Tangent Tuesday

Good Morning! Even though I was only missing for a day from the “blogging world”, it’s wonderful to be back. I hope all y’all’s week started off on the right foot. If it wasn’t the greatest, just remind yourself that Thursday isΒ Thanksgiving!Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Tuesday’s have become a day when I write a post for Sloane over @ Strength In Freedom campaign called “Freedom From Perfection”, but because I was gone all yesterday I never got a chance to really sit down & think of what to say. So unfortunately, I won’t be participating this week, but please still head over to Sloane’s page & see what others are saying ❀ It really is a wonderful, motivational & inspiring campaign link to be apart of.

Okay, now let’s talk about yesterday for a little. Y’all are going to hate me, but I didn’t take a single picture. #sorryimnotsorry. I rarely take pictures as it is, and yesterday was just a day where I wanted our day to be strictly aboutΒ us. That meant no cell phones, no cameras, no nothing. We had originally planned on seeing “Flight” @ 2:30, but because of traffic on the way there our plans had to change. Thankfully there was another showing at 5:00. Once we got toΒ The Avenues (the mall), we decided to grab a quick-lunch at subway. Afterwards, we walked around looking for a good price on jeans. The hubs desperately needs some new pairs for work. We didn’t have the greatest of luck. The cheapest pair we could find anywhere were for $50.00. That’s a little higher than I like to spend (yup I can be cheap when it comes to buying clothes). So needless to say, the hubs only got one pair from American Eagle & were just going to order some online.

After a little more walking, and telling the husband I wanted everything in the Ikea store it was time for the movie. Let me just tell you, I absolutely loved it! Denzel Washington can do no wrong in my book. The movie kept your attention from beginning to end. For anyone who hasn’t seen it, I’d definitely recommend you heading to the theaters soon & seeing it.

Once the movie was over, we decided to stay @ the mall and grab dinner at Texas Roadhouse. I’ve always been a big fan of Texas Roadhouse, however last night I was a little disappointed. I ordered a chicken salad with no bacon, well when my meal came there was bacon. I’m not usually one to complain or have them remake it, but there was so much bacon it would’ve taken me a while to pick through it all. I sent it back, and when they brought me a new salad it wasn’t even the one I ordered. Thankfully they were kind enough Β to take my meal off the bill. So yup, my dinner ended up just being broccoli for the most part. It kinda worked out in the end though, because I had quite an upset stomach & just wasn’t feeling to hot by the end of the night. We got home around 9:30, and I pretty much crashed right away. #grandma status.

Now here I am, it’s 7:25 in the morning & I’m feeling much better :). It’s supposed to be another cold one on this side of the ocean today (77 degrees). I know some of you may think I’m crazy, but when you have been used to 90-100 degree temperatures for quite some time, anything under that means jeans & sweaters. Ah, I’m not sure how I’m going to survive when I visit the states in March. Someone help me! Ha Ha.

This weekend I saw a fun survey called “Looking Forward Survey” on Danielle @ Itsaharleylife’s page & thought it’d be fun to complete sometime this week :).

  • What are you looking forward to in the next couple hours?Β Trying a new-to-me smoothie I found on Katie @ HealthyDivaEat’s page (Caramel Pumpkin Protein Smoothie), but I’ll be adding 1/2 a banana to the mix as well.

You can’t tell me that doesn’t look delicious?!!

  • Who are you looking forward to seeing?Β Well since the only person I really see is my husband, I guess my husband. However, if you fast forward 249 days (not like I’m counting down or anything) to March, I’m excited to see my family, friends & blends ❀
  • Which meal you’re looking forward to eating?Β See #2, and once Thursday comes it’ll be Thanksgiving Dinner

  • Workout you’re looking forward to doing?Β My usual 20 minute walk with Roxy, and I’ll also be doing a quick core workout @ some point today as well.
  • What you’re looking forward to this weekend? Football, Football & Football. Man, I don’t know what I’m going to do once the season is over 😦
  • Show you’re looking forward to watching:Β Sons of Anarchy. Jax is the perfect eye candy… am I right?? Ha Ha
  • Recipe you’re looking forward to making?Β I received another package from my mom last week, and she had bought me some products from “Wildtree”. There was a product called “Smoked Mozzarella and Tomato blend” that I’m looking forward to trying out this evening for dinner. I found a recipe for these (picture below) that I’ll be following.. substitutingΒ the bacon with tuna.

  • What you’re looking forward to most for the holidays?Β Thanksgiving: Even though Joshua has to work all day, I’m blessed that we’ll be able to have a nice dinner that night and watch football. Christmas: Spending the whole day together, and then celebrating our 4 year marriage anniversary 2 days later at a fancy hotel ❀
  • Thanksgiving dish you’re looking forward to eating?Β Bring on the turkey baby!!
  • A goal you’re looking forward to achieving?Β I wouldn’t call it a goal, but being at a healthy weight where I regain my period & we can start trying for a baby. Also, graduating school next December.

Woah, this post was very long. Don’t worry though y’all, I’m all done writing for the day πŸ™‚ :).

  • Answer some of the above questions. I’d love to hear your answers.
  • Are you doing anything fun for Thanksgiving?Β 
82 thoughts on “Tangent Tuesday

  1. Love this post :). Something about it just exudes happiness- it must be that wonderful day spent with your husband! I am SO excited for Thanksgiving. I get to see my family and my boyfriend for a few nights… Wahoo! And you should definitely share some wedding pictures on the blog for your 4-year anniversary.

  2. Lovely!! Seems you had a wonderful day together!! Looking forward to this weekend: I am going to do a christmas-race in town, 5,5km to dedicate the christmaslighting in the streets. No Thankgsgiving over here! 😦

  3. I think it’s great that you spent the day yesterday just focusing on yourselves. That makes sense.

    A workout that I’m looking forward to doing is a new 20 week yoga series (but I expect to take longer than that because I like to take things slooow).

    For Thanksgiving I’m cooking dinner for my husband (with his help! He makes great turkey!) and we’ve invited a couple new friends from church. So that should be fun! I’m excited but also nervous because I’m somewhat shy.

    • Thanks Austin! It was such a great time, and I’m so glad we were able to have that extra day together.

      Where did you find this 20 week yoga series at? I’ve been thinking about doing some yoga in my life lately, but just not sure which dvds or programs to use.

      Awe girl, you’ll be fine. I promise! Once all of you start chit chatting, your shyness will go away! πŸ™‚

      • The yoga series is from the book “Yoga: The Path to Holistic Health” by BKS Iyengar. Here is a link to the book: http://www.powells.com/biblio/2-9780789471659-9 . Here is a link to a website that explains a bit about Mr. Iyengar, his practice and his philosophy: http://www.bksiyengar.com/modules/Iyoga/iyoga.htm .

        I seriously recommend this book! It has taken me from an absolute beginning to much more advanced. It has detailed pictures and instructions on how to perform each of the postures correctly. It also addresses all the aspects of yoga, not just the physical postures. Yoga is ultimately about calming your mind and freeing your spirit.

        Iyengar yoga uses props to help your body be in the correct alignment when practicing poses. I found these props to be very helpful. Here is a link to a site that sells yoga accessories: http://www.yogaaccessories.com/ . I recommend getting a pair of foam blocks, a yoga strap, a few yoga bricks and a few bolsters of different sizes, plus a mat.

        Thanks for the encouragement, Jessie! You put a smile omy face and increased my confidence! πŸ™‚

      • Thank you so much for letting me know about this yoga book girl. I cannot wait to check into it & heck, maybe even start practicing yoga more! Awe & you are so welcome Austin. I hope you have a wonderful day & holiday xoxo

      • You’re welcome. Yoga has been a blessing for me. I like to share that with others!

        Thank you!!! I hope you have a great day and holiday too!

  4. I’m excited to see YOU in March!! Eee! Can’t wait!! ❀

    I'm amazed by the number of American chains and stores are in Kuwait! Texas Roadhouse, Subway and American Eagle? Everything is global now! I'm glad you enjoyed Flight; I think I'm going to see either that or Skyfall on Thanksgiving. Daniel Craig or Denzel? Decisions decisions!

    Katie's caramel pumpkin smoothie looks amazing; I need to go check out that recipe! And girl, I totally agree with you about football–I go through major withdrawals at the end of the season.

    Thanksgiving dish(es) I'm looking forward to eating: roasted Brussels sprouts and mini pumpkin cheesecakes!

    • Oh it’s crazy how many american chains there are.. but man girl, they are expensive! I’m talking like twice the price when it comes to the check :(.

      SEE FLIGHT! I promise you girl, you’ll be so happy you made the decision too.

      I do too, especially now that hockey isn’t going on. Whats a girl to do between football & baseball season 😦 😦

  5. I’m counting down the days as well, my dearest!!! I’m so glad you had an excellent day! And hearing your commentary on it (especially about the jeans), just gave me THE biggest smile because I feel like I’ve “gotten to know you” well enough that it sounds EXACTLY like something you would say. I love that your voice is growing stronger in my head. Basically, I think you’re fabulous!!
    Rain and cooler weather there? Apocalypse!! πŸ˜‰
    I’m most looking forward to hanging out with my youngest brother today — he has a very rare day off and I’m off early this afternoon, so we’re going to have a “Chillin’ like Villains” evening. We’re probably just going to hang out on the couch with our laptops watching TV with some snacks, but at least we’ll be together.
    Hope you have a fabulous day, lovely!! xo

    • Ha Ha, well I love that my voice is growing stronger in your head too.. I honestly feel like I’ve known you for so long Chelsie. You have been such a fresh breath of air to my life. What would I ever do without you??

      Ah, well I hope the two of you have fun & enjoy some delicious snacks! It’s not about what the two of you do, it’s all about just being together & spending that time ya know?? πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t wait for you to come back to the states!!! This is going to turn into one jumbo blogger meetup πŸ™‚ So excited and so happy for you and all of the positive things you have to look forward to! Your Christmas plans sound amazing!!! I’m on my way home now for Thanksgiving and we are spending the week at my cousin’s ski house in NH. It’s something I look forward to all year. Have a wonderful day, girl xoxo

    • I can hardly wait either girl! Were all going to have such an amazing & fun time together.

      Ah, NH is one of the few states I’ve never visited but have always wanted too. I hope you have a wonderful time with your family girl. Enjoy every moment ❀

  7. i’m so glad you got to have a nice day with your husband! sorry your stomach ended up hurting 😦 that’s never a fun way to end a date. i am super excited for your trip to the states in march! i’m hoping that we can meet since i pretty much stalk alex all day long on a regular basis πŸ™‚

  8. It sounds like you guys had an awesome day!
    I’m so excited for thanksgiving, I’m making roasted brussel sprouts, which I think I’m way more excited for than anything else! And my anniversary is the day after Thanksgiving so I’m looking forward to that too (:

  9. Cute questions and another one I’m going to have to “borrow.” I just did your Last Chance survey today. I’m glad you got to spend all day yesterday with your husband, and you’ll be able to spend Thanksgiving night with him too. If you were here in Ohio, I’d drag you to my in-laws house for Thanksgiving Day, but I’ll think of you (fondly, of course) instead.

    • Awe, well thank you. If I were in the states, I would definitely of loved to join you and your family on this wonderful day. I can’t wait to check out your last survey answers :).

      Have a Happy Thanksgiving Meghan!

  10. You two seem like such a cute couple – I’m glad you had a great time! πŸ™‚

    This holiday I’m looking forward to my brother coming home! Our family only comes together twice a year (once when we visit him, and another time when he comes home), so we’re all pretty excited for December!

  11. I loveee check-out days aka sans technology and just the hubby! Sounds like y’all had a fabulous day [minus the bacon, boo] πŸ™‚ My hubby lives in jeans- seriously- wears them all year and only wears dress pants when we go out! We usually go to the outlets and he’ll find a pair for about $30 which I think is pretty reasonable, especially knowing that he’ll wear them everyday until they get a hole πŸ˜› You’ll meet him at the race in March- only a few months away!!!

    P.S. I’ll do the survey later this week/ weekend!

  12. Besides the ending with the upset tummy and the restaurant malfunction, that sounds like a wonderful hubby day to me πŸ™‚ Soooo happy you guys got unexpected time together AND that you made the most of it πŸ™‚ I’m most looking forward to eating my Daddy’s stuffing, I’m excited to try out a new pumpkin cake recipe later (hopefully dessert for Thursday). I’m excited to see my family and the boy, spend the weekend hanging out and decorating for Christmas with said boy, and going for a run or two together πŸ™‚ Have a great rest of your day, love <3<3<3

  13. I am obsessed with Sons of Anarchy! I got into it when my husband was deployed in Iraq. We’d have ‘dates’ when we’d watch it at the same time and then talk about it afterwards. Now, we watch it together in person (much better!). Love that show.

    • That’s too funny, the hubs started getting into SOA while he was deployed. He actually introduced me to the show as soon as he returned. I think that’s just adorable that the two of you would have SOA “dates” xox

  14. Love this post. Sometimes you just have to have time when it is all about you. As bloggers, I feel we think we need to photograph everything which is obviously not the case. And girl the last time I spent more then 20 dollars on a pair of jeans…um wait…I don’t know LOL

  15. I knew you would love “Flight” since you said he was your favorite–those movie date nights are so fun!
    Oh, and that smoothie looks (and sounds) fantastic–might have to try that today!

  16. Sounds like some great quality time with the hubs πŸ™‚ Good for you for not documenting every moment and enjoying them! My Thanksgiving plans this year are the usual, heading to my family’s house for some dinner!

  17. YAY! You will love that smoothie and adding a banana is a good idea, I did a frozen banana to mine before, so good!
    You need to share wedding pics, happy almost 4 year anny! How lovely!

    Happy Tuesday girl! ❀

  18. Awwww….sounds like you and the hubby had a great day, despite the salad fiasco! That smoothie DOES look incredible. I’m most looking forward to eating my mom’s Antipasto (I know not usually a “Thanksgiving” food). Unfortunately I do not get to celebrate this year with my parents (they live in NY), but I will be bringing it to the Thanksgiving feast at my friends house. I hope it comes out just as good!!! πŸ™‚

  19. Glad you had a fabulous day with the husband! My Thanksgiving will consist of tons of family time! Can’t wait.

  20. I am so glad you and the hubby had some quality time together yesterday! And now we are definitely going to have to see that movie!! BTW – 9:30 isn’t grandma status….i’m asleep by 10pm too! haha

  21. I love that you spent time with the hubs and it was just the two of you without any distractions – that’s definitely the best way to do it. I love looking at pictures, but sometimes I feel that we can miss the actual moments when we’re constantly worrying about capturing them. Glad to hear that you guys enjoyed your day together, but sorry about the jeans and dinner… food and clothes can be such a bother πŸ˜‰

  22. I am a huge fan of Denzel as well. Has he ever made a bad movie?!

    I am complete opposite of you, there can never be enough bacon on a salad for me but I get how it could be annoying if you didn’t like it. I am still having a hard time believing you don’t like it though, lol!!

    • Ha Ha, nope I don’t believe he has. Even his oldest movies are great! You sound like my husband, he loves bacon on his salad.. and a ridiculous amount of unhealthy ranch dressing haha.

      Happy Thanksgiving ❀

  23. So glad you had a nice day Jessie – sounds so lovely to have some time just the two of you. And you will get all you wish in time – you are doing so well and I’m sure your period will come back super soon! Can’t wait to see you posting that it has and then even more exciting news later on!!

  24. Sounds like a great day! I’m doing a tradition Turkey Trot 5k with the family on Thursday πŸ™‚ and then enjoying a meal with just the 4 of us. We will do some traveling to see family over the weekend so that is a plus!

    • Sure am. Unfortunately the hubs has to work until 6 this evening, but hey at least I don’t have a time on when the food needs to be prepared (well obviously by 6). I can take my good ole time πŸ™‚ Ah, It has been.. but isn’t it always??

  25. That sucks about your dinner. I hate it when restaurants get it wrong. I also hate it when they look so annoyed when you say they got it wrong. But I’m glad you had a good date otherwise though – that film does look good. I admire your strength of not seeing your friends and family for such a long time. I’m not sure I could be so strong. Have a great day πŸ™‚

  26. I cannot wait till turkey day!! Hubby and I are leaving at 3am to drive up to my daddys. Its about a 6 hour drive and I wanna get there and help with the food so thats why we leave so early. plus we beat traffic that way! I hope you have a beautiful day with your hubby and family πŸ™‚

  27. Ah bummer about the dinner situation, I hate when that happens. I don’t like to send my stuff back either, but if it’s that bad then you just have to!! That was great they took your meal off the bill though! I am so jazzed to spend some good time with family tomorrow! Happy Thanksgiving to you guys!

Leave a Reply

