Get Your Fitness On

Happy Tuesday! This morning I opened my planner, and couldn’t help but notice that today is December 18th. Is it just me, or do the days seem to be flying by. I mean, Christmas is in ONE week, Joshua & I’s four-year wedding anniversary is in NINE days, and January is in TWO weeks! Seriously, is any one else wondering where the year has gone??!!!

funny-kids-pictures-say-what

With Christmas Day getting closer, you may be finding it harder to make it to the gym. It’s completely understandable. Your schedule is packed with baking, looking at Christmas lights, and of course just enjoying the holiday with your loved ones. With that being said, I want you to know that there are other alternatives outside of the gym to squeeze in some exercise. It’s as simple as taking a walk, playing football in the backyard, and of course at home workout circuits.

I’ll be honest, when I first started exercising, I thought the only way to break a good sweat was in the gym (#freEdom). Boy was I wrong. As I started reading blogs, I quickly noticed that “Hey, there are workouts I can do in the comfort of my own home”. I soon started cutting back hours on the treadmill, and busting out a new circuit that I may have seen that day or the day before. && you know what, I’ve grown to love them, especially on days where I’m feeling less then stellar.

So, am I telling you to forget about the gym, HECK NO! What I’m telling you is that you basically have NO excuse on why you can’t squeeze in a quick workout over the holidays. If you have time to sit down and watch TV, you have time to break a sweat. I’ve listed a few awesome workouts below that I’ve always found effective. Enjoy =)

5 Playing Cards circuit photo-3231-1024x1022

  • How do you squeeze in fitness over the holidays?
  • Do you enjoy at-home circuits?
65 thoughts on “Get Your Fitness On

  1. LOVE that!! I am a big fan of circuits, they are quick, challenging and can get done everywhere. Sometimes I just don’t feel like people having around me and then some circuits at home or in the backyard are just perfect. I particularly love the Deck of Cards Workout, such a great idea! Thank you for sharing this!!

  2. I love doing circuits–but I still take them to the gym. I never like working out in my house. I’m too distracted! I’ll go outside, or hustle over to the gym (it’s only two blocks away). That way, I tend to be in the right frame of mind to give it my all. 🙂

    • I’m the same exact way! Joshua & i were discussing that the other day actually. He used to ask me why I don’t just do it at home.. and the only answer I could give him was that 1. I like to watch myself infront of the big mirrors (Ha Ha), and the gym gives me more of motivational feeling.

  3. I just make it a priority and plan out when I am going to work out the night before so there are NO EXCUSES. Haha but sometimes I still find excuses like work or a friend’s birthday dinner… there is always something that comes up and the challenge is to work around it.

  4. I second what Alex and Molly said…never realized circuits existed until I entered the blog world…now I do them one-two times per week on off running days, complemented with yoga 🙂

  5. I vowed this week I’d ramp up my workouts due to over-indulging on our Christmas do in Bruges and with the run-up to Christmas…but then I got ill and just staying awake and working is hard enough at the moment. Oh well!

  6. I never thought about circuits either. I’ve seen them on pinterest but I’ve never considered them real workouts. I agree with Caitlin- I think they’re a great way to get in a workout when paired with yoga… Or not! #FreEDom

  7. I always say I need to start doing circuits. I guess winter is the best time to start since I’ll be all cooped up in my house! Sometimes bundling up for a run just isn’t worth it. Thanks for posting these – I can’t wait to try!

  8. These are awesome. I can always count on you to supply me with some good circuits! You and Joshua had a Christmas wedding? I love that! I am obsessed with the idea of a snowy winter wedding (should I ever get married 😉 )

  9. I love doing circuits while watching TV – Brandon always looks at me like I’m speaking gibberish and growing a third eyeball, but I get all restless if I sit down for too long. Thanks for posting this – hope you’re having a fabulous day!

  10. These are great! Thanks for sharing! Considering I can barely breathe right now due some sinus infection, these may not be the best idea right now but as soon as I feel better and can breathe I’ll be adding these to my workouts

  11. Nine days until your four-year anniversary?! Eee! That’s so freakin’ awesome, girlie! Your guys’ relationship seriously warms my heart because it’s so easy to see the love between you two… couldn’t be happier for ya 😀 And I can’t believe that time is going by so quickly either! After being away in Vegas last week and it totally not feeling like Christmas at all over there, coming home to realize there’s only one week left is like… eep! Time to get serious about shopping and baking!

  12. I LOVE quick circuit workouts! They leave me feeling more invigorated than long cardio sessions, mainly because I’m able (and willing) to give maximum effort. If I know the workout is going to be short, I go hard! Thanks for sharing these; I think I may try #3 tomorrow. 🙂 xoxo

  13. I am loving all these “no excuse” tips you are giving! I definitely agree that people underestimate the value of a home circuit! Quick and a great calorie burner! I can’t believe your FOUR year anniversary is coming up so quick! That is amazing!!

  14. I love “at home” workouts. Not only do I get to watch bad television while I do them, but I usually end up more sore than if I had gone to the gym because I work different muscles at home. I thoroughly enjoyed the “Say What” baby photo. Thanks for the laugh.

  15. I love circuits, they’re great because I can do them in my tiny college apartment when I don’t want to trek out to the gym! But sometimes I love going to classes at the gym to get a little extra motivation.
    Happy almost anniversary!!!

Leave a Reply

