Our Flight & First Evening

Our vacation started off with a 2:30 A.M. wake up call. Thankfully we had already laid out our bags @ the front door so it made our morning 10x easier & less hectic. We jumped in the cab around 3:00 and our flight left at 5:00.

After a couple of flights and 2 layovers, we finally reached our destination… Santorini Island, Greece. We headed to baggage claim, got our bags & headed to our hotel.

**Funny Story: At baggage claim, the hubs had thought he grabbed my big pink bag off the carrier, but here to find out it was another ladies bag. I’ve never seen someone run over so quickly, and give such attitude about it. I mean it was an honest mistake, and our bags looked almost identical!

After checking in & dropping off our bags the first stop was… the bar!! Who wouldn’t need a drink after a long day of traveling & not having one for months??!! ((I’m not sure why my eyes look crazy, but I promise that one drink didn’t make me drunk haha)).

I couldn’t tell ya what kinda drink that is to save my life. However, I do remember that I didn’t like it, and ended up ordering something else. There was some sort of cream in it that just didn’t set right w/ my stomach. No biggy though because the Malibu & Pineapple made up for it afterwards.

After a couple of drinks, we headed back to the room to get ready for dinner. We decided on a wonderful restaurant called Poseidon.

I ordered the chicken gyro platter, while the hubs ordered the pork gyro platter. Both of our plates were absolutely delicious! I wish I had a picture of the meal to share with y’all, but I just don’t. To be honest, I was awful @ remembering to take pictures of our meals throughout this vacation.

Our view from dinner. Gorgeous right? Seriously, I just don’t see how anyone could have a bad day with a scenery like this.

Dinner ended with two complimentary glasses of wine. Such a sweet gesture, but unfortunately neither one of us drink wine. We both tried to drink it, but couldn’t bear the taste. I’m not sure what it is about wine, but it’s never been a drink I could handle or get myself to enjoy. Anyone else feel the same way?

After dinner we walked around a little bit and headed back to the hotel. We both had a couple of drinks @ the bar & decided to call it a night. Between the early wake up, and a days worth of traveling we were both exhausted.

Where we stayed. Kamari Beach Hotel

…don’t worry there are many more recaps to come. Hope you enjoyed today’s xo

  • Have you ever traveled to another country? If so, where?
  • How do you usually spend your first day of vacation? 
72 thoughts on “Our Flight & First Evening

  1. Oh wow that is quite the wake up call! Ha I don’t think I would have been able to sleep at all
    Uhh that is pretty silly about the bags, especially if they looked so similar! Ahh well, people can be a bit nutzo about their stuff at times
    Sounds like a great first evening, looking forward to reading more!

  2. I’ve been to Cuba (and to the States!), but that’s it — you’re much more worldly than I am!
    Definitely the same with wine. The first wine I ever tried was incredbily cheap and I managed only a few sips. I’ll never, ever try it again. Blech.
    As for not taking pics of your food — I think I’d rather see amazing pics of the scenery when it comes down to it, and you have a tonne of those! Thumbs up to that!! 🙂

  3. Whenever we go to Europe, we try our hardest to stay awake until 9pm (their time) so that we can adjust to the time change. Often times we have a big meal and lots of wine.
    Was the complimentary wine you got really sweet and taste like raisins? I remember getting that in Greece. I think it’s considered a digestive.
    Looking forward to more posts!

  4. Welcome back, pretty lady!! I am jealous – I have never been to Europe and so far, the pics look amazing, I can only imagine what more is to come. That is too funny you don’t like wine – honestly, I think it is an acquired taste.. totally grows on you..haha, at least it did for me! Can’t wait to read the rest of the recaps! OH and dont blame you for not taking pics of food, THIS WAS VACATION!!!

  5. that is silly about your bags, some people can be crazy!! It looks soo pretty I am super jealous! I love wine but my best friend at college didn’t like it, she didn’t even like the smell of it! The way you feel about wine is how I feel about beer, I do not like it and I honestly try every beer to see if I will like it but I just never do!

  6. 1st off, you look great for having it be so early in the morning!! I had an early flight for our honeymoon and literally just threw my hair up and walked out the door lol Keeping the romance alive over here 😉
    The scenes are sooo gorgeous!

  7. yay! I am so happy that the recaps are finally here! (: That is so funny that your husband picked up the wrong suitcase. I can just imagine someone freaking out! haha. The view from your dinner… beautiful! I can’t even imagine! I can’t wait to read more!

  8. Funny story about your bag– you guys clearly don’t look like people who would steal someone’s luggage, so weird that she was so angry about it! I love chicken gyros and I can only imagine that they were 1000x better in Greece than they are here in the US!

  9. OH my goodness that bag is the size of you!! hahaha But the scenery is absolutely amazing!! I would love to wake up to that every day! Gorgeous! I can’t wait to see the rest of the trip details!! And I am glad you got to enjoy a drink finally!! Malibu and pineapple rocks! 😉

  10. Greece was one of the countries my hubby and I wanted to go to SOO badly on our “European Honeymoon Adventure” but we couldn’t fit it into our itinerary. 🙂 Glad I’m getting to live vicariously through you!!

    I’m not a wine drinker either, although now that we’ve moved to Washington we certainly are in wine country. And my husband does love the cheaper wine prices here!! 😉

      • Haha I hope not too much–I’d be at home drinking all day while my husband is at school, instead of continuing my job search! 😉 😉

  11. Love your pink bag it is so cute! Looks like a wonderful holiday! I’ve travelled a lot because I love it!!! First day of vacation after flying is tough because I’m usually so tired but after a big nights sleep I’m good to go!

  12. I travelled to Greece last year to run the marathon and loved it. Sadly I didn’t make it to Santorini, but the entire country and experience was amazing. I can’t wait to hear more about your trip. The first day of my vacation is spent acclimatizing and getting used to the immediate area around the hotel… after a refreshment or two.

  13. Looks like you had a great trip. On the first day of a vacation, we usually get the lay of the land and take it easy. I was a exchange student for a semester in England. Also I have been to France, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Canada and Mexico. And I can’t wait for the next trip. 🙂

  14. Wow what a gorgeous view! I’m so glad someone else doesn’t like wine. My family thinks I’m crazy because I’m pretty much a beer and vodka drinker and they go crazy for wine. Also do people think you and your husband are like celebrities? Between you and him (um, Channing Tatum much?) you must get stopped like all the time haha.

    • Ha Ha how funny that you say that.. he’s gotten Channing Tatum so much, and I alwaysss get Reese Witherspoon. It would be quite lovely to have their $$$$.

      I used to be a vodka girl, but now it’s more beer & malibu 🙂

Leave a Reply

