Thankful Thursday: Live The Dream

Today’s Thankful Thursday may seem a bit different than usual. Last night I had a major sweet tooth. Thankfully for my sake, I always keep frozen dove chocolate squares in the freezer. Call me crazy, but I look forward to reading the inspirational messages on the inside of the wrapper. Well, last nights message read:

For some reason, this message automatically got me thinking, What does “Live The Dream” mean to me? Am I living the dream, or am I currently chasing a dream? At first, I wasn’t quite sure. After thinking about it for a little bit, I was able to figure out what exactly that message meant to me.

To me, “Live The Dream” means doing and conquering what I love in life. It’s being happy with the people and things I do have, rather than to drown my sorrows in wants. Yes, I may of dreamt of a huge home, or a fancy car, but is that really needed? Sure it’d be lovely, but I’ve realized I’m 100% content with what I do have.

However, I also realized that I could be Chasing A Dream as well. I’ve always wanted to help others in a major way, and unfortunately that’s something I have yet to achieve. I’d love to be able to help the poor, the sick, the homeless, or the injured. Yes, I’ve donated clothes & goods to shelters, but that’s just not good enough for me. I would love to travel to a poor country, or a place that was hit hard by some sort of natural disaster. Just thinking of how I’d feel afterwards, leaves me with goosebumps… in a good way of course.

&& now your probably wondering why I decided to share this on “Thankful Thursday” huh? The answer is easy, I’m thankful that I read that message. Instead of running back to the couch & watching TV, it gave me a moment to just sit back & think. After realizing and understanding exactly what the message meant, I felt and still do feel quite incredible <3.

So, now that you know what “Live The Dream” means to me; what does it mean to you?


38 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Live The Dream

  1. Such a wonderful post!! btw, I always read inspirational messages no matter where. It always is so inspirational. And this is SO amazing. I had exactly the same dream forever. And I fulfilled it – I traveled to the Philippines to help. If you are interested, you can read my blog from back then: http://lucieonisland.blogspot.ch/2007_07_01_archive.html – but be sure, all the little helps you gave so far mean a LOT to these people! AND you are helping me by making me smile every day when I read your blog. Happy Thursday and thank you for hosting!! xxx Lucie

  2. I love to read inside the dove wrappers, too! 🙂

    To me, live the dream means to not take what you have for granted and make use of all the wonderful things currently in your life. Strive to be the best you can be with what you have….and you will go far!

  3. I love how it’s the small things that usually have the biggest effects on us. I’m infinitely grateful to be able to love and appreciate all the small kindnesses that my day brings me.
    I’m also incredibly thankful for you and being reminded to be grateful all the time, not just on Thanksgiving or when other big life events happen. Love you, lovely!! ❤ ❤

  4. such a great post! i said this in my own thankful post, but i’m really loving how thankful thursday is giving me the chance to really appreciate the small things or to find positives in what seem like negative situations. it’s so great and i’m so glad you’ve started this link up. i also think your dream sounds completely amazing!

  5. “Live the dream….” I think that means do exactly what you want to do. Stop wishing life away and actually do it. I’m guilty of that and thoughts like “if only I could [fill in the blanks]” but have worked to become more active.

  6. What I great post. I was just reading something last night about how it is so important to live in each moment and not constantly be chasing something off in the future! How perfect is this post in relation to that! Love it!

  7. You are so good at always making me stop for a moment and reflect on my life and what’s going on! And to be thankful for all that I have! I think “Live The Dream” means to chase your passion….do what makes you happy! Don’t let anyone or anything stand in your way….we are all stronger than the physical or mental barriers around us! We just need to believe in ourselves!

  8. I love Dove wrappers, they always have such cute and thoughtful sayings. I think live the dream means to chase after what you want most out of life. Go for what you’re passionate about and not hold back 🙂

    You should also check out yogi tea haha they have adorable sayings!

  9. I take pictures every time I get a good quote in one of my Dove squares… They’re so great! You got a really good one- mine have been not so inspirational lately… I think it would be incredible to go travel to a poor country. Go and live your dream, girl xoxo

  10. I love the Dove quotes too. I think live the dream can include chasing the dream…just because you haven’t gotten it yet doesn’t mean you aren’t on your way. I also think that half of living the dream is knowing what your dream is. Loved this post 🙂

  11. Live the dream is actually one of my favorite life quotes ever. I just think it’s such a powerful message that anyone can truly relate too you know? I also think it’s extremely different for everyone. I don’t know, great post though!

  12. I read this before I left for work today and wanted to think about it before I answered, thus my later comment haha. To me, living the dream means living my life in the moment that I am in…not looking too far ahead at the future so that I’m discontent with life now and not dwelling on the past that I can’t change. Just living in the here and now, enjoying the many blessings I have at this time (and every now and then looking forward to something in the future if I’m being completely honest).

  13. Oh girl but you ARE helping people, even right now! Your strength and determination to get healthier is inspiring others who are in the same situation and giving them the courage to do the same. Never underestimate the impact you have on others… Sometimes you might not be aware of it, but you’re definitely making a difference ❤

  14. Very great message, I really enjoyed reading this. I think you may not realize how much you help people, even in just small emails some days or care packages that make someone grin ear to ear. just saying… keep chasing whatever you want. I have no doubt you will get that dream.

  15. I think that you sharing this on Thankful Thursday is SO fitting actually! Because not only are you thankful you read the message but you also clearly are thankful for what you have. It goes without saying. I freaking loved Doves when I was a kid. Those messages were so fun to read!

  16. I love those inspirational quotes. It’s so important to think about helping others all the time; but especially during the holidays. For Christmas every year, my family and I buy presents for a family in need. We deliver them, too. It’s so satisfying to see how happy they are with simple gifts!

  17. It’s awesome that you want to help others! I suspect you’ll start getting a good sense of what you want to do and how when you start the Integrative Nutrition training program – a lot of the material helps you zero in on that. No matter what you wind up doing, you’re going to be an awesome resource for the people whose lives you affect! 🙂

  18. Living the dream for me would mean living a life that makes me happy. It’s such a difficult thing to achieve, especially for me because I tend to be all over the place career-wise with what I want to do. I also feel like I want to do something, anything to help others. Volunteer in some way maybe. I want to get more involved in millions of things, but when I think of everything I want to do, it’s overwhelming. Yes I can do anything, but I can’t do everything. I know I need to sit down and think about what I’m truly passionate about and what I really want to do. Thanks for such a thought provoking post today! Definitely got me thinking 🙂

  19. Love this post girl…I have actually been meditating and praying about this often the lately So far, I feel like living the dream means to acknowledge the truth and love in others but also in ourselves, loving our minds and bodies. Also, embracing our pasts because they make us who we are, living in the present cherishing every moment and meeting each moment with love, and then looking into the future with a positive outlook.

  20. This is awesome! Living the dream to me is just being truthfully happy with my life and proud of myself. Sometimes it’s so hard to do just that! PS love those chocolates, of course! I’ve had a terrible time resisting sweets lately!

  21. Sometimes it’s just the smallest things that get us thinking about what we’re thankful for. I think I’m like you both Living the Dream and Chasing the Dream. I’m so happy and content with my life right now, but there are also a few things that might enhance it even more. Happy Thursday to you!

  22. Pingback: Getting Ready for The Holidays and Thankful Thursday « Fit 'N' Well Mommy

  23. Grea question! I think Living the Dream means a bery similar thing as you. It is not about money. As a matter of fact, I walked away from a very high paying consulting career a year and a half ago because I realized that money wasn’t a dream. Especially when you’re working 60+ hours and can’t enjoy it. I’m content to enjoy my free time with my family. That’s living the dream.

  24. This post really touched me, and resonated in more ways than one. Thank you so much for sharing! I too love those Dove messages–and the delicious chocolate inside is the icing on the cake. 😉

    Gosh, I think I’m currently chasing a dream more than I’m living it. Every morning and evening, I spend 5 minutes praying about everything I’m grateful for. The purpose of this is to make it easier to savor and appreciate the little things that happen during my day—the smile from a stranger, the scent of a sugar cookie candle burning in my room; a hug from a friend. That said, my mind is always wandering to the future; I’m constantly thinking about where I’m going and what I’ll be doing next year at this time. While I think that both living a dream AND chasing a dream is important, chasing a dream is only beneficial if you don’t let it become stressful and all-consuming. I’m definitely experiencing some of the latter right now. However, I know that we truly have nothing to fear in life, and that in itself is so liberating and beautiful.

    I love your dream, and I love your big heart! ❤ xoxo

  25. Sometimes it’s the little things 😉

    Hmmm living the dream to me means living out what I feel like I’m supposed to be doing. Like I feel like we’re all called to different things, and living the dream is acting on that!

  26. It’s funny, but I always take the quotes inside those Dove chocolates, and the little sayings inside Fortune cookies SO seriously. Like, I contemplate them, and then think… “Wow. That makes a lot of sense. I think I’m going to start incorporating that into my life.”

    For instance… Live the Dream. So inspirational!

Leave a Reply

