Chocolate Zucchini Bread & A Survey

Happy Friday Everyone!

I don’t know how your day has started, but my goodness mines been hectic. One of the biggest downfalls about living in Kuwait is their holidays. They come at the most random times, and I never know what places will or will not be open. This morning I was trying to find an electronic store to get my husband talk time (money on his cell phone), and literally went to three different stores. Thankfully I came home to a smoothie in the freezer waiting for me :).

Earlier this week I talked about this amazing Chocolate Zucchini Bread I’ve been eating all week. Well for all of you who asked for the recipe, here it is. Enjoy! 

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt (omit if you’d like)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg, 1 egg white
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 3/4 cup splenda
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/3 cup grated zucchini

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cooking spray into a bread pan.
  • Grate zucchini
  • In a lg. bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder and cinnamon
  • In another bowl, beat eggs, applesauce, vanilla extract, splenda, and brown sugar
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix well
  • Fold in zucchini, and any additional ingredients you may want to add (walnuts would be good I’d imagine)
  • Pour batter into bread pan
  • Bake anywhere between 45-50 minutes.

There you have it. It’s so simple. I promise you if you have a husband whose against zucchini, he won’t even know it’s in there 🙂 Joshua actually really enjoyed it, and kept complimenting on how moist it was!

Moving on… Yesterday I came across this fun survey on Alex’s page who blogs over at TheRunWithin. Have you guys ever visited her page? If not, you definitely should. She’s currently working 2 jobs, and still manages to run 50+ miles a week. I’m not sure where she finds all this energy, but she does! Bless her heart 🙂 Oh & did I mention the fact that’s she’s awesome and a total sweetheart??

A is for age: Twenty Three. I’ve come to realize 23 is one of those years that feel just like all the others.

B is for breakfast today: I cannot get over how much I’ve been changing my breakfast meals up lately. For about 2 years, I would have a smoothie every single morning. However, since upping my calorie intake those have been put off until Meal #2. This morning I had a big cereal/yogurt mix. I mixed one vanilla yogurt w/ a serving of Barbara Original Puffin Cereal, and 1 tablespoon peanut butter.

C is for currently craving: Nothing really. I’m actually eating my smoothie right now, so I’m rather content.

D is for dinner tonight: Something incorporating shrimp. Anyone of have a good recipe you want to share with me?

E is for favorite type of exercise: Running. However, since I’ve been sidelined from running, I’ve really started to enjoy my everyday walks.

F is for an irrational fear: Not being able to become pregnant for years. Being kidnapped

G is for gross food: Olives. Ehh just the thought of them makes me crinch

H is for hometown: York Haven, Pennsylvania. It’s a pretty small town. I’m not even sure if it’s on the map

I is for something important:Continuing to nourish my body with the food & rest it needs in order for my husband and I to start a family.

J is for current favorite jam: Not sure if this question is in regards to music or food. I don’t listen to music often, so I’m going to say strawberry jam.

K is for kids: Love them, and cannot wait to have my own

L is for current location: Mahboula, Kuwait.

M is for the most recent way you spent money: I really only spend money on food & taxi fares.

N is for something you need: My husband. He’s my strength, and the reason I smile day in & day out. Without him, I’d be nothing.

O is for occupation: Housewife.

P is for pet peeve: Ha, I could go on & on with pet peeves of mine. However, I’ll only share a few.

  • I hate terrible drivers
  • I hate when taxi drivers try to take advantage of me. I may be American, a girl, and a blonde but don’t think for a second I don’t know how much it should cost from town to town (they don’t run the meters here often)
  • A messy kitchen. The rest of our house could be messy, but you’ll never find our kitchen messy.

Q is for a quote: I don’t have a favorite quote, however these ones have been helping me recently:

  • I may not be there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday
  • You got what it takes, but it will take everything you got
  • Be strong because things will get better. It might be stormy now, but it can’t rain forever
  • Do not give up, the beginning is always the hardest

R is for random fact about you: I hardly ever wear makeup. In fact, the only time I wear it is when the hubs & I are going out on a date.

S is for favorite healthy snack: It’s a tie; either apples & peanut butter or broccoli with a little ketchup 🙂

T is for favorite treat: I don’t believe in labeling food as a “treat”. My favorite “unhealthy” food would be chips & salsa.

U is for something that makes you unique: I don’t have a clue. Maybe the fact that I can’t whistle?

V is for favorite vegetable: Broccoli & Brussel Sprouts!

W is for today’s workout: 20 minute walk with Roxy

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Oh my heavens, I’ve had so many. The most of them have been on my arms/hand though. Did I ever tell you I’ve had 7 broken arms/hands??

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: The hubs & I catching up on Tuesday’s night Sons of Anarchy episode. Does anyone else watch this show? If not, you should!!

Z is for your time zone: I don’t have a clue? I know that’s terrible.

If your still with me, I hope you enjoyed getting to know me a bit better. I’ve always loved these type of surveys. I think it’s such a wonderful way of learning more & more about each other. I’d love to hear some of your answers. Pick two or three & share 🙂

Have a wonderful Friday, and enjoy the weekend ❤

108 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Bread & A Survey

  1. Thanks for the delish zucchini chocolate bread recipe!! 😀 Love the survey! Can’t believe you’ve had SEVEN broken arms/hands!! I’ve only had 2 broken bones in my life, but one (my ankle) still haunts me to this day. I’m thinking one of these days I’m going to need surgery, but that’s scary & expensive… I also get peeved when I’m traveling internationally and get ripped off left and right. I spent some time volunteering in Kenya several years back and it was always an issue with the bus fare – every.single.time :/. My husband also HATES olives, but I LOVE them!! 😀 I know this is weird, but I don’t like to eat candy from other countries. One time I was in China and a sweet woman I met there bought me a popsicle on the street and it was green bean flavored. Interesting to say the least. I think it’s more of a mind thing than a taste thing though ;).

  2. Pingback: Who Knew … A Now and Then Survey

  3. Pingback: Saturday’s Marvelousities on Sunday!! « Fit Swiss Chick

  4. Pingback: Marvelous in my Monday « Fit Swiss Chick

Leave a Reply

