Marvelous In My Monday

Good Morning. Last week, the wonderful Suzanne @ Fit Minded Mom, nominated me for the “Beautiful Blogger Award”. I must say, all of these nominations mean the world to me. I truly do feel so honored, and so lucky to be chosen.

If you’ve never visited Suzanne’s page, you really must. She shares her every day life, awesome recipes, and sometimes photos of her beautiful children (might I just throw in that her daughter is her little mini me). Oh and did that her blog is such a fresh of breath air, and Suzanne is a complete sweetheart?

beautiful-blogger-award1Here is how the award works:

  • Copy the Beautiful Blogger Award logo and place it in your post.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog
  • Tell 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers for their own Beautiful Blogger Award, and comment on their blogs to let them know

7 Things About Myself:

  • When I was younger, I had a slight obsession to Nutty Bars. I’d buy one for lunch every.single.day. Also, there’s no other way to eat them besides eating them layer by layer (…oh my, I could so go for one now. Darn it!)

nutty_bars

  • If you hadn’t noticed by my post on Friday about cleaning at a ridiculous hour, I’m very OCD when it comes to disorganization. Dishes have to be done, floors must be swept, and laundry must be completed at all times.

untitled.png.opt398x315o0,0s398x315

  • I’m almost always cold, yet I still torture by myself with smoothies during the winter. Hey, that’s with blankets & sweatshirts are for right?
  • I’ve always been a bit jealous of the fact that my twin brother, Justin is left-handed. I just think it would be neat to write left-handed from time to time, Ha Ha.
  • Last November, my dad and I went to the Packers vs. Raiders (he’s a Raiders fan) football game together. It was by far on the top 10 favorite memories the two of us have shared together.

p1p2p3

  • You’ll almost always see my hair down in pictures. I find that my forehead looks huge when my hair is up (self-conscious? Ha Ha)

jessie1

  • I found “The Break Up” to be an incredibly sad movie. I know that sounds crazy since it’s a comedy and all, but I just hate seeing relationships come to an end.

Now my Nominees:

…and if you weren’t nominated, please know that you are awesome! Also, please feel free to leave a fact about you in the comment box. I’m not sure about you, but I love learning more about each other.

A couple of other things I’d like to mention on today’s Marvelous In My Monday are:

  • As many of you know, Joshua and I are participating in Tina’s 24 Days of Togetherness. Well, our first thing we pulled out of the jar was to by one another a small gift. I’m not one of those girls who need anything flashy or extravagant, so a simple new mug from Caribou Coffee was perfect. **Fact: Lately, I’ve become a bit obsessive over cute mugs, bowls & plates. 

IMAG0866-1-1

  • I forget whose page I saw this on (so if it was yours, please let me know so I can credit you), but I made their “1 Minute Pumpkin Cookie” last night for dessert and wow it was delicious. It’s so simple to make: 2 tbsp peanut flour, 1/8 tsp. baking soda, 1/4 tsp. baking powder, 1-2 tbsp. sweetener of choice, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, dash salt, 1 tbsp. water, and 1 tbsp. pumpkin. **Mix all ingredients together, and microwave for 30-45 seconds until done. I topped mine with frozen vanilla yogurt, and a little bit of syrup!

Well guys, that’s all I have for you today. I hope you had a wonderful weekend! Also, since it is Marvelous In My Monday, please head over to Katie’s page and check out her post, as well as others =).

5

  • What did you do this weekend to bring in DECEMBER?
  • Name one Marvelous thing about today? 
61 thoughts on “Marvelous In My Monday

  1. Wait… this is hilarious… I nominated YOU for a similar award for my post that will be going up in a few hours!! Thank you 🙂
    P.s- I’m always cold too… does that bring in December? I also walked past a Christmas tree lighting but didn’t stay because I was getting hangry (and nobody likes that).

  2. I have OCD cleaning too ha ha. It’s bizarre. I’m always cold as well! I guess it’s a circulation thing, but holy moly is it bad, even in the Summer I’m always freezing. I’m left handed:) I always liked it because I was “different” but it wasn’t fun when my parents tried to teach me how to cut things (like food or paper) and I couldn’t learn because it was too hard that they weren’t showing my with the right hand ha ha. I’m self conscious about my head too, I always, always wear my hair down in picture, even in everyday life. Well, besides when I workout. Have a fab Monday!

  3. Aaaaw thank you so much girl for nominating me!! You are too sweet!!! I feel VERY honored and lucky!!! I totally love that picture of you at the game. So cute. Marvelous today is that the sun is out and snow everywhere! Beautiful!

  4. i was JUST thinking that i need more mugs. i went to make a cup of tea and the only mug i have are tiny coffee cups. i want some big mugs where i can make giant mugs of teas. oh and you’ll be happy to know i had a giant smoothie yesterday that i ate underneath a blanket and it made me think of you!

    • I’m not sure what it is, but I can’t seem to get enough of them lately. Joshua was actually laughing at me last night. He’s like babe, how many do you need? Are you trying to start a collection? Ha Ha! I can’t help it though, they are just so cute. I mean who doesn’t enjoy eating a smoothie or a yogurt mess out of an adorable mug?

      Awe, well I’m glad you thought of me… now I just can’t wait for this recipe =)

  5. Oh my stars you are awesome. First, I am always cold too but I enjoy smoothies at night (maybe it’s a sweet tooth thing) but in upstate NY that just makes me colder! AH. Anyways-I’m the opposite…my hair is always up.

    • Michelle, that is so funny! I’m dying of laughter. Can I just tell you that it’s SOO good to know someone else who thought The break up was sad. I literally cried! Joshua thought it was the funniest thing, Ha Ha.

  6. Oh my goodness, love…seriously, you made my week 🙂 Thank you so much! I’ll post about this on Wednesday on my blog 🙂 I love all those facts about you!! And they proved that we are very very similar (minus the cleaning thing…not so great at that yet)…I’m always cold but still have ice cream/froyo almost every day in winter, I love going to sporting events (i.e. Pens games) with my dad, and I HATEEEEEEEEEEEE The Breakup because it makes me sad that they don’t end up together! Give me a happy ending any day thank you very much! And I love that you guys had such a great weekend and that Joshua got you such a lovely gift! Totally with you on loving cute mugs and such 🙂 ❤

  7. I love reading random things about people! I haven’t had a nutty bar in sooooo long. My son is allergic to peanuts and I always feel sad that he’ll miss all the delicious things in life like reeses peanut butter cups and nutty bars!
    This weekend we cut down a Christmas tree and I hope to go to zoo lights at Brookfield Zoo this weekend coming up!

  8. I’m kind of OCD about cleaning too, and also hate wearing my hair up! I feel like I look like a boy haha. This weekend I brought in December by Christmas shopping a bit and doing a Jingle 5k! Lots of fun.

  9. I am completely OCD when it comes to cleaning. My roommates, however, are not. I can’t live in a messy house, though so I’m always cleaning up! Is it weird that cleaning is a bit satisfying for me, though? As far as bringing in December, I celebrated by dressing up SUPER tacky in an ugly Christmas sweater and hung out with sorority sisters. Simple, but oh so fun!

  10. I’m always cold too haha all the better reasons to wear sweatpants 😉 haha and I’ve actually never had a nutty bar… I used to see kids eating them but never actually tried one myself haha but I do eat kit kats layer by layer :p

  11. Wonderful post!!!! I used to always think I was just a cold person too, until I gained weight that is! 🙂 Now I’m never cold, and actually warmer than others half the time- I think it’s because my metabolism is speeding up like crazy! haha. Keep doing amazing and your smoothies won’t be as torturous in no time! Have a great day, Jessie! 🙂

  12. Ya Im not a fan of The Break Up either. I dont like movies where people dont end up together, although I guess its kinda implied at the end.
    I was a Nutty Bar fan as well, but my favorite? ZEBRA CAKES!! My daddy and I would split one so that we’d each have one (since 2 came in a package). It was our dessert every night, and sometimes just a random snack 🙂

  13. My grandma loves Nutty Bars! As a kid I was obsessed with Yodels. My mom wouldn’t buy them and I’d totally eat a ton when I’d go to any friend’s house who had them. Ha! But the way you eat Nutty Bars reminds me of the way I used to eat Kit Kats. Layer by layer baby!
    I totally wanted to be left hadned when I was younger! The kids in my elementary school class who were left handed seemed “special” to me. I wanted to be special, baha.

  14. We sound like twins Jessie! I am always freezing (yet can’t live without smoothies) and I am a neat FREAK.
    PS. I love the picture of you and your Dad at the Packers game, you two are adorable 🙂

  15. I am the queen of organization so I get that. I used to absolutely love pretzels dipped in regular yogurt. so strange but that sweet and salty was my thing – i didn’t even really like the pre yogurt covered pretzels. No, i had to have my own yogurt to dip it in. crazy girl right here.

  16. Awwwr gush. Thanks so much for the shout out, hun. I love reading your posts because they always manage to bring a smile to my face, and you and I definitely have some things in common. It’s absolutely freezing around these parts, and I’m still eating cold fruit and cold breakfasts like nobody’s business. I tried to steer away from it, but it’s seriously all I want. And I’m the same way when it comes to being OCD about being clean… When I’m prepping a meal, I always clean up the mess and do the dishes before I actually sit down to eat. Well, unless I’m super hungry, but yeah… things don’t stay messy around my place for too long.

  17. i think my forehead is big too!!! haha i tried to get bangs to remedy the situation but i think those are such a pain in the butt to deal with every day!!

  18. Hey!! I have missed reading your blog while I have been in the process of moving, but I am back! Love the idea of the 24 days of togetherness….you two are so cute! I also use to wish I was left handed and would force myself to eat with my left hand when I was younger because I thought I looked cooler. haha

  19. Thanks for all the kind words Jessie!! See, just goes to show why I nominated you in the first place…because you are such a sweetheart!!!

    I too am quite OCD but it doesn’t always fall over to the laundry….
    I used to love nutty bars too and star crunch!! Did you ever eat those?

  20. Maybe it’s a winter thing? ‘Cause I’ve been a bit obsessed with new dishes, too. I want them all! Can you come obsessively clean my house for me? I used to be such a neat freak, but I don’t know where it went–and I want it back!

  21. I remember Nuttie Bars; they were the greatest…the peanut butter, the wafers, the chocolate. Mmmm, now I want one too. I can also totally relate about being OCD with cleaning and organization. I start to freak out when the house gets messy (by my standards of course).
    Happy Monday to you, beautiful blogger!

  22. I’m weird about my forehead too!! But it really is only us who notice. I use to eat those nutty bars layer at a time mmmm.
    I rang in December with red bows on the front door and a table christmas tree 🙂 yay

  23. I used to LOVE (and probably still do) nutty bars, and I’d eat them the same way. Totally not as tasty when you don’t eat it layer by layer. That picture of you and your dad is soo adorable!! You’re so cute girl, and your forehead is NOT big haha!

    • Oh my goodness, I cannot believe you’ve never heard of them. Ah, you must look for them next time you are at the grocery store. They aren’t the the healthiest by any means, but they make for a great treat =)

  24. OCD cleaner, always cold, and peanut butter- count me in for all of that… Ryan jokes [but in all seriousness] because I *hate* leaving the house messy! And I am the crazy one wearing sweats in the summertime. I heart the heat. Almost as much as I heart PB 😛 I totally wanna check out Tin’a challenge, I’ve been MIA reading lately, need to get back into the groove… XO

  25. OMG I totally forgot about nutty bars!!! In middle school I think I had one every day too!! Thank God I learned about healthy foods eventually lol

  26. I’m a clean freak too! However, I’ve been learning to let go now that we have The Love Nugget. There is just no way our house will be clean all the time with him running it now! Nutty Bars were such a treat when I was in Jr. high. My mom never really bought those types of foods but every once in a while she would splurge and we loved them!

  27. I don’t think I’ve ever told you this …? But my dad is a HUUUUUUGE Packers fan. (Well, he loved Brett Favre, and it kind of comes with the territory.) I used to watch Packers games with him, and one day he asked me if I liked the Packers too (I was probably 8ish at the time …) and I said “NO!”. And he asked me who I liked, and because the Packers were playing the Steelers that day, I’m now a Steelers fan. haha. I’m a rebel apparently. Seriously though, both teams will always hold special spots in my heart, seeing as I’ve seen more Packers games than any other team’s. I love that you love football, I love it too. And hockey. Daddy’s girl at heart. 😉
    I’m going to be honouring your nomination later this week, for sure!! Thanks for the love, my love!! xo

  28. I was obsessed with Nutty Bars too! And eating them layer by layer is the ONLY way to do it. 😉 Love the pictures of you with your Dad. I love making special memories with family! And I literally just bought a new mug, bowl, and plate yesterday just because they were festive and cute. I completely understand your obsession!

  29. Pingback: Rob Delaney and Life of Pi

  30. Can you come clean my apartment? Thanks to busy exam time it’s shamefully dirty, whoops! Nutty bars are so good, I used to eat them all the time as a kid too! Layer by layer of course!
    I’m also obsessed with cute coffee mugs, probably because I drink so much coffee!

  31. I’ve seen so many people doing the 24 Days of Togetherness since Tina posted about it…such a cute/fun idea!!
    p.s. I’m in love with cute mugs and bowls too 🙂

  32. I was a Nutty Bar lover too! My mom would only buy them on *special occasions,* but when she did, they were finished in two days! I remember she once tried to make a healthier homemade version using wafer cookies and peanut butter, but it didn’t even come close to the real thing! 😉

    Aaaand another reason we’re so similar: I never like photos taken when my hair is up either. My ears stick out, and I look like Dumbo. 😉 When I pull it up for the gym, I actually “pin” them back with a small piece of hair and a clip. I don’t think I’ve ever shared that on my blog!

    I completely know what you mean about being cold during the summer; I’m always freezing, too! Not when I’m outside, but when I go into an air-conditioned building, I’m kind of miserable. :-p I always carry a heavy sweater or jacket with me, so that I’m prepared at all times! ❤ xoxo

  33. Congrats on the award! 🙂 I used to love Nutter Butters too! AND your a Packer fan, woot!! Me too, definite cheese head. That’s SO cute that your dad & you went together. My husband & I went to a game a few weeks ago & it was cold… I said I won’t do any December games this year, lol. Fun times though! 🙂

  34. Pingback: Beautiful & Beloved

  35. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

