Back to the Old

Happy [Marvelous In My] Monday & New Years Eve!!

5

When I went to write this post this morning, I couldn’t help but remember back to the first few days of my blog. I remembered how happy it made me to share workouts with you, and what I may have been cooking or baking that day. I feel as if ever since I was diagnosed with “HA”, I kind of let that become the main focus of my blog. I changed writing about what I originally started this page for, to strictly how I wish I could produce, how I wish my health would be back to normal. But you know what, I miss the “old me”. The girl who motivated people to try new workouts, or new recipes.

So some may ask where that leaves me today… Well, I still plan on sharing my thoughts on all topics (even if it’s not health or fitness related), but I will also be going back to posts with workouts & recipes for you as well. . I mean it’s all about balance, and being true to MYSELF right?

Now, it’s time to spoil you! I mean it is Marvelous In My Monday [hosted by the beautiful & shining star Katie at Healthy Diva Eats] Not only do I have a recipe to share, I also have an awesome strength training circuit for you to try =)

Gingerbread Oreo Blondies-Adapted from food.com

**Please note: These treats may be delicious, but they are FAR from healthy. Sometimes you just have to indulge in a yummy treat =)

IMAG1027-1[1]

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 medium eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 20 Gingerbread Oreos

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9 x 13 pan and set aside.
  • In a small pan, melt the butter over medium low heat on the stove.
  • In large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, vegetable oil and brown sugar. Add the eggs and vanilla extract and whisk until smooth.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Stir in the butterscotch chips.
  • Pour half of the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Press the Oreos on top of the batter. Pour the rest of the batter over the Oreos and spread as evenly as possible. The batter will be thick and sticky (I also crushed more oreos on top).
  • Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool completely. Cut into squares and serve.

&& now the workout I mentioned above.

workout

[**I want to note that even though I’m sharing workouts with you, my workouts haven’t changed. I am still following my doctor’s orders by strictly walking**]

&& that is all I have for you today. I truly hope you enjoyed today’s post. I’d love to hear feedback and thoughts from you! Have the most wonderful day, and please remain safe throughout the evening into the early morning. 

  • Any NYE plans?
  • Do you cook a particular meal on New Years Day?
63 thoughts on “Back to the Old

  1. Hunnie, I love your posts. All of them!! That recipe sounds delicious. I love the fact that it is not a healthy version, cause sometimes you can just not serve sugarfree stuff to guests – and sometimes some unbalanced dessert is a must, haha!! Happy New Year my Dearest!!!

  2. Happy-almost-new-year, Jessie! I’m really happy to hear that you’re listening to your heart, and writing about what brings you joy! I’ll keep reading no matter what, so stay true to YOU. ❤

    Okay, these gingerbread oreo blondies are making my mouth water like crazy! Love this recipe! I'd have to adapt it a bit to make it GF-friendly, but I'm up to the challenge. 😉

    I hope you enjoy your last day of 2012! Cheers to a new year filled with peace, change, and of course, infinite happiness! Love you! xoxo ❤

    • Sara,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I love that you told me to stay TRUE TO MYSELF… that’ is definitely something I plan to ALWAYS do! ❤ ❤

      If you find a way to make them GF, I'd love the recipe.

      Happy New Years hunnie
      xoxo

  3. Oh wow, that recipe looks unbelievably good! I read butterscotch chips and was sold! Tonight Ben and me are off to some friend’s house for a games night, which should be really fun. Have a great evening!

  4. Love the workout idea–why do I always forget about plié squats?!?

    Happy New Year! Bob and I are keeping it low key. I’m not much of a late night person anyways. But tomorrow, I host one of my favorite traditions: New Years Day Good Luck Dinner! I love making all the PA Dutch good luck dishes: pork tenderloin, sauerkraut, applesauce, green beans…… 🙂

  5. Those brownies look incredible!!! I love anything with oreos sooooo…. 🙂
    But I don’t think it matters what you post. I like hearing where your thoughts are. That’s important! And if writing down your frustrations is what’s helping you get healthy, then so be it! I hope you’re doing something fun for NYE 🙂

  6. You can post about whatever is most important to you! You’re adorable sparkling personality comes through no matter what and that’s what keeps us reading 🙂
    Joe and I are actually still figuring out the NYE plans, but I think we are going to stay pretty low key and go snowboarding tomorrow.
    Have a great one and happy 2013!!!!

  7. Gingerbread oreos, yum! I’m intrigued. And I love the recipe sharing and workout sharing, but I also love anything you write. It’s normal for blogs to evolve and change, don’t worry too much about it! 🙂

  8. That recipe looks amazing! And I still love your blog no matter what. It’s all about you and writing about what feels good to you! Change is only natural 🙂 Happy New Year!!

  9. Funny, I was just thinking the same thing last night about getting back to healthy recipes and fitness focused posts. It’s easy to get off track but you’re right, balance is key!
    That recipe looks delish! I’ve been indulging just a little much over the holidays. Oh well! We are having a some what mellow New Years with a few friends, appetizers and cocktails at our house. Some how we always end up hosting! Saves us from having to deal with driving or finding a cab though 🙂 Happy New Years too you!

  10. These look delicious girl!! And gingerbread oreos?! I have NEVER heard of them!! Where ever did you find these? I hope you and Joshua have an amazing NYE!! xo

  11. Mmmm i wish i had seen this before i made cookies for a friend’s party…definitely would have been a hit! I hope 2013 is your best year to date love!! Only 2 months till we get to play in person 🙂

  12. Those gingerbread oreo blondies sound AMAZING! I didn’t even know they sold gingerbread oreos, which is probably a good thing because I don’t think they’d last too long around me 🙂
    I’m debating between running a local 5K at midnight or curling up at home with some wine for New Year’s Even, I think the wine is winning 🙂

Leave a Reply

