&& onto 2013

Great news! Because of all of your prayers & wishes, I am feeling much better this morning. Thank goodness because I’m not sure I could take one more day of being under the weather! I’m not quite sure who invented the theory stating “Eating an Apple a Day, Keeps the doctor away”, but they are WRONG! Yup, I said it! I eat an apple every.single.day. Ha Ha. I really can’t complain though, I haven’t been sick in quite sometime.

There is one thing worth mentioning from yesterday… dinner. I followed THIS recipe (Bruschetta Tuna Burger) to the T, and it did NOT disappoint. I put it on top of spaghetti squash with broccoli & a wedge of laughing cow cheese. When your husbands a fan, you know it’s good.

The rest of our evening consisted of watching more episodes of Scandal Season 2,  and relaxing.

&& now onto today’s post…

Yes, I’m aware that we are now 8 days into the year, but I couldn’t help but fill out & share this Two Thousand and Twelve survey with all of you. Enjoy 🙂

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before? 

  • Joshua & I ran our first half-marathon together in Atlantic City, New Jersey
  • Moved to a completely new country :: Kuwait

k1

  • Vacation in Santorini Island, Greece

246744_3518078758465_567776042_n 557492_3525853752835_2082068723_n

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Honestly, I didn’t make a single New Year Resolution, or goal for 2012.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth? We may not be close, but my cousin gave birth to a beautiful little girl ❤
4. Did anyone close to you die? No, thank the Lord.
5. Where did you visit?

  • Atlantic City, New Jersey
  • Dubai

dubai2 dubai

  • Greece

ggg

6. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

  • May 14 – Moving to Kuwait due to my husband’s Job
  • I’m not exactly sure of the date but this fall finding out that I was no longer producing due to high intensity workouts.

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

  • Feeling safe financially wise with my husband
  • Enrolling in school, which starts in just one week!
  • Completing the half marathon

8. What was your biggest failure? I don’t believe failures exist. You may not succeed at first but that doesn’t mean you can’t get back up & try again.

kee
9. Did you suffer illness or injury?

  • Plantar fasciitis
  • Hypothalamic amenorrhoea

10. What was the best thing you bought? I wouldn’t say there was really a purchase that stood out this year. Our vacation to Greece was probably our biggest expense.
11. Where did most of your money go? On our vacation to Greece  it went to our plane tickets & hotel
12. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

  • Moving to Kuwait & experiencing a whole new way of living with my wonderful husband.
  • Being able to see & explore how beautiful Greece is
  • Continuing to gain weight. This may sound crazy, but every ounce or pound is just one step closer to being able to produce again =)

13. Compared to this time last year, are you:

  • Happier or sadder? Happier. Yes I may of had difficulties during the year, but being able to grow as a woman & wife makes every struggle worth it ❤
  • Thinner or fatter? Thinner
  • Richer or poorer? I don’t like either word. I will say, we are better financially wise this year.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of? Living more in the present and not so much around a planned schedule. #bestbreakthishabit
15. What do you wish you’d done less of? Worrying. I can be quite the worrying type when it comes to spending money. I hate spending money, and kind of wish I never had too.
16. How did you spend Christmas? Woke the husband up super early to open gifts. Made us breakfast and just spent the day relaxing & watching Christmas movies.
17. Did you fall in love in 2012? Every year I find myself more in love with Joshua. Heck, I feel this way every.single.day
18. What was your favorite TV program? Does ESPN count? I’m honestly not a huge television person. I will have to say Scandal is pretty awesome & ridiculously addicting

scandal-tv-show19. What was the best book you read? I know I read two books, but I can’t even remember the titles of either. Whoops :-X
20. What did you want and get? To become at peace with myself after finding out I was no longer producing… and you know what, I have. Yes I may have days where I feel completely overwhelmed both physically and mentally, but knowing that this phase in my life is temporary is such a positive.

believe in yourself 21. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Joshua actually surprised me by taking the day off. We went to the mall, had a wonderful lunch, dinner & of course enjoyed some carrot cake at the end of the day. I turned 23.
22. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I truly did have a very satisfying year. However, more love never hurts anyone right?? ❤ ❤
23. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012? While we lived in the VA, I wore work clothes every.single.day, but since the move to Kuwait my days consist of workout clothes. Don’t get me wrong, I do think I clean up pretty nicely when we go out.
24. What kept you sane?

  • First and foremost, My husband
  • Friends & Family (that includes Roxy)
  • Exercising
  • Blogging

25. What political issue stirred you the most? To be honest I don’t follow politics as much as I should. I’m kind of ashamed to admit this.
26. Who did you miss? Since moving to Kuwait, I miss our families & friends
27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012. Embrace every change that life throws your way. You may not see the good in the beginning, but just know that there’s an end and happiness to every journey & struggle you face ❤

651820

Now it’s time to move into 2013, and make the year the best we can!!! ❤

**Even though I may not be participating this Tuesday, please head over to Sloane @ Strength in Freedom’s page & check out/participate in her beautiful, and empowering campaign called freEDom from Perfection.

74 thoughts on “&& onto 2013

  1. Beautiful survey, girl. You WILL get there. I know you will. You want it so badly that I can feel it halfway across the world. Also, on a more upbeat note, can I just say how gorgeous you are and I’m obsessed with all of your outfits? Haha you always look so fashionable 🙂

    • Girl!!! You just made my day. You are so sweet… seriously!! && yes I may look fashionable in those photos, but if you saw what I wore daily.. you’d laugh. Since I don’t work, I am constantly in workout clothes… and let’s just say they don’t always match Ha Ha!

  2. O h I love the surveys!! It’s so cool to get to know more about you. Oh and I LOVE that outfit you wear on the photo in Greece. BEAUTIFUL!! Well, in my hols (the past 2,5 weeks) I walk around in workout clothes all day too. It’s so much more comfy! I was even irritated when Sandro wanted to go for a drink or walk in the evening and I was supposed to put proper clothes on 🙂
    I am so glad that you feel better girl. Being sick sucks!! And I love what you say about failure! Failure does not exist, so true!! Have a wonderful day love, email on your way!!

  3. Great survey Jessie, it is so nice to learn a bit more about you and your 2012. Your determination and patience are admirable, I know 2013 is going to be even better for you and you will achieve your dreams (or at least make great progress in getting there!).

  4. Love love love it 🙂 It sounds like 2012 was quite a year for you, and I think you are one of the strongest and most beautiful people I had the pleasure to meet last year, and I am so excited to continue to get to know you this year…oh and play together in March…yeah that’s going to be a fun time 🙂

  5. What a fun end of the year survey! I’m so glad you’re feeling better. Love the idea of present living too 🙂

  6. Very fun survey!! Your trip to Greece looks AH-MAY-ZING!!!! 🙂 It’s so cool you live in Kuwait…what an experience!!! How long will you guys be there?

  7. Love this survey! Moving to Kuwait must have been the most incredible, life changing experience. I think it’s so cool that you live there. And I know HA has been another life changing experience to go through, I think you’re doing great and you’re right, every ounce counts and gets you one step closer!

  8. I’m SO glad you’re feeling better! 😀 I once heard someone say, if you eat an apple a day it doesn’t keep the doctor away, it just makes you very sick of apples. Hehe. Love the survey and so jealous of your fun travels last year, especially the trip to Greece!! I went there once when I was in high school and would love to go back.

  9. Yay for feeling better 😀 2012 sounds like it was full of very memorable experiences for you and Joshua, that’s awesome! Greece has been on my “must travel to” list for a long while now… Someday it’ll happen 😉 And I totally admire your strength throughout the transition you had to make during the move. I cannot imagine how hard it must have been but I’m so glad that you’ve made the best of the time!

  10. Glad you are feeling better!! You and your hubs sure did have one heck of a year 🙂 Greece has been someplace Ive wanted to go since middle school…maybe I’ll get there one day!

  11. Loved the survey. I’m glad that I stumbled upon your blog last year. I find you to be so uplifting and encouraging and your comments are always a delight to read. Looking forward to reading in 2013 🙂

  12. Omg I am beyond jealous that you went to Greece and Dubai last year. Greece is #1 on my travel list, and Dubai is up there too!!! Seems like you had an amazing year, and can’t wait to see what this new year brings for you!

  13. It’s so great to hear that you’re feeling better, hun! And if an apple a day doesn’t work, how about trying 2 or 3? 😉 I swear that sometimes I end up eating almost 5 (in the form of applesauce), and I haven’t been sick in over 5 years.

    2012 was such an exciting year for you, and I hope that 2013 will be even better. You’re starting school in just 1 week? Eee! See? Things are already off to an awesome start 😀

  14. It sounds like you had one great year girl! I seriously am sending you all the best wishes and thoughts in the world…I know this will be your family’s year ❤

  15. Pingback: A Recap of 2012

  16. Such an awesome survey!!
    Did you say you lived in VA!? If so…what part? I live in VA! 😀
    Looks like you had a lovely 2012 with lots of cool traveling!
    Oh & I’m totally a carrot cake lover, definitely my FAVORITE!!
    That’s so cool that your living in Kuwait, what an experience! My hubby is the Navy and we’ve never been anywhere but two different places in VA, so much for traveling a lot with the military! ;-P

Leave a Reply

