A whole bunch is happening

Happy Friday Everyone! I’m not sure how your day has started off, but my day has been wonderful since I woke up at the ungodly hour of 2:30. I’m not sure what it is about Fridays, but 2:30 seems to be the time I wake up in the morning each week.

So what’s a girl to do at that hour. My husband would say any normal person would lay down & attempt to fall back asleep. Pshh, what does he know (just kidding hunnie, you know everything). Instead, I decided to bake the Indians he works with Gingerbread cookies to go along with their Christmas gifts, sweep/mop the kitchen floor, make Joshua a warm breakfast, and make delicious, and I’m talking like ridiculously delicious egg muffins, or some would call them “egg bites”.

IMAG0853-1-1

I’m pretty addicted to them already. So far I’ve made three (12 servings each) batches:

  • shredded carrot, onion, yellow pepper, oregano & basil
  • broccoli, parmesan cheese, oregano and basil
  • tomatoes, oregano and basil.

After my baking feast this morning, I did actually lay down for a couple of hours watching television, and then made my way to the grocery store. Ah, can I just tell y’all I found the cutest bowls & plates. You better believe I bought a few… and I’m thinking, a few more will be bought this weekend :).

c1

Once I got home from the grocery store, I made a new smoothie:

  • 1 cup coconut water, 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 2 tbsp. chocolate pb2, and xanthun gum. 

I wish I would’ve remembered to take a picture, but just believe me when I say it was good. Anyways, where was I… Oh yes, while my smoothie was freezing, I took Roxy for our morning walk.

&& before I continue rambling on forever, which I’m sure none of you care to hear. I’ll just tell you that the rest of my day has consisted of wrapping more of the Indian’s Christmas presents & working on a craft that Joshua & I started last night.

c2IMAG0862IMAG0861

I’m not sure what else is in store today besides returning e-mails, but I’m thinking the moment I start getting tired, I’m going to crash hard!

  • Tell me, what is one thing your looking forward to this holiday?
  • Can you guess what this craft idea Joshua & I are doing?
71 thoughts on “A whole bunch is happening

  1. those egg muffins look awesome, i think i might have to make some this week because i have been so obsessed with eggs lately. also i want all of those plates, oh my gosh! they are just so cute. and would maybe finally get me in the holiday spirit that i have been so sorely lacking lately.

  2. Jessie those winter plates are just adorable! And I can’t believe you’ve been up since 2.30, I thought 5.30 was bad enough this morning! So sweet that you used your time to do things for others, I think I would be rolling around huffing and puffing and groaning that I hadn’t fallen back to sleep! I’m sure your husbands colleagues will really appreciate your efforts. Love the look of your wrapping paper too. I was thinking about doing the 24 Days of Togetherness project, yours looks super cute! Love how you did it in festive colours :). Have a great day Jessie, you truly deserve it!

  3. I read about that idea yesterday on Tina’s blog.
    Last Christmas my husband and I did The 12 Dates of Christmas instead of buying each other gifts. He was leaving on deployment right after the holidays and we figured that time together was way more important than any gift. It was a ton of fun thinking up things to do together 🙂

  4. Um you and i are the same person when it comes to waking up at crazy hours and not even trying to go back to sleep haha. For me, there’s no point, since once I’m up, I’m up…so I do exactly what you do haha…clean and bake! I loveeeeeeeeee those plates! And I can’t wait to learn more about those 24 days of togetherness that you guys are doing! Fingers crossed for a nap for you at some point ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. Those plates and bowls are ADORABLE!! I totally want them!! And I am totally addicted to egg muffins too! They are so versatile and loaded with protein!! Yum! You need to share your gingerbread cookie recipe too! AND I know I’m a pest, but I REALLY think you should create a page with all your smoothie creations so when we want to try a new flavor combo we can run through all your amazing creations!! You have so many delicious ones! 🙂

    • Sarah, you are not a pest whatsoever. I know I told you I would.. and ah, I’m sorry I haven’t yet. I mean it’s not like I don’t have time.. so I really have no reason why a page hasn’t been made. Don’t worry though, I’m adding it to my “list of things” to do this week 🙂

  6. 2:30 A.M.?? That’s crazy. I’m glad you were able to be so productive, though! Those egg bites look super cute. I’m such a blogging nerd…that’s from Carrots ‘n Cake’s 24 Days of Togetherness! I’m doing TONS of crafting when I’m home as well, I can’t wait.

  7. You win the best wife award for helping Joshua make cookies for his coworkers and presents 🙂 I hope you have the greatest weekend ever… filled with lots of food, fun, love, and SLEEP! xoxo

  8. Wow and I thought I was an early riser! You beat me for sure! Love the Christmas dates idea! I was planning to put together a “12 dates of Christmas” list for us this year. We are so busy lately it will be nice to get back on track with our dates. Having an at home date night tonight 🙂

    • Ha Ha, right?? for some reason this happens every Friday. I’m not sure what it is about Friday’s, but I’m starting to hate them & wish I could skip over Thursday-Friday night rest Ha Ha.

      -please give them a shot. They are so simple to make, and the perfect go to snack!

  9. My dad wakes up in the middle of the night a lot like that, and can’t go back to sleep. I so feel bad for him when I hear about it! It sounds like you stayed positive though haha and got stuff done. At least you’ll crash early tonight?
    Those bowls are freaking adorable. And the runny egg muffins look great! I’ve done them before but not with a runny-textured egg. I think that should be next. I like to add spicy brown mustard to mine!!

  10. I cant believe you get out of bed at that ungodly hour and do things! I would lay there and have anxiety about how I cant fall asleep lol! You are doing the craft Jeff and I will be doing tonight which is your couples advent calendar!! Love the idea!

    • Ha Ha, Joshua was quite surprised too. It seems as though I wake up EVERY Friday at 2:30. I wish i had the reason why, but I just don’t. Ha Ha.

      YAY! Glad you and Jeff are doing the advent calendar together. Let me know how yours turns out 🙂

  11. Those Christmas dishes are so adorable! I can’t wait to do a little shopping this weekend, all I have so far is a few Christmas mugs, I want more! 🙂 And it looks like you guys are celebrating the 24 days of togetherness advent idea! Super cute and fun.

  12. 2:30? My goodness girlie… you sure are productive that early in the morning 😛 My desire to do anything useful doesn’t usually hit until after lunch. And I have a feeling that you and Joshua are doing the 24 days of togetherness that I saw over on CnC. SUCH a sweet idea 😀

  13. You crack me up girl, baking and cleaning in the middle of the night!! Love you!! 🙂 i need to try those egg whites. They look so delicious!! That craft idea you two are doing is SO sweet. Happy weekend love!!!

    • Yess Lucie, they are the perfect go to snack! I promise you, you probably won’t be able to keep the fridge door shut.

      && ugh, I wish my vitacost package would get here already bc I’m dying to send you your package!! 🙂

  14. You are crazy girl getting up at that ungodly hour and baking, but your muffins sure do look tasty.

    Oh em gee. I love those bowls and plates. So so cute. I’m a succer for anything like that. I really want cow print crockery, but James won’t let me 😦 lol.

  15. I want those dishes! Oh my gosh, too cute! Starbucks almost suckered me in to buying these adorable mugs earlier today…I’ll probably go back and get them. I love Christmas-themed dishes, decorations, all of it! (And especially the gingerbread. Mmmm, gingerbread!) And I’m just like you–if I wake up ridiculously early, I’m getting up ridiculously early! And then getting things done.

  16. I heart eggie cups! Sweet or savory, I like them all 🙂 They’re great on-the-go snacks and perfect for lunch… And I bet they look even tastier on those cute plates, awesome find girly! This holiday I’m looking forward to decorating the apartment, I love the holiday spirit!

    • Oh they do. I didn’t even need to use my bowls this morning, but I just had too. I even put up a small cut apple in the bowl just because it was screaming Christmas & put the biggest smile on my face. Ha Ha.

    • I just can’t believe I’ve never thought to make them before. They are such an easy go to snack. I’m kind of having trouble keeping my hands out of the fridge to be honest, Ha Ha. Oh well.. some added protein during the day is good for you 🙂

      && I’ll make you gingerbread cookies, if you send some goodies this way! Ha Ha. Fair trade right? 🙂

  17. My Mom bought me some super cute mugs and bowls today. They’re Christmas presents, so I won’t be able to use them until after, but they’re adorable!! (Not nearly as adorable as those ones though!! TOO CUTE!!)
    I’m sorry about the insomnia, but you made so much of your time!! To me, that’s infinitely better than just lying in bed upset that you can’t fall asleep!
    Girl, you’ve totally got me charging back to the smoothie bandwagon. I haven’t had any in quite some time, but I thought of you this morning when I made one and I know that there will be more in my near future!
    Sending oh so much love!! And my Mommy liked your comment over on my blog. 😉 She says it’s her pleasure and that it would be a shame not to share me. I blushed.

    • Ah, what a bummer that you aren’t able to use them until Christmas! That’s one thing that I hate about knowing gifts before the big day. You just want to use them right then and there!

      Ha Ha, well I’m glad you enjoyed your smoothie. What kind did you make?

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

