Banana Bread Cupcakes

Boy do I have a recipe for you guys! 

cupcakes

These may not be the healthiest, #sorryimnotsorry (mostly because of the icing), but I can promise you that they are good!!..  I also want to apologize for the ugly picture. I never did say I was a good photographer.

Banana Bread Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2-1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (or applesauce)

Preparation:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and cinnamon; set aside.
  • In a large bowl, whisk egg, vanilla, and light brown sugar together.
  • Add sour cream & butter (or applesauce)
  • Once wet ingredients are mixed well, add dry ingredients, and then bananas
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, let cool before icing

Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter (make sure it’s room temperature)
  • 6 oz. “light” cream cheese (regular will work as well)
  • 1 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Preparation:

  • Mix butter & cream cheese until smooth
  • Add sugar, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Mix well

Simple enough right? I always find that making my own frosting is much easier, and tastes 10 times better than the store-bought. If you make your own, do you feel the same way? 

Well, that’s all I have for today. Time to take Roxy for a little walk & then do some grocery shopping =)

 

  • What’s your favorite cupcake recipe?
  • Would you rather eat a cupcake or piece of cake?
95 thoughts on “Banana Bread Cupcakes

  1. Oh my God, these sound so delicious!!! I love cupcakes or cakes, I don’t mind, as long as it is cake, haha! 🙂 I am so excited for your package to arrive, yay!! Have a lovely day hunnie, xoxox

  2. Yummm who cares if they aren’t healthy? Life is supposed to be fun! Have a lovely day (p.s- just emailed you <3)

  3. mmmm those look splendid. I freakin’ love cupcakes. I think I would rather have a slice of cake though. For some reason, with cupcakes and cookies, I feel like since they’re small I should be able to eat 1,000 of them which is just not the case! Whereas with a slice of cake, I know just one slice is appropriate. haha

  4. Banana bread is seriously my favorite thing ever, so banana bread cupcakes sound divine. Totally want to make these and top them with some kind of almond butter frosting and chocolate. The combination of those three things is seriously heaven. Swooooon.

  5. I’m with you on frosting–homemade is best (and seriously, cc + sugar, it’s not exactly rocket science to make either!). Plus I like sweet frosting, but I don’t want it to be so teeth-achingly sweet as the store stuff–I want a little flavor with my sugar ;D

  6. These look divine- I loveee banana + chocolate 🙂 Have you tried the VitaTop version! I love topping it with some Greek yogurt mixed with PB2 and cocoa powder… MMM! I prefer cupcakes > cake and when I was younger I would eat the fluffy cake before the top, saving the frosting [aka the best part] for last hehe!

  7. These look amazing! I love banana bread, and making it into cupcake form can only make it better. 😀

    My favourite cupcake recipe is apple caramel cupcakes – my sister made them for Thanksgiving and they were amazing!

  8. Oh my gosh choosing between cupcakes and cake is like choosing your right leg or your left leg!! BOTH are good for different reasons! I would say I would choose a cupcakes..since it’s portable and easier to eat, sorta. HA!

  9. Yum! Cupcakes are a treat we don’t have that often. But it just so happens I bought the hubby one (and maybe one extra) for his gift. We drew the buy eachother a small gift from our box today! I’m looking forward to having a bite! Or two!

  10. The moment I saw this title, I knew I’d LOVE this recipe! I ate a couple of bites of an amazing banana cupcake last weekend (topped with peanut butter frosting–eee!), and want to try to re-create it. Maybe I can just use this recipe and substitute oat flour or another GF flour for the whole wheat? And I’m thinking that I *need* to try the cinnamon cream cheese frosting because…well, cream cheese frosting is my absolute favorite. 😀 Thanks for the fantastic recipe!! ❤

Leave a Reply

