prioritize! xxoo

  5. My turn to smile! I LOVE to hear you are doing absolutely wonderful, and whether it’s because of the delicious eggplant recipes you just posted (eggplant is my favorite veggie) or other reasons, my heart just lit up reading that. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

