Fira, Greece

Another Day. Another Recap

On our second day in Santorini we visited Fira. Fira is about 15 minutes away from Kamari (where we were staying).  We went to do a little bit of shopping, but upon arriving we noticed it was a bit on the pricier side compared to Kamari. It doesn’t hurt to window shop though right? Once again, the views did not disappoint. We did a lot of walking around just taking it all in.

There was a zip-line ride that you could take from the top of the mountain down, but I was too big of a wuss. Something about going up and down a mountain in nothing but a little cart on a line didn’t sound appealing haha. In the picture below on the you can see a little walkway. That’s where a lot of the shops and restaurants were.

We didn’t stay in Fira for too long. Just enough time to see beautiful views, and venture around the town for a little bit. We were going to eat lunch there, but decided to head back to the hotel and try out places near us since we were originally planning on returning another day.

For lunch we decided on a place called “Mamma Mia’s”. It was delicious! Definitely on the top of my favorite lunch places we ate at. The atmosphere was so fun, and very welcoming. I stuck with the normal salad with chicken for lunch. The hubs tried this BBQ Sausage Pita thing? It was good, but the sauce was definitely different from anything we’ve tried before. Again, no picture! Y’all are going to start hating me for it 😦

Afterwards, we were pretty exhausted so we headed back to the room to rest a little bit. Around 3:00 is when we would head down to the hotels bar to get a drink (happy hour!!). As usual, I had Malibu & pineapple & the hubs either had some a Mytho’s Beer (Greek Beer) or Jack & Coke.

It was a pizza kinda night for dinner. I’m not one to eat pizza @ restaurants. I’d much rather make it myself, and know the ingredients and how much of something is going on top. Hubs ordered a meat pizza, and I ordered the Margherita. I’m not sure if it was because I had such high expectations or what, but unfortunately it was no good :(. I had one slice and called it quits… at least the hubs loved his :).

Even though I may have been disappointed by the food, it was impossible to stay upset for too long with another amazing dinner view. The views were by far my favorite part of this whole vacation.. even over the food.

Well that’s it for Day 2 of our trip. Hope I’m not boring you too bad with the recaps. The pictures just don’t do justice. This was definitely a time where I wish I had one of those high-tech cameras!! 

  • Do you try new foods when on vacation?
  • Ever have such high expectations on something and been disappointed? 
57 thoughts on “Fira, Greece

  1. Everything was beautiful! I am so glad you had a good time! Now Roxy will be “home” and everything will be complete! Love you and miss you!

  2. I went to Santorini a few years ago and loved every minute of it! I’m sorry you didn’t have any good food though, I was obsessed with every dish. Have you tried dolmas yet? We couldnt get enough of them! Also, the restaurant you are standing in front of on the beach had a great grilled octopus. But it’s true. It’s so gorgeous there you can’t help but enjoy it.

  3. How freakin’ gorgeous!!! Love the views. I am sorry you didn’t like your food, what a bummer.. but hey, at least the drinks were good?! ha!!! your hair is so long and pretty my fellow blondie!!! I can’t wait to read more about the trip! HAPPY FRIDAY!!

  4. Wow! Greece looks amazing. I need to get there one day. As for trying new foods on vacation…ALWAYS! I’m always looking for new foods, especially foods that are specific to the area 🙂 Looking forward to more posts of your trip!

  5. Beautiful! We almost went to Greece when we went on our Europe trip but didn’t and now I wish we would have! We stayed in Barcelona for a week and tried lots of different foods. I’m such a picky eater so I had to majorly step outside my comfort zone but wanted to immerse myself in the culture. The strangest we tried while there was pescadito fritos (sp?) We didn’t understand the server at all when he told us we should try it and when a plate of WHOLE (eyes and all) fried minnows arrived we were a little surprised. We both tried one and decided we weren’t a fan of pescadito fritos!

Leave a Reply

