Bad & Good + WIAW

Happy Hump Day Everyone! Is it just me or is this week creeping by? I’ll be honest, I was kinda bummed after I realized it was only Wednesday when I woke up this morning. If you can’t tell, I’m ready for the weekend!

Sorry for being MIA yesterday. It was one of those days where things would go good, and then turn bad. Here’s a few examples:

  • Good: Had an awesome chocolate strawberry smoothie for breakfast
  • Good: My momma called. It was so wonderful to hear her voice!
  • Good: Not only is my best friend, Sandra sending me a care package but my momma is sending one too
  • Good: I had an another awesome run. Yay for 2 in a row
  • Bad: Blender blew
  • Bad: Had to dish out $140.00 for a new one
  • Bad: I couldn’t stop thinking about my whole health issue. I know there is nothing I can do about it until I get results, but this whole waiting game SUCKS!  I’m not one to complain or whine on my blog, but guys I’m at the point where I wanna know what’s going on :(. I would love to start a family soon with my husband, and just knowing that it may not be happening anytime soon is the hardest thing to digest. Luckily for me, I have the most wonderful husband who has constantly reassured me everything will be okay. He’s been my rock through all of this. He’s been there to wipe away my tears, and hold me tight as if he’ll never let go. If it wasn’t for him, I’m not sure what I’d do. He’s not only my husband or best friend, he’s my complete world. (If your reading this babe, I love you & thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you’ve done not only for me, but for us).

Well now that I just went completely sappy on y’all, let’s move on to WIAW hosted by the wonderful Jen @PeasandCrayons.

Breakfast: Chocolate Strawberry & Banana Smoothie: 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 banana, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 cup milk, & lot of ice. (please do not mind my morning “I just crawled outta bed” look). 

Lunch: Subway: 6 inch Turkey Sub on Honey oat with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, green peppers and pepper. This may have been my favorite meal yet this week. You know when you’ve been craving a certain something for a while, and when you finally get it it’s like heaven? Yup this was mine!

Dinner: Salad: Lettuce, cucumber, tomato, red pepper, broccoli, beanfields nacho beans & rice chips & pineapple salsa.

Now before you go thinking “that’s all she ate.. does this girl not eat?”.Note that I didn’t post my midday snacks. I forgot to take pictures, so therefore there is no need to share.

Workout: 9 awesome miles! I was contemplating on walking Roxy, but just never got around too it. I know that may make me sound like the worst “mom” ever, but it was one of those days where I just wanted to lay down & watch cooking shows all day. That doesn’t make me a terrible person does it??

 

  • What’s the best thing you’ve eaten all week?
  • If you eat @ subway, do you always order the same thing? I always do. Why change it up if it works??
90 thoughts on “Bad & Good + WIAW

    • Oh it’s not on the way, I got it haha! So far it’s working good 🙂

      Thanks girl. I’m trying to focus on being more healthy, and not let it stress me out… but my goodness it’s not the easiest!

  1. Your subway sandwich looks excellent. Mine never come out that good haha. What you wrote about your husband was just lovely. I’m so sorry to read about what you are going through – you are a totally lovely person and definitely do not deserve to feel any pain whatsoever. I am so sorry to hear about it. I am glad you have such a lovely husband to help you through it. I hope you hear the results soon. Xox

  2. So sorry to hear that you’ve been in distress how over your health:( Keep holding on and trusting that all things will ultimately work out for good!

    My swim coach ordered us subway sandwiches for every single meet…since college, I haven’t eaten subway at all because I got so sick of it! Haha. I love it back then, though! I always ordered a veggie sandwich, and he would freak out that I wasn’t getting enough protein 😉 I would aaalllways have to tell him, “Don’t worry coach – I’ve got other snack!”

    • This was such an encouraging comment, and just what I needed to hear!

      Ha Ha, that’s too funny! I went through a phase where I ate subway to much and ended up sick of it as well. Thankfully I’m past that phase, and can eat it again!

  3. sorry for the blender issues and the health frustrations 😦 i don’t know exactly how you feel but i can definitely sympathize with wanting to just know what’s wrong. i’m sending you good vibes and hoping that you find out sooner rather than later.

    also, i totally feel you on the subway – i crave a hearty sandwich regularly and sometimes making one yourself just won’t cut it. maybe it would if i could get myself a subway-style toaster. i can never get my sandwich to taste nearly as toasty and delicious at home.

  4. Hang in there Jessie, I am sorry you are experiencing such an issue though, I do understand 😦 Although I am not trying to start a family at times time, it is in the works sometime in the future! Best of luck lady
    Oh and haha yes to subway…. I get the same thing too but it’s just so good I can’t stop! Turkey on the wheat bread toasted, with provolone, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers a few red onions, and honey mustard…I had it recently as a matter of fact! Perfection

    • Tessa, thank you so much for taking your time to comment. You are too sweet.. and my best wishes go out to you as well! I hope you are starting to figure it all out too xo.

      I usually always get red onion too, but had totally forgot to tell the guy yesterday.. FAIL!

  5. Hi Jessie,

    I haven’t had a period in a long time either.. it stopped during my anorexia, then it got back after I gained back the weight, but when my dad suddenly died in 2009 it stopped again as a reaction to the trauma. I haven’t had a period since 😦 I’m also worried every now and then. I have low estrogen levels and that’s probably why I’m not having a period, yet my GP isn’t sure if that’s all there’s to it (my levels aren’t that low…in comparison to normal levels)..
    How long haven’t you had your period for? Good luck with all!

    Much love, X, Leanne

    • Oh hunnie, I am so sorry to hear about your dad. I couldn’t even imagine the toll it must have taken on you. Just know he’s in a happy place and will always be your guardian angel xo.

      Have you gotten lab work done lately to try to figure out what’s going on?

      I got off birth control in May and haven’t had it since. I kinda feel like the only reason why I even had a period was because of the birth control ya know

      • Thanks Jessie for your supportive words 🙂 It’s been very hard indeed (and still is) and I do know – and hope – dad’s with me and mum as an angel now. As for the lab work, I have to get my second test next week. I’ll let you know once the results are in. The GP told me i might have to go on birth control to get my period back.. and that my body would be (hopefully) able to get a cycle going on it’s own once I’ve had the birth control hormones to stimulate the process… hearing your story, I doubt if that will happen. For how long did you take birth control? It’s odd not having your period right? It has it’s advantages, but it makes you feel insecure at the same time, I think… XO

      • I’m hoping it doesn’t happen, but if I have to go back on to get a cycle I’m for anything. I was on birth control for, oh wow.. 5 yrs?? It is so weird not having your period.. I mean i’m not missing the period whatsoever, but I do get cramps during the time when my period would come. Was that how it was for you?

  6. I just found your blog and was wondering if you’ve read anything about hypothalmiclow amenorrhea? It sounds, from what I’ve read on your blog, that it would be something to consider. I recently found out I have it…even though all my blood work came back ‘normal’. Just wanted to let you know it may be something to consider. I wish you the best of luck!

    • Hi Karla, Thank you so much for stopping by my blog & giving your input. I have read some about it, and do see that my signs are similar. I’m going to the gyno on Saturday and will hopefully find out a little bit more. I’ll definitely mention it to him though & see what he thinks. Thank you so much for your support. You are a sweetheart xo

  7. I’m so sorry to hear that you are worried about your health, I am going through exactly the same thing and it is so worrying. I was reading an article in Women’s Running that said it happens to a lot of runners and to go to the doctor about it and consider a more low impact exercise routine. I couldn’t do that pre-half but am starting it now and will let you know if there’s any improvement!
    The best thing I’ve eaten this week is… the chicken, avocado and walnut salad I had on Saturday. It was sublime!
    Hope your care packages arrive soon!

    • Yes please let me know how the low intensity works for you,and if it makes any changes.

      I really don’t want to give up my high mileage weeks, but if it comes down to it.. obviously I will.. SIGH 😦

  8. I’m sorry this situation is giving you such stress. Try your best to stay positive- I know the waiting game sucks, but you will find out what’s going on soon and then can tackle a plan to fix it 🙂 You are a very strong person and I know you will get through this!
    Smoothie looks super yummy- you should change your blog name to “Jessie loves to run (and make smoothies)” haha.

  9. awww girl keep your head up! things will get better for sure. I hate waiting too! You have an awesome hubby though and a great support system through blogging! If you need anything let me know!(:

    Your foods look delicious! I love subway! It is so yummyyyy!

  10. Everything will get better. Promise. Just stay in there and things will turn out the way they are meant to be. In the meantime, enjoy your awesome looking smoothies. And enjoy those talks with your mom. I know a call from my mom just makes my whole day better!

  11. Girl I feel you on the health issues!! I have a $940 health bill and STILL no answers as to whats wrong, talk about frustrating!! Im just holding on to the fact that I can still workout, still enjoy food, still live my life the way I always have you know? Im so blessed with what I have. Sometimes we have to really focus on that 🙂
    And that smoothie looks AMAZING!

    • Oh no!!! why such a high bill? Oh you poor thing! Your gonna have to sell a friggen leg to pay that one off, haha!

      But yes, you are right about just focusing on what we can do and have in life xo

  12. Sorry to hear that your health issues are causing you some grief, girl 😦 I know the waiting game is frustrating, but it takes time for our body to sort itself out and all we can do is make sure we’re giving it what it needs to heal properly. When I was dealing with those issues myself, my doctor told me to stop with the high intensity exercise, up my calories, and eat more fat. It was definitely uncomfortable, and scary as heck, but it worked.

    Hope you get it all figured out soon ❤

    • I’m upping my calories, and eating more fat.. but just can’t seem to give up the high intensity workouts yet. Obviously I’ll have too if the doctor thinks thats the reason, but ah it’s just so hard when running is my life.. grr this may be a time in life when I wish I was a guy haha.

  13. I hope you get some answers to what going on soon, take some rest and allow yourself to relax! I need to find one of those mugs you put your smoothies in so I can put my coffee in it! I want to see pictures of your puppy!!

  14. ummm, that smoothie looks DELICIOUS. I’m normally not too much of a smoothie girl, but I think I might have to try that one out. Also, try to stay positive! Health issues are never a good time and I hope everything works out!

  15. awww hang in there Jessie! I know it’s hard waiting around and not really knowing what’s going on with your body, but I’m sure they’ll be able to help so your dreams of having a family can come true 🙂 You have such a great support system, with your husband and all of us.. so try not to stress 🙂 xx

  16. I’m sorry about the stress you’re feeling about your health issues! Just remember that there are SO MANY ways to start a family thanks to modern medical technology. Plus, the worst thing you can do is stress. Keep your head up and keep smiling! It will all work out- it always does : ).

  17. Hang in there! Everything will work itself out if given time. Kudos to your hubby for being so wonderful!

    And I’m totally jealous that you looks that great just outta bed!! 🙂

  18. I’m sorry you’re having health issues. I know that not knowing is sometimes far worse than knowing. It took me 10 doctors and over a year before they figured out I had fibromyalgia. And then it took more doctors to figure out why I stopped getting periods. I’m also thinking about having kids soonish, so this freaked me out. Finally today, I got it. We’re Pretty sure that it was my inhaled steroids that I was taking for my asthma. I stopped using them about a month ago because I felt like they weren’t working. Glad that I did. Hang in there ❤

    • Oh hunnie, I am SO happy for you & your husband. I can’t even imagine the emotions and joy you must’ve felt to see blood! (haha). I wish you and our family the best of luck from here on out :).

  19. I love you so much babe! I’m praying for you and your hubby all the time. Keep taking care of you, and it will happen when the time is right. Also I wish I rolled out of bed looking as adorable as you haha! xoxo

  20. Hi girl….ugh blender woes and health stuff. I hear you. And I’m sorry. I am confident you will get this figured out. Maybe ease up on the running a bit? Just a suggestion. It is very common for women who run a lot to lose their period. You also are trying to gain weight, right? Just be patient and keep doing trucking along, day by day.

  21. Hopefully the results you are waiting for come sooner than later (the waiting game is no fun to play at all). I will pray for you that positive things come out of this ordeal. I am sure it is difficult with being so far from home.
    I hope today was a better day for you 🙂

  22. Ohh, I hope you get answers soon, too! It’ll all be okay, even if you have to delay life plans a little–there’s no reason to rush through it all anyway, you can just appreciate where you are right now, since it sounds like you have such a loving/supportive relationship!

    (And I want that breakfast!)

  23. Your smoothie looks amazing!! I am definitely going to make that this week! I have never been much of a chocolate protein powder girl, but lately I have been craving it! And there is NOTHING wrong with relaxing and watching cooking shows all day! It’s like my little slice of heaven too! 😉

    • Thanks girl.. let me know how ya like it 🙂 I love chocolate protein powder in my smoothies. I just purchased Strawberries & Creme from vitacost. I cannot wait for the shipment to get here to try it out 🙂

      • Ooooo! I am having a strawberry protein shake after my workout today! What brand did you buy? I use Optimum Nutrition Whey for post workout and it is delicious! 🙂 I bet you’re going to make us another delicious smoothie with this new one too!

  24. It will be ok. There is always a way for you to grow your family. I’m praying for your results to come back soon and for them to be reassuring for you.

    Your day’s eats look delicious! Wow, that is such a bummer about your blender though. I would sorely miss mine. I’m glad you got a new one. 🙂

    I understand about your husband being your whole world. Yay for great husbands! I’m glad he is helping you through this difficult time. 🙂

    God bless you!

    Oh, and you look so beautiful when you wake up in the morning. Wow!

Leave a Reply

