It’s okay to grow up….

My golly (yes, I just said golly), can you believe todays the last day of August? I never noticed until my first year out of high school( 5 years ago), how life seems to move @ such a faster pace as you get older. How your life changes from time to time.

To be honest, it’s quite scary in a way. I remember as a kid I used to wish life would speed up so I’d be able to do this and that. But now that I’ve gotten my “wish”, there are times where I wish I could just pause life for minute or two. I’d love to savor certain moments & put them on repeat.

Justin & I @ Graduation (2007)

With my Sister In-Laws before moving to NC

Don’t get me wrong, becoming an adult has been a wonderful adventure on its own. From moving out of the house at 19, and starting a life with Joshua in North Carolina, we both had to grow up quick. The first few months on our own wasn’t all we thought it would be. We learned quickly that money doesn’t grow on trees, and life can in fact not just be butterflies & rainbows.

But with that being said, you learn that as long as you have the people who mean the most to you by your side, you’ll get through the tough times in life & come out stronger and more knowledgeable at the end.

The day Joshua deployed in 2009, I thought my whole world was coming to an end. Watching your best friend, love of your life & husband walk away isn’t easy. Knowing that you two won’t be reunited again for 8 months. Knowing that you can’t just call each other whenever you have something funny or important to say. Knowing that you’ll be waking up alone again, instead of too a gorgeous face. Knowing that holidays wouldn’t feel like holidays. It’s little things in life, that I wish people wouldn’t take for granite.

But, you know what.. I knew it was coming, and I was prepared. I had the greatest friend, who was thankfully going through the same thing (our husbands worked together). We had each other. We were there for one another to wipe away tears, to laugh so hard we cried, to run to the store for one another to get junk food to make us feel better. She was my rock through deployment. We grew up together from this experience. She learned how to shovel, and I learned how to cook better.

&& once deployment came to an end. Joshua & I weren’t exactly the same people. I had a growing love for running. It wasn’t just about us. We were both open to discussing children, and when & if it would happen. We discussed our future more in depth. Our love for one another grew stronger & stronger. We were never ones to fight much, but when we did we learned to control our voices (which we still work on).

We were there to teach each other new things. Rather it be from learning how to drive stick, to taking apart a gun. We viewed our life different whenever we were faced with deaths in our family.

When growing up, you realize that it’s so important to remain close with your parents, in-laws, and family in general. They will always be the ones who will be there for you no matter what. They will love you unconditionally, no matter if you don’t succeed @ something in life. You’ll realize that the things they told you when you were growing up, do in fact matter & do in fact happen. Life is full of unexpected surprises, and if you aren’t prepared… there is a good chance you’ll take a fall. My dad always told me to save 10% of my work checks when I was younger.. did I listen? No, not always. But now that i’m older & smarter, I wish I would’ve listened more. Heck, I could be a millionaire by now 🙂 okay well maybe not a millionaire, but you get what I’m saying.

Both sets of in-laws

So if your still with me, and have read it all.. just know that growing up is okay & it’s worth every fast month. Just make sure to never take certain times in life for granite. Make sure to smile more, or do something kind for someone. You can’t relive your past, but you can always move forward & learn more & more as the days come.

 

**Also, please let me know if you’d like to do a guest post on here while I’m away on vacation. I’ve gotten a few people (who are amazing!), but I need a few more since I’ll be gone for 10 days. Let me know on here, or send an e-mai jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com. Thank you so much!

Have a wonderful weekend everyone ❤ & don’t forget to watch some football!!! 🙂

53 thoughts on “It’s okay to grow up….

  1. I love everything about this post! Its so amazing to think about the beauty and transformation that comes with the drastic changes of growing up. Life is so amazing!
    I love seeing more about your story and getting to know all the challenges you’ve gone through–I can’t imagine what it was like to have to be away from your husband for so long, especially so early in your marriage! You’re so beautiful and so strong! Love you!
    xoxo

    • I am so blessed to have you as a reader Sloane. I know I tell you this daily, but you really are just amazing. You say the sweetest things, and can make anyones day 10x better. Thank you for it all <3.

  2. Such a great post! I often get a little down about how fast time is moving and how different I thought things would be by this age. But…I also know that there is so much ahead and you can’t always plan for everything. Thanks for reminding me to savor everything!
    I am so impressed by you- I definitely didn’t have the strength, confidence, and maturity you do at your age. You are amazing 🙂

    • Thank you so much. That means the world to me. If there is anything I wanted to get out of this post, you’ve understood it all. I’m so happy that I could remind you to just savor every moment of your life. Never wish to grow up quicker that what we already are. 🙂

  3. This is such a heart felt post! It really touched me! Often times I find myself wishing I was younger again, but then I think about all the blessings I currently have and wouldn’t change them for the world! Thanks for taking a few minutes to have us step back and open our eyes to what’s really important! 🙂

  4. Would it be safe for me to say that you have a bit of an old soul? I just think you seem very mature and insightful for being so young. Being 10 or more years older than, I am not sure I saw things as clearly as you do at that age.

    Great post!!

  5. There is SO much amazingness in this post. First, I completely agree with you on how FAST time flies. I graduated in 07 as well, and I am amazed at how quickly the time has flew by since then. And I adore the pictures of you and your hubby 🙂
    Oh and Id love to guest post! Sending you an email now!

  6. Jessie, this is a FABULOUS post! You couldn’t have worded it better. Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like if I did things slightly different but then I know if I did, I wouldn’t have met TJ and wouldn’t have my amazing kids. Sometimes I think about what my kids will be like when they are older but when they get there, I know I’ll be wishing they were younger again. I try to cherish each day with my kids and TJ knowing how quickly each day passes. Thank you for such a GREAT post!

    Enjoy your vacation and can’t wait to hear all about it!

    • Thank you so much. I truly do believe things in life happen for a reason. There was a reason you met TJ. He gave you beautiful children. & now not only do you have a family to help you grow & see things different, you have yourself. Your stronger & more beautiful in so many ways that you weren’t in years prior. Continue to smile, and live everyday to the absolute fullest hunnie!

  7. Loved this post Jessie! When I left my family this week I told my husband how I wished I could go back to the days of living at home and being close to everyone but we have to grow up sometime right!? 🙂 I appreciate your honesty in this post and I loved reading about the changes you went through. I hope your trip is fabulous!

    • Thanks hunnie! It is scary just how fast you grow up, but it’s also one of the most amazing things to happen to you. I’m glad you and your hubs had such a fabulous time @ the beach w/ your family 🙂

  8. This was beautiful! I’ve been having a struggle lately with accepting that I am growing up, but that’s what life is about 🙂 Sometimes I worry if I made the wrong decisions in my life, but what it comes down to is you can’t worry about the past, because if it was a good decision at the time that’s all that matters. You guys seem like such a sweet and loving couple, and was what I needed to see lately. I broke up with my boyfriend because I didn’t feel we were right for each other anymore… hopefully I’ll have what you guys have someday 🙂

  9. I’m happy to read more about you and Joshua, and I loved seeing all the pictures you posted! The one of you guys hugging when he returned is my favorite!

  10. So true, time FLIES when you get older and growing up sucks but I’m also finding that I like it too. I’m way more confident in myself and I do things because I want to not because of some social pressure. I feel like I know what kind of people I like to be around and what kinds of things make me happy! Time flies and I want to spend my time doing things with with people that make me happy. Also, I’d be glad to guest post 🙂 Let me know if there is a topic you’d want me to write on!

    • Love this comment. It’s so wonderful to hear much you’ve grown up, and have learned! Good for you sweetie 🙂

      Yes yes, I’d love you to write one. Just e-mail me “jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com”. I’ll need it no later than wednesday.. and it can be on whatever your heart desires 🙂

    • I actually do need one more!! Just e-mail me “jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com”.

      I cannot believe it’ll be your 10 yr reunion, how exciting. You do not look that old though girl (yes that’s a great thing, haha).

  11. What a sweet post! I wish I could be a kid again! But I do love being an adult too! I hope you have a marvelous vacation! Looks like you and hubs have a really strong relationship! That is harder to achieve then it sounds! 🙂

  12. Beautiful post, Jessie! I often reminisce about my childhood and wish that life could return to that sweet simplicity. However, then I stop myself and remember that every stage is designed and created perfectly; even the toughest times have purpose in our lives! And I truly believe that there is good in every single day; we just have to take the time to slow down and appreciate that good (because yes, life definitely speeds up as we get older!). 🙂

    I loved reading about your journey with Josh! You two are so blessed to have one another! xoxo

    • Thank you for this whole comment. It’s so wonderful to see that you understand where I’m coming from, and believe in so many things that I do in life. You are such a beautiful person Sara, and I always look forward to hearing what you have to say. Thank you ❤

  13. What a beautiful post Jessie 🙂 I could not even imagine going through a deployment and surviving it with a great sense of humour like you have! And these pictures are gorgeous, you are incredibly lucky! If you’re still looking for guest bloggers I’d be happy to help out 🙂 have a great vacation! P.S. has anyone ever told you that you look like a young Reese witherspoon? I mean seriously, damn 😉

    • Awe you are too kind.. you sure do know how to make someones day :). I’m sorry, but I’m good with guest bloggers. Thank you so much for the offer though. It means the world to me!

      && yes I actually get it ALL the time, haha.

Leave a Reply

