What is Healthy?

On my walk this morning I started thinking, what does it truly mean to be “healthy”. I feel as if you hear the question: “What does healthy mean?” almost daily. I think some people will argue that being healthy strictly means eating well & exercising 4-5 days a week. However, I’m a part of the group that would disagree.

To me, living a healthy life isn’t just about the food I eat and how much physical activity I can fit it throughout the week. I truly do believe there are other factors that are just important, such as:

  • Having peace and confidence within you. If you don’t believe you are a beautiful & strong woman, than how will you fight off the negatives?

  • Laughing, and interacting with others. Without family & friends, what are you besides lonely?

  • Getting the proper amount of sleep during the night. Without sleep, your energy level won’t be as high throughout the day. You’ll find yourself too tired to stay focused at work, or to play and run around w/ your children.
  • Having “me” time. Everyone needs that moment, rather it be for 20 minutes a day or once a week to do exactly what YOU want to do.

So yes nourishing your body with the right amount of vegetables, fruits, dairy products & carbohydrates is healthy, there are so many other aspects that make being healthy “healthy”.

 

  • What does being healthy mean to you? 
  • Have a wonderful & fun weekend everyone! 
84 thoughts on “What is Healthy?

  1. Such a fantastic post girl! Thank you! I couldn’t agree more with your aspects of being healthy. My healthy thing each day is a morning meditation (20min) and a piece of chocolate as an afternoon or bedtime snack! 🙂

  2. It’s funny — had you asked me this question a month ago, I would have answered it completely differently. But now, it’s eating my veggies and dessert. It’s getting a little less sleep one night because you’re in the middle of a deep and meaningful conversation that you don’t want to end. It’s getting a little more sleep another night because you need it. It’s loving your body for what it can do, not hating it for it’s imperfections. It’s being excited about cupcakes!! It’s meeting new people and embracing new experience. And it’s working out when your body says that it’s good and ready and not feeling guilty about taking a break.
    I love your perspective and your insight. Can’t wait to hear back from you!!! Love ya, lovely lady!! ❤

  3. I love the “laugh and live” quote you included in this post. One of my favorites. Being healthy is something I remind myself is multi-faceted. It encompasses mental, emotional and physical health. All three are very important, and no one piece should be overlooked. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  4. To me being healthy is drinking lots of water, eating right, traveling the world (that helps me learn more about others, going to church or reading the bible, running (lots of running) and trying new things every week…oh and playing games. Games help your mind think better, they help your competitive side come out and they help you laugh!

    Great post!

    xoxo from Trinidad

    • I think comparing ourselves to others is so easy these days, especially being apart of a healthy blogging community. You see others meals, others workouts and can’t help but think “dang, i really am eating terrible”. However, that’s not the case at all.. we just have to remind ourselves of that. ❤

  5. I completely agree that you need all of those things to be healthy! Once you’re confident with yourself and love yourself, you can be truly a healthy, well-balanced Individual. Thanks for reminding us of that 🙂 have a great day girl ❤

  6. Learning that all of these things mean health, not just fitness and healthy eating, has been HUGE for me over the last couple of years. Huge and so TRUE! We can work out and eat veggies til the cows come home but if we are doing all that and are alone, or unhappy, or not at peace with our selves, what does it all mean? Really, not much! A life full of good company, happy feelings, inner peace – that is what I consider to be healthy.

  7. I wholeheartedly agree: health is SO much more than macros and minutes logged on the treadmill. It’s balance; it’s recognizing your limits and challenging your assumptions; it’s enjoying a piece of cheesecake; it’s setting aside time to prepare a special meal; it’s taking a walk with a friend; it’s listening to your body and trusting that you know yourself better than anyone else. 😀

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Jessie! Love ya, girl! ❤ xoxo

  8. I couldn’t agree more. I think people have very skewed ideas of health and that is why there are so many disorders and fads out there. It is refreshing to see this kind of reminder of what health really is. To me, health is personal and something I never want to take for granted again.

  9. I really wish that people would realize that there’s so much more to health than just taking care of our physical bodies, especially because we tend to start obsessing over eating and exercising in the perfect way, which just goes on to stress us out and cause more problems than it fixes. Great post, love! You definitely have a healthy outlook on things 😀

    • I’m with you girl. I find it so sad that people truly do believe that the only part of “healthy” is eating well & working out like crazy. I mean I’ll be honest, I thought the same thing for the longest time. I’m just so grateful that I’ve realized that there is other elements involved.

  10. I completely agree with you. There was a time in my life where looking back the amount I was exercising and eating was probably the most “healthy” on paper, but oh boy was I FAR from “healthy” in my definition. Healthy to me now means so much more – it’s just as much a mental thing as it is physical. I think the most important component to me of being healthy is now feeling HAPPY. When I’m happy, I know that I am treating my body right, but also not restrictive or depriving it in any way, and I am also doing things I love and having good relationships with the people I care about. I love this post because it’s something I think about a lot too!

    • Couldn’t agree with you more girl. Before being diagnosed with HA, I thought I was healthy.. and just like you, quickly learned that that wasn’t the case whatsoever. I love that you wrote being healthy is feeling Happy. You are so beautiful Hayley!

  11. I love this. I’m taking a Somatics class (basically studying mind/body connections) and we just did a section on nourishment. We talked about how nourishment is so much more than how much exercise you get and the food you eat. There are so many other factors that impact you mentally and emotionally and your mental/emotional state has a much bigger impact on your physical health than many people think.

  12. God this post is brilliant. I know so many people (myself included, FOR SURE) spend so much time reading about what to eat and how to exercise but completely neglect mental health/sleep/and other huge factors in health. Awesome reminder.

    • I know what you mean. I too find myself from time to time reading other blogs and am like “wow, i must not be healthy.. i mean look at their meals & their workouts”. That’s just when ya gotta kick yourself in the butt & tell yourself to snap outta it 🙂

  13. I agree 100% that spiritual health, sleep, etc. are huge factors that play into being as healthy as possible. Though eating well and moving our bodies is important, they’re definitely not the only things that make up the equation of “healthy”!

  14. Yes yes yesssss. So true. All of this. I think balance is the key word for my life. Balance between EVerYthinG! Balance between my diet, my me time, my fun time, my laugh time..ALL of it needs to balance out to ensure I am living the healthiest way I can!

  15. You’re positivity is so inspiring, Jessie 🙂

    I think that health is something unique to each person. It’s so common for women in our world to compare themselves to each other, and I think that this is one of the most dangerous things – no two people can be compared! Everyone is beautiful in their own way, and I think health is the ability to be able to embrace who you are….definitely a mix of body and mind. In my experience, the mental aspect of health has always been so much more difficult to obtain.

    I love this post. You have such a great attitude – definitely one to be emulated!

    • Thank you so much Kaitlyn. You don’t realize how much your words mean to me <3. I absolutely love your outlook on "what is healthy". You are just as beautiful, and just as inspiring hunnie ❤

  16. Love this and I totally agree with you! Healthy is much more than just what you eat. To me it’s maintaing a balance between healthy eating, staying active, spending time with loved ones, laughing and enjoying life 🙂

  17. aww I love this Jessie (first off.. totally missed reading your posts this week!!) and I totally agree. To me, healthy is being happy and when you find peace with yourself that’s when you not only look healthiest, but are the healthiest version of you.

  18. Hi Jessie! I’m so glad you left me a comment as it led me to your lovely blog! This is just the kind of post I needed to read today. So often we associate healthy with eating the “right” kinds of food..but you’re absolutely right! We don’t exist just to eat (although some may beg to differ)..every aspect of our lives matter!

  19. Jessie, Thank you for asking this. It’s funny because I used to look at people, thinking I was the healthy: judging or making quick assumptions about a person because of what they were eating, or doing to their body when I would never do that to myself. For a long time, I believed that being going to the gym 5 times a week, drinking tons of water, and restricting myself to eat only the most natural, organic foods, and not smoking (which I used to do) meant I was healthy. Turns out I wasn’t so healthy afterall.

    There is so much more to being healthy than just weight loss/maintenance, diet/exercise. I believe it’s all about your beliefs: The most empowering lesson that I’ve been learning is that all the negative ideas that I have about myself, those thoughts that define how I feel, how I behave, and that are responsible for my health issues, are not healthy. All given to me by others; by my parents, my teachers, my friends, and society. The amazing thing is, I don’t have to keep carrying the burden of other people’s ideas because I can easily end my suffering by throwing them out with the rest of the rubbish!

    Discovering this has been the start of my healing journey. I’ve spent so much time exploring the inner world of my ideas, focusing so much on the ideas that create the emotions of self-hatred and unworthiness…you know what I’m talking about; those almost obscure, murky feelings that make us unable to speak up for ourselves, bully people, feel superior to others, feel inferior to others, play the victim, start wars, thieve, and rape; those feelings that make us greedy, sharp-tongued, back-stabbing, deceitful, disloyal, betraying and all the other horrible traits that make us human.

    With my own inner explorations, I find thoughts that make me feel small, inferior and unable to make something of my life. When I discard them, I begin to flourish, and achieve all the dreams I’d ever dared to dream for in this life. But for this to work effectively, I have to OWN my beliefs. Though they had been passed on to me, I am the one who holds on to them and gives them life by believing them.

    No idea has life if you don’t believe in it, and for me, no longer choosing to champion my inherited ideas has already changed everything. Getting to the point where I can look at myself and say “I am healthy” begins with first being able to accept that “I am important. I am just as important as the next person. No one on this earth is more important than anyone else. I am here, living my life in full visibility to the people who matter.”

    I know I am.

    And so are you!
    xo

    • Maria, I’m completely blown away & at complete loss of words. Your answer is so meaningful, so empowering to me. I find myself looking up to you each time I read a post or comment from you. Thank you for that ❤

  20. This is so true Jessie! Healthy means being able to enjoy my life and feeling well. I want to wake up feeling refreshed not tired in the morning. I want to be able to carry my shopping bags up stairs without being out of breath. I want to play with young relatives and not have to sit down. I don’t want to count calories, I don’t want to beat myself up if I have a ‘bad’ food day, I don’t want to feel unaccomplished because I haven’t exercised for a certain amount of time. To me, that is what makes me healthy – healthy in mind, healthy in body.

  21. So so true. All of this. Health is much more than a number on a scale or on the back of your pants. Its a feeling. When my mental health, spiritual health and physical health are all aligned, that is when I truely feel at my best. Of course its hard to balance all of those things, but not completely impossible. I just have to remember my blessings, remember that God loves me, and remember that food is NOT an enemy.

  22. Awesome post!! Laughter is definitely important to the health factor. 🙂 I agree with you that healthy is just more than what you eat and how much you exercise. It’s the WHOLE you… and I’m so glad that more people are realizing this these days! 🙂

  23. I agree with this wholeheartedly though I would add physical activity to the list. Healthy is without a doubt more than how often we exercise but I still believe that people need to exercise their bodies a couple of times a week. I don’t think this needs to be a strenuous workout – a simple walk would do. Just something to get us off the couch and moving!

  24. Great post! I love how you pointed out what true health is!! Being healthy to me is being able to have a good nights sleep, being able to enjoy coffee and whatever food I want (as I do not have any particular disease that causes my diet to be limited and don’t have any food allergies), and just simply being able to speak to and reach out to my patients and others I see daily!

  25. What a great post! I find that in the healthy living blogging world, people put a lot of emphasis on healthy = eating right 95% of the time and exercising for hours on end. I don’t live my life like that and I feel bad about myself if I’ve skipped a few days workout or eaten a ton of chocolate and other people are talking about how super healthy they are because they ate perfectly that day. Sometimes it’s a little disheartening. But it’s so great to see someone talk about how health is more than that! I love this post! I agree that it’s about being happy, spending time with your loved ones and doing what you enjoy.

    • Thanks Bec! I find that sometimes reading other Healthy Living Blogs can put you down.. especially when you are having one of those days where you can’t help but eat that cheeseburger and skip out on a workout. I just think that’s when it’s important that we understand that it’s okay to take a day off. I mean life is about balance right??

  26. I couldn’t agree more. Eating right and exercise are only part of it. Part of being healthy is enjoying life. Spending time with family and friends, eating chocolate and drinking wine 🙂

  27. Great motivational quotes and an awesome post about the value of balance. I agree with all of your points and would add to it some quality relationship time with girlfriends, parents, coworkers, boyfriends… Whomever, just as long as you are connecting and listening and being heard.

  28. Pingback: Marvelous is simple « runningonjava

  29. You said it girl! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this post. No words are truer…What’s the point of being healthy if you’re not happy??!

  30. I love this post. I’ve been thinking of doing as similar one.

    Yes, health is about eating right and exercising. But it’s about having a healthy mindset as well. For me it’s about ensuring my skin is healthy as I have eczema. Ensuring I sleep well so I don’t get migraines, but the better I eat the less migraine attacks I have as well. I sometimes don’t get out of the house on a weekend because I don’t want to be faced with high calorie food and drinks, but that is actually unhealthy I think. I’ve realised when I go to the cinema I don’t have to get popcorn, I can make do with a bottle of water and sometimes I take my own snacks like fruit, nuts or a protein bar.

  31. Pingback: Thankful Thursday #6 |

Leave a Reply

