Holiday Favorites Survey

Hi Everyone! To all my fellow Americans, how was your Thanksgiving? I hope y’all had an amazing day with family & loved ones… and of course enjoyed the delicious Thanksgiving dinner. I know I got a fair share myself :). Many of you asked if Joshua & I would be enjoying the traditional Thanksgiving meal since we’re now living in Kuwait. Well the answer is yes, of course! Thankfully they were selling butterball turkeys on base along with ham, so it all worked out perfectly :).

Now that Thanksgiving is over, it’s time to look forward to Christmas. I cannot get over the fact that it’s basically a month away. Have you gotten your Christmas shopping done yet, or are you one of those people who wait until the last week? Ha Ha!

Talking about Christmas, on Tuesday Meghan @ After The Ivy League nominated to participate in a fun Holiday Themed Christmas Survey. I was beyond excited. I mean 1. I love Christmas & 2. I love surveys 🙂

  • What’s your favorite Christmas song? I am so bad when it comes to music, and remembering the names of songs. Let’s think for a second (and google)… I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause, All I Want For Christmas Is You, and White Christmas
  • Have you ever gone shopping on Black Friday? Yes. However, these days I’d rather just sit at home and find the same deals online… with no pushing & pulling from obnoxious shoppers.
  • What’s your favorite Christmas movie? Believe it or not, up until two years ago I had never seen The Christmas Story. Well it’s now a favorite, along with Elf. How can anyone not love Buddy?

  • Who’s your favorite person to shop for on your list? It’s a tie between Joshua & my mom. All Joshua ever asks for are things related to Penn State, Titans & Phillies. Can’t get much easier than that. My mom is the type of person that’ll love anything you give her.
  • Who’s your least favorite person to shop for? Definitely my dad & brother
  • What’s your most memorable Christmas gift you’ve ever received? Unlike my brother, I have the worst memory… like if it happened 3 years ago, I may have already forgotten. Oh well. However, I do remember one Christmas my parents had gotten Justin & me both cell phones. It was a complete surprise. They hid the phones throughout our home, called the phones & we had to go on a scavenger hunt to find them. Also, another awesome gift was from my brother last year. I’ve never mentioned this before, but he’s quite the handy man when it comes to the workshop. He made Joshua & I a Car Key/Coat hanger out of wood. I wish I had a picture of it because it turned out beautiful. He engraved “Gipe” (my last name) & our anniversary date in it.
  • What’s your most memorable Christmas gift you’ve ever given? Again, memory loss is happening. I’m sorry, and this sounds pitiful but I can’t think of anything at the moment.
  • Where’s your favorite place to go Christmas shopping? It all depends on who I’m shopping for. I am a big fan of online websites though.
  • What was one of your favorite Christmas memories? I definitely don’t have one favorite memory. I truly do believe that every Christmas is an amazing memory. I love our Christmas dinners where we sit down as a family and enjoy Lasagna. I love that we open one gift every Christmas Eve. I love that my dad will still hide our Christmas money outside (yup, we’ve had to climb parts of a tree before). I just love the whole day with my family.

  • Who’s your favorite Christmas shopping buddy? Whenever were visiting our family, it’s definitely my beautiful mother.
  • Do you decorate for the holidays and put up a tree? When do you normally do it? Joshua & I will be putting up our fake tree on Sunday! I cannot wait 🙂 Finding a tree & decorations was one thing I was worried about upon moving here. How in the world would we get a tree? Do they sell anything Christmas related? Well thankfully, a woman Joshua works with had a fake tree she didn’t need (she’ll be going back to the states), along with Christmas tree decorations. I guess it’s true, as long as you’re happy & hopeful… everything does work out.
  • And fine, just one food-related question, what’s your favorite Christmas dessert? No favorite. Oh wait, I just remembered I love Peanut Butter Blossoms.

 

… And now I’m off to watch “The Lion King”. Don’t act like you don’t love this movie too 🙂

 

  • What is one of your favorite Christmas memories?
  • What do you & your family eat for Christmas dinner?
57 thoughts on “Holiday Favorites Survey

  1. Love the survey! And I’d love to see your tree! My favorite memory is getting up on the morning of the 23rd and decorating the tree with mom. And I love the song All I want for christmas is you too!

  2. Ok, I so love this survey and I am stealing it. I absolutely love all things Christmas. We’re putting up our tree Sunday too! And it’s definitely a fake one, living in Australia and all. Lasagne at Christmas – we do that too! And Elf is such an adorable movie. I cry, like everytime.

  3. You just put me in the Christmas spirit like all get out!! Ahhhhhhh so excited that you guys are decorating for Christmas tomorrow!! We did on Thursday night, and I’m sitting here on my living room floor bathed in the glow of twinkle lights…best feeling in the world! Or one of them anyway 😉 I’m glad that you guys were able to have such a great Thanksgiving!! And I loved learning some more about your favorite holiday memories!! I don’t know that I could pick one favorite holiday memory, but one near the top would have to be having the boy with my family last Christmas Eve. Christmas Eve is my FAVORITE day of the entire year so getting to be with everyone I love in the same place made it even more magical 🙂 And Christmas dinner changes depending on recipes my mum finds that she wants to try…but I always make dessert…this year my usual cookie trays and a cake will be making an appearance…for five of us…yippee ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. Okay now I’m really ready for Christmas to begin! I love Elf! One of my other favorite holiday movies is Love Actually. Oh and the Polar Express! Can’t wait for Christmas this year with the Nugget! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  5. The Lion King is one of my favorite movies! Hope you enjoyed watching it 😀 And that story about getting your Christmas tree is the sweetest thing ever – it’s definitely true that things always have a way of working out in the end. I’m so excited for Christmas that it’s getting a bit ridiculous. I may or may not have already watched Elf 3 times, and now that Thanksgiving is all over and done with, I’ll be breaking out the Christmas decorations in no time 😀

  6. That movie always makes me cry like a baby! Have a great weekend!
    You have good taste in Christmas movies! If you like funny, watch Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation! Love it!

  7. I didn’t think it was possible, but I love you even more now!!! Totally guilty for Googling song lyrics to find out the “real” title and not just what I call it in my mind. haha. Sounds like your brother stole all the memory genes, either that or you always had him around growing up to remember things like that, so you didn’t need to develop the intense memory skills? I know that it was like that with my brother and I — I can remember a lot of things that happen, but I’m totally iffy on the details. He remembers EVERYTHING (as long as it doesn’t have to do with school. 😉 ) — big picture and immensely tiny details.
    And ohmyflippinggoodness I think I would kill for lasagna on Christmas night instead of turkey dinner!! Yum!!! My Dad makes THE best lasagna … maybe I’ll request it this year, seeing as we never do anything special for Christmas dinner anyway. Fabulous idea — you may have just started a new tradition in our household!! 😉 xoxoxoxox

    • Yay! Glad I could help, well maybe help with a new tradition. I mean who doesn’t love yummy, cheesy & goey comfort food? 🙂

      Funny, my brother remembers everything too. I guess we didn’t get that gene? 😦

  8. We’re setting up our Christmas tree and decorations tomorrow too! I’m definitely excited for it. We’ll be listening to Michael Buble’s Christmas music–if you haven’t listened to his versions yet, you definitely should–they’re amazing!

  9. Unlike traditional Thanksgiving food, Christmas is always different at my house! One year we had taco night, one year we had a spaghetti feast, and occasionally we will have the traditional ham and sides. Or is that traditional!? Who knows..I am so excited for Christmas this year!

  10. Love this survey. So interesting. You are terrible with remembering song names, I cannot remember actors/actresses to save my life. I couldn’t tell you whose who…ever. I’m excited for a change other than Thanksgiving LOL.

  11. Cute survey! Um Elf and Lion King are definitely two awesome movies! Elf being my favorite! We’re setting up all our decorations tomorrow as well! I can’t wait!!!

  12. That cellphone story is too cute! My parents surprised me with my cell phone too. There was this HUGE box left under the tree for me and I had no idea what it was. As I unwrapped layer after layer and opened box after box inside of that thing, my brother kept on shouting, “I know what it is! I know what it is!” Haha. I didn’t have a clue until I got down to the final box… The one that had a picture of this pretty blue Chocolate cell phone on the front 🙂 Did you have texting with your first phone? I remember having to pay my parents 10 dollars a month for texting because it was an “additional cost.” Can you even get a phone without texting anymore?!

    • Ha Ha, how funny! I’m trying to remember.. but for some reason I’m thinking my parents had to pay extra for texting @ the time. && you better believe that if we went over our “limit”, there’d be some sort of consequence. 😦 Ha Ha.

  13. Elf is a hilarious holiday classic 😛 We always used to watch Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation on Christmas Eve when I was younger so that will always have a silly place in my heart! Ryan loves all of the classic movies too so I’m sure we’ll be watching plenty of those over the next few weeks, especially since he’s a couch potato cause of the surgery… I’m hoping to start putting up some Christmas decorations this week or coming weekend, the past week has been awfully busy! Anddd classic Christmas dinner in our house always includes a Honeybaked Ham! XO

  14. Fun survey. Will you be spending Christmas in Kuwait, or are you coming stateside?
    The Hubby and I usually do three to four Christmas’ in a matter of days. It’s exhausting, but fun all at the same time, and I have started my shopping. In fact, I’m going to try to wrap some gifts today!

    • We’ll be spending it over here in Kuwait. It’s just so expensive to fly back to the states, and than we’d have to figure out what to do with Roxy as well.

      Oh I know what you mean about how exhausting it can be. When the hubs was in the military and we’d visit our families doing the holidays it was always so hectic. His parents are divorced, so seeing 3 different families in a matter of a days was tough. Even though we had an amazing time, I often felt like we never got “our” time. You know what I’m saying?

  15. Love the survey 🙂
    We always eat lasagna the night before Christmas! And I LOVE peanut butter blossoms. I always seem to screw them up when I try to bake them (not the best baker – not sure how I screw them up but I somehow do) so I leave it to my friend Rachel to share some of her batch 🙂

  16. I love the survey, such a great idea! Also, peanut butter blossoms are my favorite cookie!! Since we are putting up our Christmas decorations today, I might have to bake some…

    For Christmas, we usually have a roast, a goose or duck. Since my mom is Italian, she also does some sort of pasta or gnocchi. For dessert, we each decorate our own gingerbread cookies and enjoy my mom’s homemade candy!

    • I’m sure your little ones would love you 10x more if you decided too 🙂 Those are cookies that I can’t ever resist going back for seconds.. okay, maybe thirds or fourths.

      Since Joshua & i were with our families last year for Christmas either, we started the tradition of having Duck too.

  17. Thanks for doing the survey!! Super cute answers. I used to be a big Black Friday shopper, but this year I went the same route as you! Hopped on the laptop and ordered the same thing with free shipping. More time in my PJ’s and more sleep, can’t go wrong!

Leave a Reply

