Thankful Thursday #3

Yup, it’s that time again. Another week of Thankful Thursday. A day where you can express the good happening in your life. It doesn’t have to be a huge accomplishment by any means. It can be as small as: I found my favorite nail polish, and for that I’m thankful. So take a seat, and think for a second… What are you thankful for?

I’m Thankful For… Allison over at LifesABowl for sharing her Peanut Butter Pancake recipe. I made them this morning, and let’s just say each bite tasted like Heaven. This girl really knows what she’s doing in the kitchen that’s for sure 🙂

I’m Thankful For… My Body. Even though I feel as if I’ve punished it in a way, it’s never given up on me. I know I over-exercised & under-ate, but that never stopped my body from functioning. It still allowed me to swing my arms in all directions, run the miles I was putting in. Yes, I may be suffering now from the under-eating, but is that my body’s fault? Absolutely not, it’s mine. But you know what… without my body “stopping” my period, I wouldn’t have known I even had a problem.

I’m Thankful For… The knowledge of being grateful and having choices. I was brought up in a home that embraced what being grateful is all about. They taught my brother & I the good from the bad, the right from the wrong. They made us understand that life isn’t handed to you. You have to work for it. There many be times where you just want to throw in the towel, and use the simple excuse “This is too hard”, but knowing that I CAN do this when there are people in other countries that don’t have the chance, it truly makes you want to achieve the task 10 x more. It breaks my heart to see those who live on the streets. Yes some may have put themselves there, but you have to remember that’s not the case for all. Be thankful that you have a house to come home to each & every day. A place where you can get a delicious home cooked meal, and a goodnight’s rest. That’s the thing about life, you never truly know when something can be taken from you.

 

 

 

  • Have you ever “punished” your body?
  • What are YOU Thankful For today? 




74 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday #3

  1. This is once again a wonderful Thankful Thursday- waiting until midnight here so I can link up to you 🙂
    I definitely have “punished” my body before… I probably still do, to some extent, in terms of the amount I exercise and the amount of time I give myself for recovery. I plan on taking a long break from the constant pounding next month. It will be tough but it’s my way of saying “thanks” to my body.
    Have a great day, girl! You’re always so inspirational ❤

  2. I love tat post! It’s so important that our body gives us signals so we realize that we are on a wrong track! I did punish my body a lot, and still do in some way. I am in this over-exercising thing and need to cut down. It’s not easy but our bodies will thank us!

  3. Thank YOU girly and I’m so glad you liked them [I hope you’re being honest and they weren’t a flop haha] 😛 I totally can relate to your second thankful thought and I certainly have put my body through some awful times but I try not to look back, so looking forward I know that I will try my best to listen to my body’s wants and give it what it needs!

    • Ha Ha, of course I’m being honest! I even made them yesterday. Have you seen Heather’s (kissmybroccoli) new pancake recipe? ah I’m dying to try that one too. I swear between the two of you, I’m about to turn into one big pancake!

      All you can do is look forward. No need to waste your time thinking of your past. 🙂

  4. What a great list!! I am definitely also thankful for my body for allowing me to do most of the things I set out to. I should treat it better sometimes though so that’s a goal of mine.

    I’m definitely thankful for a home and family and love in my life! Especially now with all the damage from the storm I appreciate it even more! You rock girl, great post!

  5. Excellent list! I’ve definitely punished my body before by overusing it and not giving it the fuel it needed! I a happy to say I no longer do this and am able to cherish everything I have been given!

  6. This Thursday, I’m thankful for realizing that I’m STILL punishing my body, but just in a different way than I was before. I’m thankful for realizing that life is not about the number of moments you make or about the number of seconds you spent living, but rather the quality of each and every one of those moments and seconds. I’m thankful for the encouragement and support that I receive every single day. And I’m thankful that my body hasn’t yet given up on me, and therefore, I have not given up on myself.
    Thank you, Jessie-Belle, for reminding us to be thankful!! ❤

    • Love your list Chel. I wish your body could talk, because right now it’d be thanking you in more ways than one 🙂 You’ve been doing such a wonderful job with limiting your exercising & upping your intake. I can’t even begin to tell you how proud of you I am!!

  7. Pingback: Give and Take « ForgottenBeast

  8. Great post! I definitely punished my body for years and still do from time to to (I think all women do, sadly). Even if it’s just emotional punishment. We are so hard on our own bodies!
    I am thankful that my body is able to move, and run and do all of the things I love 🙂
    Happy Thursday!!

  9. Yes! I constantly give my body stretching time so I can attempt to understand what’s going on. I feel sometimes we put so much pressure on ourselves to keep up and right now my body needs to rest so I’ve been doing pilates and yoga to de stress but still workout! I want to join in next week!!

    Have a grateful weekend

    Courtstar

  10. My body has definitely “punished” me in the past! I had amenorrhea for a year and they never really figured out the cause… still a mystery, but I think I was probably not eating enough and exercising too much. I’m just thankful I’m healthy again. You’ll get there soon too 😀

  11. Thank YOU for an open and honest post–and for arranging this link-up! And I know your changes are hard, but they are definitely not too hard for you–if you can run miles, you can not run miles and put your energy towards making the healthy choices you need to make!

  12. Great post girl! I am thankful for a ton personally, but those pancakes look amazing. I could seriously eat 100000 pancakes and now I’m craving them…I’m glad you are on the mend my friend (hey that rhymes). Have a great day!

    • Ha Ha you are too funny (both your rhyming and your pancake obsession). Have you seen Heather’s (kissmybroccoli) new post? If not, you must check it out. She just posted an awesome pancake recipe that I just know you’d love!

  13. I love the part about having choices. I often lose sight of this and try to remind myself that I am so lucky that I even have the opportunity to do things that others can’t (even if I complain it’s too “hard” or whatever). You have a very wonderful head on your shoulders 🙂 And yes I definitely punished my body at one point in my life and I am just thankful that I am now aware of how important it is to take care of ourselves in the right ways. Luckily bodies are resilient and can bounce back with a little TLC

  14. Great post Jessie 🙂 And that is such a great way of thinking about it.. periods stop to warn you something is up. I have definitely punished my body… not something I’m proud of but glad I too was able to change that 🙂

  15. I’ve definitely “punished” my body before. Not something I’m proud of – I’ve also punished myself for things that are out of my control. I stress myself out way too much over things I simply cannot change. I found this quote; “Sometimes we have to let things go, simply because they are heavy” and that could not be more true.

    I’m so thankful for the home I was brought up in, too! Have a great day!

  16. Such beautiful and truthful words! This post made me tear up…but in a good way. You’re right—we are blessed beyond measure to have access to warm food and shelter. All the little things that we stress about—fitting into skinny jeans, smudged makeup, a bad hair day, a poor test grade—are so trivial compared to the stressors the majority of people in this world face every single day. We’re truly blessed to be stressed. But wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could release the stress and instead focus on gratitude? Thanks for that reminder, Jessie!

    I spent years punishing my body, and now I’m paying for it. However, instead of regretting the past, I’m focusing on nourishing my body now so that it will be healthy in the future. The past is over; what I can control is the present and the years to come!

    Huge hugs, and happy Thursday! xoxo ❤

    • I think looking forward and into the future is what everyone should do. I mean what’s the point of looking in your past? It’ll get you no where, and just cause more stress on your body both mentally and physically. You’re doing such an amazing job Sara. I wish I could tell you every day how proud of you I am.. because I so would! 🙂 🙂

  17. I have definitely pushed my body and am experiencing consequences from that. But I love your outlook on still being thankful for your body. I am so grateful for my body as well! Thanks for this great post and good reminders!! 🙂

  18. It is one thing to live in this body but another to know how to drive it, how it likes to move …what it feels as punishment and what it feels as pleasure.

    Before we feel completely safe and at ease driving a car, we have to drive it around the block, into town and back a few times and maybe a trip or two on the highway. We have to become one with the car, know how far to push it, know its limits, its character, its funny little ways, what it likes and what makes it breaks down on us.

    Our bodies are no different.

    Feeling safe in your own skin, is to know our body, to move with and in it, to nourish, honour and cherish it, take pleasure and pride in “owning” it …yes, just like that car outside that you are so very proud of and your heart bursts every time you get behind the wheel and take it for a drive… singing with a contented heart.

    I have just started to discover that my body likes to move in the same way as my spirit. You see, I’ve alwys looooved fast paced sports, and I’ve always looooved and wanted a super fast sports car 🙂 Naturally, I wanted my body to be the same. However, I can’t continue to punish my body, taking it to the extreme and getting all sweaty…

    Movement for me now has to be well – full of childish freedom and fun! No more pushing it to the limit – it doesn’t like it anymore.

    My body has started to thank me, knowing that I’ve finally started to realize this about myself.

    Love you Jessie bear! Thank you for being YOU!! XO M

    • && thank you Maria for being the person you are. For leaving me the sweetest, kindest & most heartwarming comments. For believing in not only me, but YOU! For being the most wonderful mom to your precious boy ❤

  19. Love all of your thankful things! I’m going to be giving that pancake recipe a try for sure! Thanks for hosting. 😉

    • I couldn’t agree more! I just hope everyone knows that they don’t always have to punish their bodies both physically & mentally. I strongly believe that life is all about moderation & balance.

      Thanks hunnie ❤ I hope you had the most marvelous weekend

  20. girl I punish my body every time I hit the soccer field. I jump up for headers I know I cant win, I make slide tackles in hard dirt, and I almost never ice post game. Something even worse? If I get cut on the field, I will shove dirt in it to stop the bleeding. If the ref sees you bleeding they kick you off the field. I cover mine up so I dont have to leave the field!! Gross, I know.

  21. Mwee! Always love reading about the good in other people’s lives 😀 I’m so, so thankful for my body not giving up on me as well. I’ve definitely put it through way more punishment than it deserves, but thankfully it’s never given up on me and continues to heal as I treat it better. Bodies are pretty amazing and forgiving things 🙂

  22. I love these posts! It feels so good to take some time to be grateful! I especially love the part about having choices, so true.
    I definitely punish my body too. Not enough sleep, intense exercise and trying to fit too many things into a day definitely start to take a toll on my body! Sometime I forget that if I don’t take care of it then it won’t last me very long.

  23. This is such a good idea Jessie and I love reading all of your positive musings! (Haven’t written that word in a while and it looks so funny). I abused my body when I was training for my half marathon, expecting it to manage a hectic working day with three hours of exercise some days. I don’t even know why I did it. Your blog has helped me realise that it’s not wrong for me to step back and stop punishing myself. There is more to life than scales, counting calories and obessing over every morsel that you eat. So I guess I’m thank ful for you and your blog today 😉 xx

    • Ha Ha, i haven’t seen that word used in quite some time.

      Thank you so much for this comment. I wish you could understand just how deep this touched me. You are such an incredible person. I think it’s absolutely amazing that you’ve been able to see the little things in life (scales, calories, what you eat) aren’t worth stressing over ❤

  24. I am totally out of the loop on this!! I didn’t even know this link up went official!! lol That’s what happens when you are MIA from the blogging world for so long!! Next week I am definitely joining in! And I think we all abuse our bodies at some point in life, whether we are aware of it or not! We take for granted what we can do physically until something bad happens. But sometimes it takes an injury or something to realize what you are doing! I know it did for me….many many times!

Leave a Reply

