Video Chat & Awards

Tis’ today to go quick so Joshua can be home. 

The morning that went from bad to great. I went to make my beloved pancakes for breakfast, and what do you know… were out of gas (could it be that I left the stove top on for about 4 hours last night? whoops). What’s a girl to do right?? Well, I mixed 8 egg whites, 1 scoop of cinnamon bun protein powder, 1 tsp. cinnamon & 1/4 cup water. Put 1/4 cup of the mixture @ a time into the microwave, and made 4 microwavable “cakes” and topped all with peanut butter and syrup. So good! I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty excited to try out different protein powders in the mix… once I purchase more eggs =)

IMAG0996-1-1

Last night Joshua & I were suppose to attend a Christmas Party for the owners of my gym, however… we never did make it. I had gotten the worst cramps, and just didn’t feel like moving off the couch. Oh well, it happens. My Friday wasn’t completely filled with cramps though. Lucie @ Fit Swiss Chick & I had our planned video chat! Can I just tell you, she is ADORABLE & I’m completely jealous of her accent. If you don’t already follow her blog, please do. Besides being a sweetheart, she shares awesome recipes & takes you throughout her everyday life.

IMAG0991-1-1Last week I was nominated for more awards from five different ladies. I cannot tell you enough how much the nominations mean to me. Kat @ Katalyst HealthAshlee @ His N Hers-Happy N HealthyNikki @ Road to Less Cake and Renee @ Fit For Motherhood all nominated me for The Liebster Award. I’ve actually already been nominated before, but I did want to make sure I acknowledged all four in today’s post. So, girls.. Thank You! All four of you are wonderful, strong & kind women. Continue shining & being who you are <3.

&& the third nomination was from the beautiful & honest Maria @ Little Miss Cornucopia. Maria nominated me for an award I’ve actually never heard of before, The Reality Blog Award. 

realGuidelines in accepting the award:

  • Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back to them.
  • Answer the 5 questions presented.
  • Nominate up to 20 blogs for the award and notify them on their blogs.
  • Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere.

Here’s the list of 5 questions:

  • If you could change one thing what would you change? If I could change one thing, it would be how social media affects your body image. No matter where you look; magazines, billboards and television, you see pictures of women with so-called “perfect” bodies. Teenage girls feel that if you have their body, you’ll be “liked” and paid more attention too. So what happens… they begin damaging their bodies in more ways the one to get that “look”. It’s a shame, and I wish more than anything these young women would see the beauty that others around them do ❤
  • If you could repeat an age, what would it be? If I could repeat an age, I wouldn’t. I’m very content with where I am in life today. Every year I’ve been alive, I’ve made mistakes and incredible memories. Without those years, I wouldn’t be the woman I am today.
  • What one thing really scares you? One thing that really scares me is FAILURE. I try not to let fears take over my life, but no one can honestly say fears don’t pop into their head from time to time. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does… all I can think about is “What if I don’t succeed at school? What if Joshua looses his job, and we don’t have the amount of money in our savings that I want. What if I never get back to the healthy size where I can have a child? So yes these fears may exist, but what I have realized is, if you let them take over your life.. they will, but if you look past them & think positive, you’ll be happier & less stressed.
  • What is one dream you have not completed, and do you think you’ll be able to complete it?  One dream I have yet to complete would be learning a new language. Joshua & I have always wanted to learn German. Hopefully within the year, we’ll be able to speak a bit, and maybe even learn Arabic as well.
  • If you could be someone else for one day, who would it be? If I could be someone else for one day, it’d be Reese Witherspoon. Shes one, if not my favorite actress. I love  how she’s simple, beautiful, honest, caring & funny all at the same time.

&& for 20 bloggers whom I’m suppose to pick.. well that’s not happening. I pick all of you! Each of you ladies (& the few men out there), put a smile on my face day in & day out. You all deserve to be recognized. xoxo

  • Pick 1 out of the 5 questions & answer (or as many as you’d like)
  • Favorite actress & actor? Reese Witherspoon/Denzel Washington & Will Smith
63 thoughts on “Video Chat & Awards

  1. Aaawww, thank you girl! I LOVED our chat it was the best thing of the day to speak to you! I hope you are feelinf better today! And I totally agree you with the age. It’s the time that makes us who we are and I definitely do not want to be as naive anymore as I was with 16 🙂 I’ll go to the post office later, so excited!!!

  2. I absolutely adore your answer to the question of what age you’d repeat if you could. I love how you mentioned that each year is filled with not only good memories, but mistakes as well… because it’s the mistakes that definitely have a huge impact on the people we become. You’re such an amazing woman, Jessie, and I hope you don’t ever feel like you have to change ❤

  3. I love each of these answers darlin 🙂 Seriously, I couldn’t agree more with the first (ugh, I heard a couple of kindergarteners talking about watching what they eat the other day, and I almost flipped…needless to say, pulled them aside to have a little chat but I couldn’t believe it) or second (and I’m happy you feel that way because you are absolutely beautiful and have so much going for you right now you don’t need to repeat a damn thing!). And oh yeah, the third is me, as well…so once again we prove how similar we are…and I love everything about that 🙂

  4. Ooo, those egg white cakes sound delish–plus I love anything I can cook in a microwave 🙂 And I’m so with you, I wouldn’t repeat any age! I’ve loved every part of my life, but that doesn’t mean I want to go back, it just means I want to keep moving forward with all the good memories!

  5. Congrats on all the awards! I’m sorry you didn’t get to go to the party. I really hope you feel better soon!! Failure is my biggest fear too. I guess it’s part of that Type-A personality/perfectionist nature of all of us. Try to feel better and have an amazing weekend, girl ❤

  6. Definitely agree with you about not repeating any age. I’m happy with where I’ve gotten in life, so if I changed something, wouldn’t that change as well? I think I’ve watched The Butterfly Effect too many times, I’d be afraid of seriously messing something up.

    • Lucie truly is a sweetheart. You were actually brought up in our conversation. She was telling me about how the two of you will be meeting up in June. So excited for the both of you.. & a bit jealous, haha

  7. Those protein cakes sound good, I always forget you can use the microwave to make stuff like that.
    I think I would repeat being 21, it’s been a great year and it’s a fun age, lots of freedom but not too many responsibilities (yet)!

  8. 1) Those cakes look splendid!
    2) I REALLY like your answer to that first question (about what you would change). Media totally changes people’s body images and expectations and it makes me sick. Almost all of those “perfect” bodies have been altered with photoshop or things like that, so these bodies are virtually impossible to attain! There have been some movements to urge people to accept their bodies how they are, but there’s still just so many photoshopped unrealistic images out there. At least I think we’re moving in the right direction though. Just very slowly.

    Sorry for the rant! haha, something I’m passionate about 😛

  9. You have such a sweet heart!! I love your answers to all of the questions, but couldn’t agree with you more on how you answered the question: “If you could change one thing what would you change?” It’s crazy what social media can do to young women’s minds.

    PS: You remind me of Reese Witherspoon!

  10. I’m sorry that you weren’t feeling well last night,..but am glad that you had a cozy night on the couch and a fun video chat! Sometimes those Friday nights in are the best anyways!
    Reese Witherspoon was my favorite actress when I was in middle school! I loved Legally Blonde and was just dying to BE Elle Woods. I love Denzel too! If you haven’t seen “Flight” I totally recommend it, his acting never ceases to amaze.

  11. Those microwave cakes look pretty good! Way to improvise! You are such a great person Jessie! I love all your answers, especially how we learn from our mistakes. Our mistakes make just as big of an impact as the happy moments because we always learn from those! xo

  12. I agree with you about the age question. And it’s so lovely that you’re content with that. I feel the same, ive never felt happier than I am today. I feel like every year of my life has been to get me to here and beyond.
    Your microwaved pancakes look great by the way! 🙂

      • Thanks. Would love to know your protein powder recs…I live in Canada…cheapest ordering place? Something GOOD for a weak digestion but at least nice to have. Whey? “True Fit Protein?” or “LifeBasics” ? I hear so much about each…hmm…

        Oh, and dont forget the whole egg (I’m kinda into the paleo thing..>NOT, but I’m into a lot of anyway, ,,,but whole eggs…the yolk is the REAL honest good stuff!). I have 2 whole eggs a day, but usually have whites along with it at some point!!

      • I use MyoFusion Probiotic and absolutely LOVE it! They have GREAT flavors. I order mine from Vitacost, and it’s free shipping once you spend $49.00. Definitely check into it =)

        Oh I do make sure to add whole eggs into my day as well.. but thank you for your suggestion sweetie!

  13. Before I say anything else, I want you to know how much joy each and every one of your posts invokes in me! Thank you for being YOU, for and for spreading love through your writing. ❤

    Okay, the microwave pancake idea is genius! I'm definitely going to give this one a try; it will be especially convenient when I'm feeling too lazy to clean a skillet. 😉

    I really loved reading your answers to these questions, and felt especially impacted by #1 and #2. My heart breaks when I see young women emulating and idolizing unhealthy behaviors perpetuated by the media. I fell in that trap, and it was devastating. Like you, I want nothing more than to help others see through the lies, so that they can live truly healthy lives! You're already doing that here, girl. ❤ And I completely agree about having no regrets about our pasts; life is a journey, and each life stage is experienced for a reason.

    Love you!! I hope you're enjoying the final days of the Christmas season! I can't believe it's almost here…eep! xoxo

  14. Here is my question? How the hell do they expect you to pick 20 bloggers? I don’t even follow that many LOL. Anyways I love your blog and you are so realistic. Especially living overseas and sharing your stories that way. I wouldn’t repeat an age either. I am so happy now.

    • Ha Ha RIIGHTT!!! I was wondering the same thing. Just the thought of thinking of 20 people sounded terrible, Ha Ha!!

      & thank you Hollie!! You may be happy to know that I love your blog as well <3… especially your pancake recipes.

  15. Oh gosh umm favorite actress would either be Reese or Kate Winslet probably. And favorite actor would be Denzel or Tom Hardy, cause he’s stinkin hot. HA!
    And by the way, thank you for being so genuine and real all the time. Your amazing my friend.

  16. You are so resourceful w/the pancakes & oven situation, love it! I used to love Reese Witherspoon too. My favorite actor is Leonardo DiCaprio. Can’t wait to see his new movie on Christmas day! Happy Holidays!! 🙂

  17. That’s a good idea with the microwavable pancakes! They look yummy! Agree with you that social media is sometimes a terrible thing… it has its benefits obviously but it can have such a negative impact on young girls (and everyone elses) self image.

  18. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

