Guest Post #2 (Recipe)

Hello Jessie Loves To Run readers!! My name is Kat and I blog over at Katalyst Health. My blog focuses on my daily adventures in nutrition and exercise, all while being married to a sugar addict and taking care of a crazy puppy.

One of my favorite things to share on my blog is the experiments I do on my husband Ninja. Every once in a while I like to take on the task of tricking him into eating something healthier than he thinks. He’s typically pretty good about eating whatever I give him, but every once in a while he will shut down and not even give it a try (like my avocado pudding. He wants NOTHING to do with it!)

The other day though I was able to get one by him, and it’s a good thing I did, because he LOVES it!

 

Edamame Guacamole

Packed with healthy fats and protein, this delicious dip is just as good (if not better!) than traditional guac. And I guarantee you no one will guess the secret ingredient!

Ingredients:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 C shelled edamame
  • 1/2 C diced onion
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/4 C salsa
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 T cilantro, diced

Place avocado, edamame, salsa and lemon juice into a food processor and blend until smooth (I leave mine a little chunky!). Add in remaining ingredients and mix well. Place in fridge for 30 minutes and enjoy.

 My husband polished off this guacamole in no time, and didn’t even slow down when I told him that it contained soy beans. I guess sometimes it’s ok to trick your husband!

9 thoughts on “Guest Post #2 (Recipe)

  1. Ooh! I’ve never thought to put edamame in guac before — SUCH a great and original idea!! I’ve never been the biggest fan of guacamole because most people tend to make it with cilantro (ew!) — this one looks like it has some awesome flavours though, definitely going to be giving it a try soon!! 🙂

    • Annnnnd apparently I checked out before reading the last ingredient!! Oops! 🙂 I may omit the cilantro in this case … Do you think the salsa would have enough flavour to carry through without it?

  2. He is missing out not trying the avocado pudding because that stuff is GOOD!! I will have to give this guac a try as well. We are from Texas so it is a common food around here. I am hoping it lives up to the taste of the regular stuff!!!

Leave a Reply

