A Failed Long Run..

Yes you read the post title correctly. My planned 15 miles just didn’t happen. The weird but good thing about it, I had a great run. A great run up until mile 10. I had to stop to use the restroom, and for whatever reason my legs begun feeling weird & I had the weirdest pain in my knee afterwards. Tried to continue the run, but had to stop within a half mile. I’ve dealt with a fair share of injuries, and yeah my legs probably would’ve returned back to normal & the knee pain would’ve went away.. but to me, it’s not worth the risk of an injury. Was I upset about the run ending early? Absolutely. Did I walk the half mile home without a smile? Yup, sure did.

It wasn’t until I opened the computer screen & saw my post from Thursday. I suddenly got mad at myself for even being upset for a second. There are so many others out there who don’t have the opportunity to run, or live there life to the fullest. Do they sit there and dwell upon it everyday?.. absolutely not. So yes my run didn’t go as planned, but there will be hundreds more to make up for it.

      “Not every race is perfect,

                 not every run is perfect.

                                      Getting out there, is perfect.”

Moving on… Other good news, well sort of. I had a dentist appointed today to get the second half of my root canal treatment done, but the dentist is sick. It’s now been pushed back until Tuesday. I would’ve loved to get it all over & done with, but that just means I get to have a pain-free weekend with the hubs. I’m thinking maybe a little dinner date tonight (partially because I’m in no mood to cook haha). :

The other day I was surfing the web in between my busy and hectic life (okay I’m lying, I don’t have a busy life whatsoever), I came across this fun survey for runners. So for all you runners out there, I’d love to hear your answers…

What is your favorite type of crossing training?                                                        As I’m sure most of you will say Strength Training. Strength training may be one of my least favorite cross-training exercises. Sure I like how my body feels afterwards, but I’ll always choose a long walk or bike ride over it instead

 
What is your favorite song to run to?
This may come as a shocker to many, but I don’t really enjoy listening to music when running. Honestly, it sort of ruins my “stride” and I always about trip over my feet.

What brand shoes do you wear when you run?
Asics Gel-Neo33’s. Love and swear by these shoes!

Do you wear a hat when you run?
Nope, well in the winter I’ll wear a beanie, or ear warmers.

What temperature is your favorite for running?
55-60 degrees + a little drizzle = perfect!

Do you have any big races coming up?
As soon as they open registration for the Kuwait Charity Run that is taking place in November.

What is your favorite distance?
Love the feeling after you finish those 13.1 miles (however I would love to run a full marathon soon). But on a day-to-day basis I’ll say 8 miles.

Are you a morning, noon or evening runner?
Before moving to Kuwait, I’d start my work out between 5-6. Since moving to Kuwait though, it’s all changed. Gym opens later on during the day, so i don’t start until 11. I’ve actually gotten used to it, and kinda like it :).

Do you run solo or with a buddy?
Solo. Love the time to myself. Don’t get me wrong though, I loved when the hubs joined in from time to time.

What’s your favorite post run snack?
Since my runs start so late in the day, once I get home it’s usually lunch time. Either a smoothie or big salad.

What did you love about your first race?
The fact that my husband and I ran it together. The best part about it was when the hubs grabbed my hand right before the finish line just so we had a picture of it. Talk about adorable!

Do you enjoy getting a medal at the end?
Absolutely. I mean isn’t that why you run it in the first place.. a medal + free food?? Kidding 🙂

Who is your running idol?
Is it bad that I don’t have one??

How long have you been a runner?
Two years +. I’m so proud of myself for how far I’ve come in such a short amount of time too.

(Ladies) Do you run with your engagement/wedding ring on?
I usually take my rings off before any workout.

What’s your favorite workout? repeats? long runs? tempo?
Long Run for sure. Love the “runners high” you get afterwards.

Now I’m off to shower. Is it gross that I ran 10 miles, came home made/ate lunch, & wrote this post all before showering? If so, oh well :).

  • Have you ever had a disappointing workout? How’d you turn your mood around?
  • Tell me one favorite moment that happened to you this week
39 thoughts on “A Failed Long Run..

  1. I know how disappointing it can be to stop a run early. I can get so angry with myself. But, it’s great that you were able to put it in perspective. We really should be so grateful that we just have the ability to run! And 10 mile is still nothing to scoff at! 🙂
    Also…..I sit around in gross sweaty-ness for hours all the time. haha

  2. You have a GREAT attitude about having to stop a bit early. I believe that will make all the difference. If you had been upset and negative about it, I think our bodies react differently–maybe don’t bounce back as quickly–as when we smile and think about how great the workout we did accomplish was. 🙂

    Great moment this week: meeting my students for the new school year! All 120 of them! 🙂

    • Thanks for those kind words. You’re too sweet!

      My goodness that is alot of names to remember. That is one of the things I give all you teachers a ridiculous amount of credit for. I don’t think I’d be able too :-X haha.

  3. I hate that feeling of not getting to all of the mileage you planned, but remember to look at the big picture–you still ran TEN miles! That’s fantastic. And you’re exactly right–those of us who have the ability and discipline to run? That’s the true blessing in it all.

  4. SMART GIRL I am glad you stopped. Also, I bet it was the antibiotics you have to take for the root canal. I was told that they strip your muscles and put extra strain on them. Just a thought, I took it easy on the running front when I was on them. Now that I am off boy do I feel a difference. Don’t get down! I promise, it is the medicine.

  5. Girl I get disappointed a lot by my workouts, ESPECIALLY running. Im by no means a runner, unless Im chasing a soccer ball, so its really hard for me to stay motivated during a run. Most of the time they suck lol Dont get down about the bad run. If its one thing Ive learned, bad workouts are the perfect motivation for a kick ass workout 😉

  6. I have had plenty of disappointing runs! I just do exactly what you did, remember that not every run will be good and to remember how lucky I am to have the ability to run! Plus, a bad run just means that am awesome run is right around the corner! 🙂

  7. I sometimes get disappointed by workouts, but what I always say to myself is, its better that I workeed out in the first place vs not at all! That usually gets my mind in the right place and I feel better!
    Hope you have a lovely date night with your husba

    • That’s a good one, because you know there are 7185418 (maybe a bit tramatic lol) people out there who are sitting on the couch not doing a a thing.

      We just got take out, watched movies & played games. It was nice. Thank you 🙂

  8. At least you got 10 in! Way to be smart and not risk injury. Some days your body just has to cry “uncle.”

    Even when I was running a lot I didn’t have a running idol. It’s such a solitary, personal sport… for me it didn’t lend itself to having a hero.

    • Oh I’m so glad I’m not the only crazy runner out there who doesn’t have an idol. I mean don’t get me wrong, I think those olympic runners are amazing! But just like you said, it’s such a personal sport.

  9. You did awesome getting in 10! Great job! I love the running survey! Mind if I borrow it for a post? What is the temperature there in Kuwait when you go out running at 11:00? Just curious… I’m more of a mild/warm weather runner than a cold weather runner. My ears and extremities freeze so I head indoors to the gym 🙂

    • Oh no girl, not at all. Enjoy the survey, spread it around :). Temperatures during the day get up to 130 lately.. @ that night it’s around 110ish?? Let’s just say I’m MORE than ready for it to get a big cooler out around here.

  10. Good for you! It is seriously thee hardest thing to make yourself stop in the middle of a workout because you want to finish what you started. But in the end, it truly is important to keep your body injury-free and you can run those other 5 miles on a later day when your body lets you! It shows HOW much you really love running when you make smart decisions like that 🙂

    • Thats one thing I love about solo runs, the thinking time. I love that I can think about anything I want.. whether it be the most ridiculous things in the world haha. I mean it’s hard not to think about random things once you hit 5 miles & up.

  11. Even though ending a workout early can be a huge disappointment, you should be so proud of yourself for listening to your body and stopping when it told you to! It’s much better to cut one run short than to injure yourself and be sidelined for months (I learned the hard way) 😉

    Love this urvey! I’m an Asics girl too (although I recently bought a pair of Nike Free’s for shorter runs and cross-training), and would never run long distances in anything but my Asics Kayano 18’s. They’re “resting” while I focus on strength training, but once I’m ready to hit the pavement again, they’ll be ready to go!

    Oh, and I stay sweaty for HOURS after hitting the gym. The longer I wait though, the better my shower feels! 😉

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! ❤

  12. I think it’s fantastic that you listened to your body and stopped when you needed to! I have soo much trouble doing that, well more so in the past, and I have gotten injured and seriously overtrained as a result.. not good!
    Lovin the survey too, I am most certainly an Asics woman! I have tried others, Mizuno once,and they ended up chafing the heck out of my pinky toes

  13. Pingback: Runners Survey | Rach Rach Bo Bach

Leave a Reply

