Ready for a new workout??

Hey Y’all! Another Monday down, another day closer to Christmas. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but it truly is amazing to me how fast this year has flown by. I honestly feel like it was just yesterday I moved to Kuwait. I guess it’s true, that as you get older the years go by quicker. Such is life =)

I have a pretty busy day consisting of grocery shopping, cleaning, e-mails & articles to write, so today’s post will be quite short. Sorry.

As many of you know I was selected to be apart of Tribesports team last week. If you missed the post, I mentioned that Tribesports provide members with platforms to connect with others, take fitness challenges, share advice, and recipes with one another.

Well, with that being said. it’s my job to inform y’all of some pretty awesome workouts; such as Hindu Push Ups.

What are Hindu Push Ups?

  • A variation of push ups which build strength and flexibility through a wider range of motion which challenges the whole body; from abs to ass, you’ll feel these push ups working!

What makes Hindu Push Ups different from the Standard Push Up?

  • The starting and middle positions are very similar to the yoga postures downward facing dog and cobra rather than traditional push ups which maintains a rigid plank which is levered by the arms.
  • Hands are positioned at waist level when body is straightened in a Hindu push up rather than shoulder level like regular push ups.
  • The fluid motion of the Hindu push up improves flexibility in the hips, hamstrings, quads and lower back – traditional push ups engage these muscle to hold the body in a straight line, building strength but not flexibility.

What are similarities between Hindu Push Ups & Standard Push Ups?

  • Both Hindu and regular push ups improve chest and arm strength.
  • Both will build your core strength.

hindu

Rules:

  1. Start in the up position (closely resembling downward facing dog). Start the Hindu Push Up with your legs wide apart, your hands planted on the ground and your midsection raised high into the air so that your body forms an inverted “V.” Make sure to keep your head down so you don’t strain your neck.
  2. Swoop down from the starting position in a controlled and paced way. The descent places lots of tension on your arms and upper chest so you might be tempted to just fall into the descent. Despite this, you should maintain control so that you end up in the down position with your back straight. From here, swing forward so that you arch your back and look up to the ceiling.
  3. Push back up. This final stage is where the difference between the Hindu and the famous dive-bomber push up comes in to play. While the dive-bomber requires that you bend your arms to come back to the starting position, with the Hindu version you keep your arms straight and bend your back to get to the starting position.
  4. Get back to the starting position and repeat. Once you’re back in your starting position you should immediately descend into the swoop and begin the process again.

So as you can see from both this workout & the past one I’ve posted, they can either be done by themselves or added on to the end or beginning of your planned workout. Enjoy! Also, I’d love to hear how you liked this workout if you end up trying it out =)

Also, before I forget…(again), I wanted to share both yesterday & today’s #elf4health challenge:

newsletter_header

Monday: Track your water intake today. Try to drink your body weight in ounces of water!

Tips to drink more water: 

  • Carry a water bottle with you everywhere
  • Add flavor to your water with fresh fruit, lemon, mint, etc…
  • Don’t wait til you’re thirsty – sip throughout the day
  • Drink a big glass of water before each meal

**Yesterday, I drank 85 ounces of water.

Tuesday: Clean out your fridge today & pantry today! Get rid of expired and unhealthy things!

Good Elf Idea: Organization guru? Snap a photo of your pantry and share some of your organization secrets!

Have a wonderful day ❤

61 thoughts on “Ready for a new workout??

  1. This is so cool!! Definitely something I want to try incorporating into a workout! I hope your day is as wonderful as you are ❤

  2. Woa those press-ups look cool! Tricky but cool.
    I’m one of those people who drink soo much water throughout the day. And then has to pee like a zillion times (sorry TMI). I think it’s because I get bored. I know it’s bad, but I also drink a lot of water with meals…whoops.

    • Ha Ha no it’s totally fine! I’m the exact same way Anna. I hate it, because even though I’ll stop drinking water around 7:30-8.. I still ALWAYS wake up in the middle of the night to use the restroom.

  3. I know what I’m doing with the cherubs today….lately I’ve been playing with some of them during their gross motor time (i.e. indoor recess), teaching them simple yoga moves and little circuits…they love it! So this can be a fun new addition 🙂 Thanks darlin ❤

  4. I totally need to work on drinking more water instead of Pepsi Max (my vice!). It’s just something about the fact that it’s loaded with caffeine that helps me make it through my day! lol.

  5. Yowza those pushups look intense, but I bet they’re super effective. And I’m kind of OCS about keeping my fridge/pantry pretty organized… although now it’s looking pretty empty since I’ll be gone for the next 5 days… Might have to look into putting some food in there so at least I’ll have something to eat when I get back.

  6. I love these push ups! I do a lot of yoga, so they feel way more natural than the standard push up 🙂 I drink a ton of water, but never really keep track- I am going to do so today and see what I come up with!

  7. I have never heard these called Hindu pushups before…we used to call them dive bomb pushups! hahahaha But I am going to LOVE seeing all these new exercises to help change up my workouts! I hope you had a great day girl!

  8. I’m alllll for trying new things these days — this has just made its way to the top of the list!!
    Loved your email. You should know that things with the boy are back on track (!! 🙂 !!), and I’ll get back to you soon, but this week is going to be allllll kinds of crazy!! Take care of yourself! xo

  9. I’ve never heard of these pushups before, but they certainly look tough! Love the tip to clean out the fridge; it has been on my to-do list for a while! We have WAY too many condiments (thanks to my husband!) that need to be purged!

  10. Gahhh we used to call those “Cats on Ice” and we had to start every single practice with 20 as part of a 15 minute warm up. Those things are NOT a warm up. They kill. But if you do them enough you’ll start to be able to bang them out no problem! After a few months they seemed really easy. So good for the arms and core!

Leave a Reply

