Guest Post #6 (Listening To Your Body)

Hey Everyone! My name is Jess and I am the blogger behind FitnJess where I write about my daily food and nutrition adventures as a new Registered Dietitian! I am SO pleased to be writing a guest post for the lovely Jessie @ JessieLovesToRun !! Thanks again Jessie for the opportunity, you are such a doll!! Please feel free to check out my blog to learn more about me and leave a comment to say hi!!

 For my guest post, I wanted to write about my experience Listening to my body and taking an extended break from running!

Let me start by saying, I am in love with running. It is a great stress reliever, starts my day out right and allows me to have “me” time. However, I got to the point where I was running 6-7 times a week and not always taking breaks when my body felt run down. I can be very competitive with myself and have somewhat of an addictive personality. I did feel the need to run most days to keep my level of fitness and to maintain a healthy lifestyle. This is obviously absurd, but everyone has their struggles. It didn’t help that running was not only my form of exercise, but really my only hobby. I told myself I needed to find other hobbies and not to be so hard on myself when I didn’t want to run or really was too tired. For me this was a learning process and unfortunately, I did have to become injured to really wake up.Earlier this past spring, I slowly started to experience pain in my hip. At first it really was not that bad; I only felt pain when I was done running. I started doing different stretches, iced my hip, etc. Some of these techniques worked, so I continued running. Some days I had pain and others I felt none, so I justified that I could keep running; however, my hip eventually got worse. I remember there were days when I was at my dietetic internship and it would hurt to walk. This is when I realized, I really need to start listening to my body. I knew that I really wanted to keep running, but I was going against my body!! I kept telling myself, if I wanted to be able to run when I am older I needed to take a break. I didn’t want to injure myself much worse and risk the chance of never being able to run again.

Since I mentioned how addicted I was to running, you can imagine how hard it would be for me to just stop “cold turkey”. That is why I didn’t do this; instead I started only running twice a week (Saturday and Sunday). During the week, I started doing online fitness videos from Jillian Michaels and http://www.blogilates.com.   

 

 Eventually, I started realizing how much I loved the blogilates videos and how Pilates was so fun! I also loved incorporating HIIT workouts into my routine. Not only were these workouts effective, but they were also quick!!

Soon enough, I realized I didn’t even feel like running on the weekends. I realized I didn’t NEED to run to stay in shape or maintain a healthy lifestyle. By taking time off and finding other ways to exercise, I was improving my health!

I still have not starting incorporating running back into my daily fitness routine; however, I will eventually as I am planning to run in a 5k with a co-worker in October. However, even when I do start running again, I will not be running more than twice a week. For me, I realize that running more than that in a week is not right for my body.

Right now, I LOVE Pilates and HIGHLY recommend checking out www.blogilates.com. I never have felt stronger or better about myself and my body! I have gained such lean muscle and have abs like I never thought I could! I am so happy I listened to my body, even though it was very tough, because I now have found a new love!

I encourage everyone to try their best to listen to their body. It really can be difficult at first, but once you listen and give it time, you will see the benefits!!

Thanks everyone for reading and again thanks to Jessie for being so kind to let me guest post on her wonderful blog!!

 

Jess!!

24 thoughts on “Guest Post #6 (Listening To Your Body)

  1. I’m definitely not great at listening to my body. Unfortunately, I had quite a few years of coaches pushing me to train through injury (rowing) that have somewhat conditioned me to think that pain isn’t that bad. Taking time out voluntarily is something I need to start working on. Thanks for the inspiration and for letting us know that changing things up is not the equivalent of tossing in the towel. 🙂

    • Training for an intense sport like that and being conditioned to just deal with pain can make it hard to really listen to your body! It is hard to take time off but
      it feels so good when you realize it is what your body needs:) thanks for commenting and giving feedback:)

  2. Girl, you are speaking right to me! I am obsessed with running and (even though I know it’s insane), I’m convinced that any other workout is not good enough if I’m not running. But I am currently suffering from severe knee pain that has sidelined me. It has been such a struggle, but I’m working on it 🙂 I was going to post about this soon, too!

    • That is exactly how I was! I really felt like no other workout would keep me in shape like running. But now I see that I am stronger and feel better than ever even though I am not running! Good luck with your knee pain, I have experienced that type of injury as well, its not fun!! Hang in there girl!

  3. Such a great post with an important message!! I’ve wittled my running down to 2-3 days a week – any more and I too feel hip pain. There are SO many different forms of exercise out there (tennis, biking, swimming, zumba, pure barre, etc.) that are just as good as running!

    • It is amazing what wonders a break will do for you! I never thought I could do it and you are so right, I am so much more in tune with my body now! Good for you for being so good about listening to your body:)

  4. I agree with everything! Great post! I’ve had some bad injuries over the years….hip bursitis (sounds similar to the pain you had) which forced me to give up running the Chicago Marathon for the 3rd time and more recently I tore a huge piece of cartilage under my kneecap (it was from soccer but has majorly affected my running). Gotta listen to our bodies!

    • I do think that I had something similar if not hip bursitis! I am so sorry you had to give up your marathon and even more sorry you tore a piece of cartilage under your kneecap! That sounds so painful, but awesome job for listening to your body! You rock!

  5. I definitely agree with what you said here! Great guest post! Cutting back on something you love can be really tough but sometimes it is necessary. I’m training for a half right now and am having trouble with my feet, so my solution has been more strength training, less running. Hopefully it’ll work!

    • Exactly! Plus strength training makes you a stronger runner and to build your muscle up! Good luck with your feet trouble and awesome job for listening to your body!!! I am sure you will do great on your half with your current training regimen!

  6. Pingback: Check it out! | *FitnJess*

    • Running can be SO hard on your body as sad as it is!! I am so glad I tried pilates too, its so much fun! Can’t believe I have lived this long without it:)

  7. I totally agree with you on this post! I used to run 5+ miles three times a week because, like you, I was addicted and just felled I HAD to do it. But it just started to wear me down. So now I run a max of 3 miles (usually 2 miles) and do strength training and pilates instead. I feel SO much better for it and I look forward to my workouts so much more now.

    • It is so hard when you are addicted so something like running and have that feeling of HAVING to run. Now its awesome because I really just don’t feel like running and I am not forcing myself to! I will start adding running in like I mentioned in the post just like what you are doing! Isn’t it amazing how much better you feel?!? I agree, I totally look forward to my workouts so much more:) Thanks for sharing and reading!

  8. Pingback: To Count or Not to Count? | *FitnJess*

Leave a Reply

