Guest Post #8 (Today Was A Good Day)

Hi Everybody, Meghan at Clean Eats Fast Feets here. I’m thrilled to be filling in for Jessie today, while she is off enjoying the Greek islands and perhaps a cocktail or two.

You can take it from me; Jessie is most definitely having a great time. I went to Santorini back in 2007 (so long ago; tear, tear). It was fabulous and one the best vacations imaginable: from the incredible sightseeing to the mouth-watering Mediterranean food (hello Baklava) to the breath taking views to the fun and eclectic shopping. The people are incredibly friendly, and the vibe is super chill.  All in all, it was an amazing and relaxing trip.

Just in case my one lonely paragraph didn’t convince you, let’s picture what Jessie is up to.

Right now, Jessie is likely waking up to this.

Then she’ll be running up and down the steep mountain pathways, working her glutes.

After showering (we hope), she’ll stroll down the cobblestone streets to do some shopping.  

Before hopping on a boat like this, on her way to the hot springs.

Now since we know Jessie is having a great time, I wanted to take this opportunity to share with all of you, one of my better days, and in honor of her vacation, I indulged on a Mediterranean diet this past weekend. If you want to see my fabulous Greek eats, stop on by my site and check, check, check it out. See what, what, what it’s all about.

Today Was a Good Day

In the words of Ice Cube, “it was a good day.”

In fact, it was a fan-freakin-tastic day, and here’s why.

I taught spinning. Phenomenal cosmic power and an itty bitty bike seat. Yep, you can call me Dr. Meghan from here on out (spin instructors get doctor credentials right). I rocked out with my…you can add the rest.

Our normal lunch time spin instructor was on a planned hiatus today because he’s doing a little thing called a “century ride” this weekend, so he’s supposed to rest for a few days (sissy, it’s a mere hundred miles 🙂 ), but it gave me a chance to hop on the head bike, make my own playlist (!!!), and systematically bring everyone in the class to their knees begging for mercy. Alright, I didn’t do the last part, but only because I’m not certified and didn’t want to actually hurt anyone (see, I have soft side). I was also concerned about being sued in the event anyone should get injured.

You may not know it, but I tend to do things to the extreme. It’s balls to the wall or go home (and take your puny little ball with you), so while I pretty much did the same exercises as our regular instructor, I might have pushed just a bit harder. I yelled a bit more too; told them to “stop holding back on me,” asked “who wants to get dirty,” screamed “go, go, go,” on our sprints, and even encouraged some dancing during our cool down. Forty five minutes later, people were spent and sweaty (practically a prerequisite for spinning), and they all thanked me for pushing them a bit more than usual (see, people like to be challenged). I also did nice things like remind them to drink plenty of water throughout and adjust incorrect hand positions.

Everyone, but one guy, knew I was a regular rider just like them, enjoying elevated status for a day. The one who didn’t know though, well he just about made my day. Afterwards, he told me “my class” was harder than the one at 6:00 p.m., and he liked it better. Yep, you heard right. He liked “my class” better. I didn’t want to, but I came clean and said, “I’m not a teacher, I was just filling in. Hope I didn’t hurt you. Glad you enjoyed it though.”

I think I may have found my calling. Exercise highs mixed with pump up music, and I get to yell at people. Obviously teaching one time has completely gone to my head. I’m giddy with power (or maybe it’s endorphins). I don’t care the reason; I just know it was a good day.

 

  • Have you ever taught an exercise class? Would you want to and what kind?
9 thoughts on “Guest Post #8 (Today Was A Good Day)

  1. Love that last image haha cracks me up! That is really neat you got to teach a spin class without being an actual instructor! Also, thanks for taking us through “a day in Jessie’s vacation life” haha that was really neat!

  2. I’m a spinning instructor and based upon this post, go get it girl!
    The certification (while time consuming and not cheap) is easy. What’s tough is being a good instructor (motivation people, having a presence, good tunes, thought out rides) and it sounds like you’re already on your way!
    Do it! 😀

    • Aw, thanks. I really love good food and fitness and I so badly want to help people achieve the same healthy happiness I’ve found. The beauty of spinning or any exercise is these are people, who to a degree, are there to get healthy so they’re the perfect audience.

    • Aw thanks for the encouragement. I really want to help people achieve their own level of healthy happiness, and the beauty of spinning is these are people who are looking to get healthy. It makes it so rewarding to motivate people who are already halfway there and want the same end goal for themselves.

Leave a Reply

