Thankful Thursday : Part 2

Hello lovely readers (new and old) =). I hope your having a GREAT morning so far.

Today I’m going to share part two of my Hypothalamic Amenorhoea (HA) story with all of you. If you missed part 1, feel free to check it out HERE.

1

You said your doctor gave you strict orders to only walk 20 minutes a day. Have you done other workouts, if so, why? Yes I have. Because I’m not working (currently taking online classes), I don’t do too much throughout the day. With that being said, there may be times when I take Roxy for two walks instead of one, or where I do a short & very low-intensity circuit in the afternoon just to loosen up my body. But if you’re talking high-intensity workouts or runs, then the answer is NO, not a chance.

How much weight have you gained so far? This was a very personal question, where at first I didn’t feel as if it were anyone’s business, but truthfully… it is. I was the one that decided to share this part of my life with all of you, so I’m the one that needs to answer the questions when asked.

So far, I’ve gained around 8-9 pounds. Am I happy with the results? Yes I am. I’m doing it in a way that suits ME. Sure I could indulge more and put it on quicker, but I’m happy, as is my family. I also want to note that, there is ALWAYS room for improvement, and I truly believe that’ll continue to help me along this journey.

life-choices-quotes-0042My Advice

Just because you are diagnosed with HA, does not mean you have to change your healthy eating ways. Yes your main goal is to put on weight, but you can do so by simply adding in more healthy fats to your diet. Does that mean no to burgers and milkshakes? NOT AT ALL, if that’s what your craving, EAT IT. I told myself from the very beginning, I would do it in a healthy and balanced way. If that meant just adding more volume to my meals, than great, if that meant eating a burger than that’s great too. It’s your body, and you know what works. There isn’t a reason why you need to walk around feeling bloated and uncomfortable all the time. As long as you’re seeing results, and the scale and your clothes are proof, then you’ll on the right track.

give it

This is for women who are suffering from HA, but want to start a family with their love one. Don’t look at this as a set-back, or a failure. Look at this situation as if it’s just one more step in pregnancy. When I was first diagnosed, I was angry at not only myself, but the feelings I felt inside. I had always imagined the day when Joshua & I decided to start a family; it would be a happy journey. Never did I think I’d have to work for it. It wasn’t until I realized that I’m in control, I write my future, where I started feeling happiness. I was no longer looking at this journey as a chore, but more of a goal; more of a sense of accomplishment. Just imagining the day when our dreams do come true, is all I need right now.

3 12 22

**I also cannot stress enough, that even if you aren’t looking to start a family; PLEASE seek a OBGYN if your menstrual cycle stops There is a reason for it, and it’s very important that you do find out the cause behind it**

So this leaves me to “Thankful Thursday”. I am thankful for all I’ve learned within the past couple months. All the support and love I’ve been given. All the eye openers I’ve been able to see, and all the emotions I’ve experienced so far; good and bad. 


48 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday : Part 2

  1. This is such good information. Like I said on your last post, it’s so brave of you to post all of this. I think it’s wonderful that you’re recovering from this in your own way and doing what feels right for your body. Reading about HA is eye opening to me, so thank you 🙂

  2. I agree with Allison 🙂 You know what’s best for your body and need to do this how you and your doctor thinks is best! Only a few more weeks, darlin, which is something I’m very thankful for tonight 🙂

  3. I think others struggling from HA will be able to learn from this. You are doing things your way. As long as both you and your doctor are okay with the progress you’re making, even if it might be slightly slower than normal, then you’re on the right track. It may not be as fast as some may consider necessary, but you’re at least heading in the right direction. Personally I found it easier to eat some more “indulgent” foods when I was trying to gain weight because I couldn’t eat a high enough volume of the “safe” and healthy foods I had become used to eating, but that doesn’t work for everyone. Just keep doing what you need to do so you can start that family you and Joshua so desperately want to have ❤

  4. I do hope that all of your efforts give you the results that you want, hun. I know how difficult it can be to deal with this kind of thing, especially because of how patient you have to be, but don’t stop fighting; and don’t lose strength to keep doing the right thing ❤

  5. I’m so thankful you are sharing all this information and your personal experiences, Jessie! And I’m so proud you are so open about what is working for you and don’t get all the negativity bring you down!
    You are rocking it, girl!
    Keep up the good work!
    Happy Valentine’s Thursday!

  6. As always, I’m impressed by your openness and honestly. Your strength in sharing these extremely painful and private moments are sure to help tons of others! I also love your attitude about how you’re gaining weight- we should ALL follow the advice to eat what our bodies crave! Lots of love on Valentine’s Day.. Xoxo!

  7. Oh, Jessie, this post made me teary! I’m so grateful that you chose to share your story with us; your transparency has undoubtedly inspired many other women suffering from HA to ask themselves tough questions and to make lifestyle changes that will lead them towards better physical (and emotional) health. I’m cheering for you on this journey, and know that your dedication and faith will lead you to the place you want to be. ❤ Love you to pieces, girl! ❤

  8. ‘ It wasn’t until I realized that I’m in control, I write my future, where I started feeling happiness. I was no longer looking at this journey as a chore, but more of a goal; more of a sense of accomplishment. Just imagining the day when our dreams do come true, is all I need right now.’ – This is one of the BEST quotes I have ever heard in my life. When I read this, I am firstly so proud of YOU, having this brave attitude and looking at it in such a positive and constructive way. Secondly, I will use this as a motivation quote for myself. You know my journey too – it might be different from yours, but on the other hand it is very similar. I can only underline and encourage everything that you said. The way you are approaching this goal is so mature and to do what is BEST FOR YOU is the only right thing. I always believe in you Darling!

  9. Love this post Jessie, you’ve done such a brilliant job and you are such an inspiration. You know how much it helped me to have you talk about your journey and have your support. Totally agree on the seeing a doctor if your period stops, it is so important. ❤

  10. You continue to blow me away my dear. Your strength is resounding, and I feel blessed to be able to read your words and your incredible insights. You are doing this exactly the way that is right for YOU, and you aren’t letting anyone else tell you how to live your life, and that to me is most commendable. It can be so hard to stay true to yourself in the blog world, but you set an example for ALL of us. I can’t explain how much I love you. Have a wonderful day, and I’m sending lots of love to you on Valentines Day!

  11. What a great personal post. Sometimes it can be very hard to be open and very honest with everyone and it is great you can do that! Glad everything is going well for you & happy Valentine’s Day !

  12. Again, I’m so glad you shared…And I love that you pointed out that weight gain can be done by adding extra healthy fats. Just because you need to eat more doesn’t mean it hasn’t to be more unhealthy food….I know you’re inspiring others with these posts, Jessie!

  13. So interesting to learn more about you. When I put more weight on for swimming (cross country to swim team) I actually was very hesistant to put the actual pounds online but I’m so glad I did. I think it makes you more accountable of the actual weight. I’m glad you are able to take leisurely walks with the dog and circuit training. I hope one day you’ll be able to run again 🙂

  14. I loveeee love loveee that you are doing this SLOWLY and in a way that works for you!! You would NOT be happy putting this weight on fast and with shitty foods. You are doing GREAT! Slow and steady wins the race right!?

  15. I really meant to join in this week but could’t get my act together. Next week I promise I will! I love the idea of taking the time to think about what and who you are thankful for in life.

  16. I am so proud of everything you have accomplished so far girl!! You are such an inspiration! I am so happy that you are able to share this information with others…I’m sure you have helped more people than you know! xo

  17. Yay!!! I am very proud of you for not only posting more on your story and letting it all out there but also your positive outlook. I often forget that HA has been a blessing as well – I have met some amazing wonderful inspirational women I never would have otherwise – and I have learned and grown more as a person than in any other point in my life! You are doing so great!!! xoxo

  18. Thank you for sharing your story Jessie! I am so proud of you for the gains you have made in your journey to have a family with your husband. I still do not have a period as I work on recovering from anorexia. I am on the pill to “regulate” myself but my period still isn’t coming. I know I could probably benefit from less high intensity exercise but it’s really hard to cut it out. Your drive and the way you have cut it out to do what you need to do to get healthy is something I admire greatly and whenever I feel guilty for doing yoga instead of hitting the gym, I will think of you!

  19. I have shared my own fair share of health hiccups over the past few years and understand how hard it can be- frustrating, upsetting, all sorts of emotions. I truly wish you the best as you continue to get better… It’s never easy, but knowing you have an immense amount of support is always reassuring. XO

  20. Can I just say how much I admire how you are handling this? I truly think your attitude and approach speaks volumes about you as a person. Every time I read more I am increasingly impressed. Keep it up girl- You’re so strong!

  21. Such good advice! Gaining weight can definitely be done in a healthier way. It’s so good that you are going that route, and being sensible about it. It’s also definitely not something you want to push yourself into! Change always take time

  22. Pingback: Blog Lovin! | Fit 'N' Cookies

  23. You are so awesome for sharing this! I’m so impressed with how well you’re dealing with your HA. It’s truly an inspiration to not let all the road blocks in life get you down but to push through them until you get where you want to go! You go girl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

