Healthy Eating On Christmas Day

Surprised to see a post? I am so sorry that I’ve been MIA these past couple days. I promise I’m back =) Things have been been quite busy on my end.

Two weeks ago, Tribesports asked me if I’d write an article for their “We Love Christmas” Tribe on Healthy Eating During on Christmas Day. I posted this article on their page yesterday, but I also wanted to share it with all of you.

Enjoy & please let me know what you think =)

Tis’ the season for delicious cookies, and family gatherings filled with a smorgasbord of incredible food. It’s no wondering the average American eats 4,000 calories on Christmas Day. However, that doesn’t mean YOU have to be a part of the statistic.

I see and hear the same question time after time, “How do you maintain your healthy eating habits on Christmas Day?” It’s simple, as long as you follow these tips:

  • Offer to throw the Christmas party at your home. That way you can plan before you eat.
    • Serve fruit and vegetable trays. For fruit trays you could incorporate orange wedges, grapes, apple slices or even sliced tomatoes and for the vegetable tray, keep it simple; broccoli, celery sticks, cauliflower and baby carrots.
    • Of course family and friends would like a dip and spread assortment as well. By substituting light cream cheese to full fat cream cheese you’ll reduce your calorie intake significantly. Most guests won’t even notice the difference.
    • The meat dishes you serve are very important. Swap Prime Rib & Crab Cakes for Turkey Breast (without skin), Lean Ham, or Cooked Shrimp served with Cocktail Sauce. Also, watch your portion size. One portion of meat should be the size of your palm.
    • No party would be a party without holiday desserts and beverages, right? Everyone loves Bread Pudding; however it can very high in both calories and fat. Instead of using full-fat milk in the recipe, replace it with fat-free egg nog. Serve mini pies or cheesecakes with fat-free whip cream, and to wash all the deliciousness down; offer wine spritzers made with cranberry juice or club soda, light beer, tea, and of course water.
  • Don’t arrive on an empty stomach. Many people will avoid breakfast and save their calories for the party. What you may not realize, is that that’s the worst thing you could possibly do. Not only will you show up starving, you’re more likely to fall into temptation to un-healthy food choices and binge.
  • Eat Slowly. Take small bites that way you can enjoy the taste of each dish. If you find yourself off pace, simply set your fork down and let your stomach rest for a moment. Trust me, your food isn’t going anywhere
  • Opt for a smaller plate rather than a large plate. Half your plate should consist of salad & vegetables, one-quarter with meat, and one-quarter of a certain starch (think whole grain bread instead of white).
  • Don’t be afraid to say NO. There are many ways to say no politely. For example: Everything tasted incredible, however my stomach has had enough. ** You’ve done so good with temptation, don’t ruin it now.
  • Boost the idea of physical activity. No one says you have to run a marathon, but why not play football in the back yard, or have a dance off. Be creative and have fun!

Now that I’ve shared 6 tips, it’s up to YOU to decide if you want to end the day feeling tired and sluggish, or energized & empowered.

*Please don’t forget that the holidays are meant to celebrate good times with your loved ones. Concentrate on having fun, reminiscing with old friends & family members who you may not have seen for a while & just making the best out of your day.

 

&& that’s it. I’m hoping that this guide will be beneficial to many people over the holidays!

  • What have you been up to these days?
  • Do you have any other Healthy Eating Tips for the Holidays that you’d like to share? 
39 thoughts on “Healthy Eating On Christmas Day

  1. These are some great tips love…especially the having people over…then you don’t have to travel or leave your home 😀 Hoping I can talk the boy into a short Christmas morning run too…loved our Thanksgiving one so much 🙂

  2. Great post & tips! I am going to empower myself & keep away from things that are going to taste good for a minute, but leave me feeling icky & guilty later. I’m also going to try & stay active & while I’m at the gathering, focus on spending time w/family. 🙂

  3. My advice is to eat as many Christmas cookies as possible! But seriously, whenever I go to a holiday party with a restricted mindset (like I’m only going to eat x-amount of cookies/calories/desserts/etc.) I always overeat and feel so guilty afterwards. Now, I just accept the fact that I will probably eat way too many cookies, and I don’t restrict myself because I’d rather enjoy myself and feel a little full than feel guilty or miss out on a good time.
    I also recommend a hardcore workout that next day, not to reduce any guilt, but because all that sugar will make it extra awesome! My fastest runs are always fueled by Christmas cookies 🙂

  4. Great to have you back!! 🙂 Love the tips. I ALWAYS go out the door in the morning for a walk or a run and have a healthy breakfast – this way you know you started your day in a healthy way not matter what comes. And I try not to think about the food too much but about the fun, the talks and the people!!

  5. Great advice! I can’t imagine eating 4,000 calories of food. I’m sure people do it, but holey moley that’s a lot of food! I definitely remember to be flexible and not obsess about what I’m eating, either. It’s the one time of year when it’s important to just enjoy good food with the ones you love!

    • Right?? Me either! It just seems like such an obnoxious number… until you think about it. I mean if there is spinach artichoke dip as an appetizer, that’ll put you at 100 calories per 2 tbsp. by itself. Crazy right??

  6. I always liked spreading the enjoyment over multiple days. So having a bigger dinner on a different day than we had a holiday breakfast/brunch. Doing cookie tastings on a separate day from chocolate tastings. It helped me feel better overall as well!
    Missed you, my dear!!

  7. “that doesn’t mean YOU have to be a part of the statistic.” Loovee that! So true. These tips are great, and I like to follow them myself. I actually don’t have any issues on holidays, I just eat like it’s any other day!

  8. Lovely to have you back Jessie. And these are such great tips. I often think about how I can eat better at Christmas but by doing little swaps for everyone (low fat dips etc) you’re helping them stay healthy while indulging. So smart!

  9. These are some amazing tips girls! You are totally right…focus on the friends and family you are with and don’t make the food the center of your day and you will be sure to feel great! Thanks for sharing these girl! I am glad you are back home and safe! And I can’t wait to hear who wins your football bet tonight! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Fitness Friday plus two winter workouts | My Healthy Happy Home

Leave a Reply

