Take a Seat

This post may be a bit on the longer side. I can’t help it, I just have so much to share with all of you =) A couple of you have asked me about the “24 Day of Togetherness” that Joshua and I are participating in.  Well here’s the breakdown so far;

  • Sunday: We had to buy each other a small gift. Like I shared already with you, Joshua got me a new mug from Caribou Coffee & I bought him a couple new movies
  • Monday: We had to cook dinner together. On the menu were Chicken fajitas. Normally we don’t cook dinner together since I always have it done as he’s walking in the door, so it was such a nice change. Joshua was amazing company, and our meal turned out delicious
  • Tuesday: A Christmas movie was on the agenda. Joshua actually surprised me with 3 new Christmas movies Monday night, so it worked out perfect. We decided to watch “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas”. Is it just me, or does the beginning of the movie  freak you out?
  • Tonight: We’ll be dancing & singing to Christmas music =)

Moving on… a couple of days ago, the oh so beautiful Sarah @ Picky Runner nominated me for the “Liebster Award”. Sarah and I have just recently for the past month or 2 started talking more and more. I can’t even begin to tell you how sweet Sarah is. If you’ve ever read her blog, then you know exactly what I’m talking about. You also know that’s she real, and she doesn’t hold back on how she’s feeling. I absolutely love that about her. I also love the fact that she has a huge love for running =)

liebster-award

Here are the rules:

  • Write 11 random facts about yourself
  • Answer 11 questions given by the person who nominated you
  • Create 11 new questions
  • Nominate 11 bloggers
  • Thank the person who nominated you and tell the people you’ve nominated

11 Random Facts:

  • Don’t ever ask me who sings what song, or who plays in what movie because I probably won’t know. I have the worst memory when it comes to that sort of thing.
  • When I’m walking, I’m oblivious to my surroundings. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked in dog poop without even realizing it was there. Gross right??!!
  • I’m awful at styling my hair. The best I can do is straighten it. I just don’t know how girls do it. I’ve tried to curl it, but man it never turns out that great. Oh well, that’s life.
  • One time when I was tanning, I fell asleep in the tanning bed. I’m not talking about just a quick cat nap while you wait for the timer to go off, I’m talking like deep sleep. The owner tried buzzing me over & over again, but no such luck. She had to come into the room, and open the bed to wake me. Good thing I used to work there, and the owner & I are close.
  • I can be quite the emotional queen sometime. There are days where anything & everything makes me shed a tear or two.
  • I watch Jeopardy almost every morning. Sadly, I don’t think I’ve gained much knowledge yet =(
  • I can’t enjoy my meal if I have to use the restroom, even just a little bit. Sorry if that was TMI
  • I can remember my dreams that I have for months
  • I’ll be honest, sometimes I think life should revolve around me. For an example: going out to dinner on my time. I know that sounds selfish, but hey I’m admitting to it. I also know that everyone has those times in their life too.
  • The first thing I do in the morning is check my e-mail. This is definitely something I would love to work on. I read in some health magazine that stretching should be one of the first things you do. Maybe I’ll make it a goal for December =)
  • When I was younger, I used to keep a golf club next to my bed in case someone tried to kidnap me (Since I know you are reading this mom, did you ever know this? Ha Ha)

I don’t think Sarah actually listed 11 questions for us to answer, so this step will be skipped

My Questions:

  • When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  • Are you allergic to anything? I’m allergic to peaches, and almost every medication out there. Basically all I can take is Tylenol with codeine. 
  • Do you prefer cold or warm meals? I was actually just telling Joshua the other day how I’d much rather eat cold meals, no matter the temperature outside. Don’t get me  wrong, I do enjoy a nice bowl of hot chili during the winter months, but I think it tastes just as delicious cold =)
  • What was the reasoning for your first time being pulled over by the cops? Speeding. What can I say, I sometimes I have a lead foot =X
  • Would you rather stay in for a nice home cooked meal, or go out to a restaurant? To be honest, I’d much rather eat a meal I cook over another. However, I do like eating out at from time to time. 
  • Do you think all water tastes the same? I do NOT! I’ve never been a big fan of aquafina. I’ve always found the taste to just be bleh (in case you were wondering)
  • What’s your favorite fruit & vegetable? Favorite fruit: apples. Favorite vegetable: brussel sprouts
  • How many times have you moved in your life? Up until I moved to NC (when Joshua was stationed there), I had never moved anywhere. Since then though, oh wow. I’ve moved a bunch. I moved to NC, then moved back to PA whenever Joshua deployed, moved back to NC when he came home, we moved in with our best friends while in NC (due to the military telling us Joshua would be getting out early, putting in our month notice at our home & then finding out he wouldn’t be getting out early any longer), moving to VA beach, moving back to my parents home whenever Joshua came over here a month or two before I did, and then to Kuwait. We’ve also already moved once since I got here in May. Geesh!! 
  • How tall are you? I’m 5’1 and three-quarters (so let’s just say 5’2″ shall we =))
  • If you could drink one non-alcoholic drink & one alcoholic drink for the rest of your life what would it be? Non-alcoholic: water. Alcoholic: Coconut rum with pineapple juice
  • Favorite form of exercise? We all know by now that I’m currently sidelined from intense workouts, so walking it is. However, if I had to pick my favorite all around.. it’s still and will probably always be RUNNING! 

Alright, and I know I’m suppose to nominate 11, but frankly I just don’t want too. Instead, I want to nominate ALL OF YOU! All you have to do is answer a few of my questions and leave them in the comment box. Simple enough right?

&&& the last thing for today is… WHAT I ATE WEDNSDAY TUESDAY hosted by Jenn at Peas And Crayons. Be sure to head over to her page & see what else everyone has been eating or making =)

wiaw what i ate wednesday button happy healthy holidays

Don’t worry though, I won’t be sharing a whole days worth of meals. Instead, I’ll be sharing another smoothie recipe with y’all. On Monday, Lucie @ Fit Swiss Chick mentioned that she made a Pear Smoothie. I was completely intrigued, so of course I e-mailed her right away asking for the recipe.

The recipe she uses is:

  • 2 small pears, or 1 large
  • 2-3 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon stevia
  • loads of cinnamon

I immediately tried it out, and can confirm it was just as delicious as it sounded. Well, I got to thinking how I can put my own “spin” on it. So without further ado, here’s what I came up with:

  • 1/2 pear
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (cinnamon bun is pretty good too)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon xanthun gum
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ice

IMAG0879-1-1

Lucie’s is definitely a less-calorie filled smoothie, but both are awesome!

And, that’s today’s post. Now it’s time for me to curl up on the couch with Roxy & enjoy a nice chick flick =)

… I also want to apologize for the girls who I owe e-mails too. My internet has been ridiculously slow (like it’s taken me over an hour to post this). I promise to write each & every one of you back as soon as possible =)

95 thoughts on “Take a Seat

  1. Oh my GOD. I just spit on my computer laughing about the story in the tanning bed. I love you girl!! 🙂 I can relate on so many facts! Being emotional? Oh yes, sometimes I cry because it’s raining. Bad memory? Over here!! Positive thing about this is, that I can watch movies over and over and be always excited for new cause I forgot all about the story. Love the changed up recipe! Will try that soon for sure!

  2. We’re doing the 24 days of togetherness, too! Last night was foot massages–that was a good one. 🙂

    I can’t answer all 11–I have to get ready for work (boo)–but in terms of warm or cold foods, sometimes my favorite is a dish that has some of both. The combination keeps it interesting. I put warm, roasted veggies, chicken, whatever over top of a cold raw salad. It freaks bob out, but I think it’s wonderful!

  3. LOL, I’ve always found nominating people to be the hardest part. Anyways-I can’t style or do anything with my hair either. I seriously always thought I was the only one (everyone always has such nice hair) but I guess I feel a bit better now LOL.

  4. I have never been pulled over by the cops!
    Hmm what else.
    When I was younger I wanted to be a teacher… and that’s what I do now so it’s all good 🙂
    I have moved SO MANY TIMES. Let me think… well over a dozen times, mostly due to the military.

  5. Never ask me to style my own hair or do my own makeup…I lack that girl talent completely. And that 24 Days of Togetherness thing sounds so much fun!! I love tonight’s especially 🙂

  6. Yummy smoothie recipe! I usually make dinner by myself, too. The other night, my friend came over to make dinner with me and it was so much fun! I loved the company. As far as life revolving around me – guilty of that. The first thing I always do is check my phone, e-mail, Facebook, Twitter, blog…the list goes on. It’s horrible – but I feel like if I don’t get an early start, I’m out of the loop for the rest of the day!

  7. Awwr girlie, I always love learning all these things about you 🙂 I laughed big time at the tanning bed story… I’m kind of claustrophobic, so I don’t think I could ever fall asleep in one of those. The few times I’ve even tried to use one have been super anxiety-inducing. And I TRIED to keep myself from checking social media first thing in the morning, but I honestly don’t think there’s any way to do that… There’s just always so much going on, and I feel like if I’m not paying attention, I’m missing out on something!

  8. LOL at the golf club by your bed. I used to be PETRIFIED someone would kidnap me. I loved movies and shows about people who got kidnapped and other crimes yet I could NOT handle the fear once the lights went out. The golf club would have been a grand idea.
    That tanning bed thing is scary! Good thing you were woken up!

  9. Your smoothie looks delicious, and I do love the little reindeer bowl. It sounds like you and Joshua are doing some really cute fun things together.

    When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up? A princess, then a mermaid and then more sensibly a vet 🙂
    Are you allergic to anything? I’m allergic to kiwis. I’m also allergic to certain detergents/washing powders, and some chemicals in cosmetics such as parabens, and nickel and cobalt.
    Do you prefer cold or warm meals? Warm. Even in the Summer I still love a cooked meal.
    What was the reasoning for your first time being pulled over by the cops? I’ve never been pulled over. I’m still learning to drive.
    Would you rather stay in for a nice home cooked meal, or go out to a restaurant? It depends what mood I’m in. I love cooking but sometimes it is nice to go out for a meal.
    Do you think all water tastes the same? No. Not at all.
    What’s your favorite fruit & vegetable? Favourite fruit: Bananas or raspberries. Favourite vegetable: Peppers.
    How many times have you moved in your life? I moved from where I was born to where I live now, we’ve lived in two houses in the town where I live. I also moved to another city for three years for my undergraduate degree.
    How tall are you? I’m 5ft4.5 ins.
    If you could drink one non-alcoholic drink & one alcoholic drink for the rest of your life what would it be? Non-alcoholic: Tea or coffee: Alcoholic: Wine.
    Favorite form of exercise? Horse riding.

    • Ha Ha, well it wasn’t that scary. I mean the tanning bed turns off after the timer goes off so there was no way I could actually get burnt ya know? I was kind of upset I had to be woken from a perfectly good nap though, 🙂

  10. Hahah I was cracking up about the tanning bed!! That is too funny. I am the same way with having to go to the bathroom and eating…And that smoothie looks so good. I want to make it and put it in a cute christmas bowl like yours 🙂

  11. Thank you for all of the kind words! I definitely was a disaster the other day and forgot to do my questions haha but that’s okayyyy 🙂
    Also, I love all of your facts… I can’t straighten my hair either and it is too cute that you used to keep a golf club next to your bed. I love the honesty, girl! Have a wonderful day and don’t worry about emailing me back right away… do it when you can, xoxo

    • Awe, don’t worry about it girl! I kept scrolling up and down your page to see if I missed it, Ha Ha.

      && I promiseeeee to write you back today. Our internet seems to be working a bit better so far, so keep your fingers crossed =)

  12. My husband and I are participating in the 24 Days of Togetherness too! So far we’ve played Monopoly, watched a Christmas movie, went for an evening walk, and made hot chocolate. We didn’t have time to pick one out this morning before he went to work, so I can’t wait to see what we’ll be doing tonight!

  13. I love The Grinch! I haven’t watched it yet this season – must do that soon!

    First time I was pulled over was because the cop said “I cut him off” which I SWEAR I didn’t! And if I had to pick for drinks: non-alcoholic – water and alcoholic – beer. 🙂

  14. Congrats on the award! There are so many great bloggers out there and you are definitely one of them. I really want to start the smoothie with xanthin gum thing. I never make smoothies because I don’t find they resemble “food” enough, so they don’t satisfy me, but a smoothie with a spoon? I’m there 🙂

  15. All of those things that you’ve been doing with the hubby sound absolutely awesome, such a great way to celebrate the holidays together 🙂 I’d even be interested in doing it another month [mostly because I didn’t do it this time around]- maybe February in honor of Valentine’s Day?! And I cannot for the life of me remember the name of a song or who sings but I can still sing along to the tune. But if you ask me to sing a line without the music, my mind goes blank. Same goes for movies… And oh no about the tanning bed! That has always been a fear of mine, but thinking that it wouldn’t turn off and I’d be burnt to a crisp. Yuck!

    • Ah, that’s genius Allison!! Wanna think of a fun idea together for couples do come Valentine’s day??

      && thankfully the tanning bed goes off when the timer goes off, so I was good to go! Ha Ha

  16. I’m in the process of doing a Liebster Award post too. And I LOVE your questions for others, so I may have to combine those with some that I was asked by my nominator. So fun. Surveys are the greatest, right? They let you ramble without seeming conceited. Haha. 😀

    Glad you posted that recipe from Swiss Chick. I saw that on her MIMM post and was like.. “That looks fantastic!”

  17. I love that you’re getting to spend extra special quality time with Joshua. ❤ It makes my heart happy. 😀
    I was always more afraid of my house burning down than I was of being kidnapped. I would have panic attacks whenever I heard fire engines, thinking that it was my house on fire and I didn't know.
    I'm an emotional queen (these days!), Jeopardy love, and picky water drinker as well. And I love cold meals. I definitely prefer them to warm ones.
    Take your time with the email — life gets in the way of life sometimes. 😉 xoxo

  18. That quality time with your hubby sounds so wonderful!! Glad y’all are doing that! Congrats on the Leibster award! You certainly deserve it! Loved learning more about you! Also… amazing recipes lately! Yum!!!!!!

  19. I had a metal baseball bat. Because I was told that it was less likely to break than wood. Tanning is so extremely relaxing but I stopped when my son had suspicious moles at 11. If he could get skin cancer then his mom certainly could. All turned out well with him but he does have bad scars.

  20. Oh my gosh you are so lucky you didn’t get a horrible burn from falling asleep in there! Yikes! I’m with you on so many of these questions! Especially eating in rather than out. Being such a picky eater makes it hard to find what things I really like on menus. Guess it’s a good thing I know how to cook!
    The hubby and I are also doing 24 days of togetherness! Fun!

  21. I’m such a space cadet when I’m walking too! If I’m with friends they’ll always be like “Oh did you just see…” And I’m like huh? what? Haha, I don’t pay attention! And I used to watch Jeopardy all the time too! Love that show

  22. 24 days of togetherness sounds amazing!! I alwayssss cook with my boyfriend, it’s our thing. I feel lonely when he’s not there to help!! I’m glad you two were able to make an amazing meal!

  23. Thanks for stopping by my blog!:) Your smoothie looks amazing- perfect for the season. I’m trying to up my smoothie calories a bit and have been adding maca. I think it’s around 60 (healthy) calories a serving, which add up:) Happy WIAW!

  24. Pingback: Liebster Award | Eating 4 Balance

  25. Pingback: URL

  26. Omg the first 3 things you described about yourself describe me so well too! I was going to nominate you for the Liebster award this week, but I guess someone else got it to before me! Do you want me to nominate you again?! 😉

    I am pretty picky when it comes to water…I can taste a huge difference! I don’t like Aquafina either…Dasani all the wayyy. I usually just drink water from my Pur filter though!

Leave a Reply

