Cheer Yourself On

Happy Tuesday! If you had off yesterday, I hope you had the most wonderful and relaxing day. I have a few things I’d like to share with y’all today, so let’s get started shall we 🙂

I woke up yesterday morning itching to get on a treadmill, and you know what.. that’s exactly what I did (Don’t worry, I only walked). During my walk I thought it’d be a great time to catch up on some Oxygen. I was reading the October issue, and came across two awesome things I knew I wanted to share with y’all.

First, there was an article titled “Cheer Yourself On!”. Are you one of those people who find it hard to get to the gym from time to time, or even pushing through that last set? I could sit here & say “Oh no, that’s never me”, but let’s be honest… everyone feels this way @ some point or another. I thought I’d share the four ways they listed to put you back in the mood, and kick butt during your workout….

Second, you ready to get your sweat on? Here’s an awesome workout you can do anywhere (yes so that means you can’t use the excuse “I don’t belong to a gym”).

&& last but very important… here a few #freEdom happenings in my life

  • I made delicious pumpkin & oat bars yesterday… and let’s just say I may have had one too many.
  • I mentioned above that I walked on the treadmill for 20 minutes, however I failed to mention that I also walked Roxy in the afternoon as well. Yup, 40 minutes instead of 20. I know I know, but it was too beautiful of a day to not.
  • I just enrolled in The Institute for Integrative Nutrition last night, and I must admit; I’m kind of nervous.

If you aren’t familiar what “Freedom From Perfection” is all about, please head over to Sloane’s page and learn all about it. I promise you, it’s an amazing & inspiring campaign she started <3.

 

91 thoughts on “Cheer Yourself On

  1. Another great post, girl! Love the honesty 🙂 and that’s a great workout for us non-gym-goers. Thanks! What is the institute for integrative nutrition? I’ve never heard of it!

  2. Girl!! I am ALLLLLL smiles right now for you!!!
    You indulged in things that are building your soul — all three of your freedoms brought your heart, body, and mind good. Life is about indulging in that extra tasty bar, and walking/exercising for the fun of it and the sheer joy of enjoying a beautiful day (and a beautiful body!). You’re going to be an amazing health coach!! You already have so much insight as to how to do what’s best for your body, no matter the sacrifice. The empathy that you’re going to be able to show your patients as you help guide them through their struggles will be endless and heart-felt. This is what life is about my dear — helping yourself and helping others. I’m so proud of you and infinitely grateful to be able to call you my friend. ❤
    Ps. Probably going to commit to a flight to Harrisburg by Friday at the latest. 😀 Email coming your way later today. xo

    • Tomorrow is Friday and that means you’ll be committing your flight to Harrisburg. Ehhh so excited 🙂

      && thank you so much for this sweet comment. I’m just as proud to call you my friend. You are such an incredible woman both inside & out. I mean who wouldn’t want to be friends with someone who is strong, confident, beautiful, & PLAYS CRIBBAGE??!!!

  3. How exciting that you are going to be taking classes from IIN 🙂 I have looked into that program several times myself and I think that this will be great for you!!! Good luck!!!

  4. you know what’s awesome about the blogging community? even when you can’t find the motivation to cheer yourself on, there’s always someone on twitter to cheer you on, even if it’s from afar! i’m glad you had a beautiful day and a nice walk with roxy. there’s something so great about spending time outside – it’s so good for the mind 🙂

    • Jess, that may be the hardest part. There are so many days when all I want to do is do a treadmill walk, but than I have to remind myself it’s either that or walk the dog.. and well our little one usually comes first.

    • No gated community, we live in an apartment complex in town. It so much different than the states though. Almost every apartment complex here has security outside. I can’t recall doing a full post on what life is like here. I have posted pictures of different things. I’ll have to write a post of pros & cons to share with y’all for sure though 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  5. Oxygen is easily one of my favorite magazines–they always have awesome advice, recipes, and the ‘back to basics’ types of workouts. Women’s Health is another of my favorites too.

  6. I LOVE this! Oxygen is one of the few women’s magazines that I will actually read, and its SO important to be your own cheerleader in every aspect of your life. If you don’t support yourself, then others’ support falls flat. Thanks for the freEDom submissions! Those pumkin oat bars sound FABULOUSSSS so definitely no shame in having a few 🙂

    • AND CONGRATULATIONSSSS!!!!!!! I want to hear all about your experience. That is something potentially on my horizon as I work towards become a holistic health coach. I’m so proud of you for taking such a brave step and enrolling! I have no doubt that you will do amazing and it will lead you to a career where you will be of help to so many people. How could you not be? oxox

    • Oxygen is definitely one of the only women magazines I’ll read as well. I love how true and pure the whole magazine is. I always find myself so inspired & motivated after reading it from front to back.

  7. You enrolled in my school?!?! Look at you! Don’t be nervous- you are going to love it. Are you doing it just for the education or do you want to make a career out of it?
    Just keep in mind when you take your tests that I wrote those questions! haha (I wrote curriculum for the school for a while after I graduated).
    Happy Tuesday!

  8. pumpkin & oat bars mmm they sound so great! I’d definitely would eat more than one too! congrats in signing up for The Institute for Integrative Nutrition. That is soooo exciting! i can’t wait to hear about your experience and see the finish product! (:

  9. I had to do a lot of cheering myself on yesterday during my long run. The last run I did was 2.5 weeks ago, and the last long run I did was more than 3 weeks ago, so it was definitely a physical AND mental challenge. I just kept telling myself I was almost there and that I could do it. One foot infront of the other, breathe, etc…. It worked!

  10. Good for you hun! I know it doesn’t always seem like a good thing when we challenge ourselves (intentionally or unintentionally), but I try to look at it as I wouldn’t have even considered eating something like that however long ago I was really struggling, let alone actually doing it. It’s a process (lifelong I’m convinced at this point) to find that balance, and I love how honest you are in this post 🙂 anddddddddddd I can’t wait to try that workout tomorrow or Thursday! anddddddddddd CONGRATS on enrolling!! That’s huge!! Hope you’re proud! I am 🙂

  11. Mmm… pumpkin oat bars sound delicious!
    I love the article, I’ve been trying to cheer myself on more, instead of thing “ugh I have to go to the gym” I try to think “Yeah! I get to go to the gym and run and lift heavy things!” some how pretending to be excited actually makes me more excited.
    And congrats on IIN, you’ll be an awesome health coach!

  12. I always try to get pumped to go to the gym. I’ll either read some motivational blogs, a fitness magazine, or add a new move to may workout before I go if I’m dragging my feet. Don’t want to waste my time doing a half-assed workout.

  13. I have several friends who have completed the IN program and they really liked it. One is actually working as a Health Coach for a large corporation now!!

    I love the “do anywhere” workout and will definitely keep that handy for days I don’t feel like heading to the gym. I do love me some jump rope!!

  14. Congrats on enrolling in IIN!! It’s something I’ve been looking into and thinking about for a while. I’m looking forward to hearing all about it & am excited that I have a friend enrolled that can give me the inside scoop ;).

Leave a Reply

