Exciting news + a recipe

Beware, this post may be all over the place. I have so much to get done, in such a little amount of time. You see, the hubs and I have been on the waiting list for “Hula”. Hula is where his company gives you money to live outside of the companies apartment building. Well just last week we were #7, then all of a sudden we became first in line yesterday. Which is wonderful, but there was a little downfall to it. We had to find a place to live in by FRIDAY (yeah in less than 4 days), or someone else would have the opportunity to move out instead.

Needless to say, a majority of my afternoon was spent calling various realtors and apartments. I had originally scheduled 10 apartment showings, but 5 ended up falling through at the last-minute.

The first and second showing were in the same apartment building. The rooms were nice, just not what the husband and I were completely looking for.

The last three were with the same realtor which was nice, and very convenient. The first apartment we were shown is literally a minute walk from where we are now. The inside was a bit small, but nice. It had an outdoor pool, fitness center & security. Overall we were very pleased.

The second one he showed us was just beautiful! It’s about 2-5 minutes from the apartments were at now, and much closer to restaurants. Did I mention that right behind the apartment is the ocean?? As soon as we walked in, I just knew it was the “one”. I was too distracted by this kitchen (these pictures don’t even do it justice):

to take pictures of the rest of the apartment. It’s a 2 bedroom, 2 bath. The only downfall about the place is that there’s no fitness center. Not really a huge concern though because I’m very content at the gym I’m registered with. There’s no need to talk about #3, because we decided to go with this one. I mean seriously, how could we not? It’s perfect for the three of us (yes I’m including Roxy). We are meeting with the realtor tonight around 7, so pray that everything goes smoothly :).

Okay, now onto dinner. It was a good one y’all!! Being that we were in such a huge rush when the hubs got home from work, I completely forgot to take pictures (blogger fail). I wanted to share the recipe today though anyways.

Shrimp Pasta with Peppers and Onions

((it didn’t look that amazing, but you get the idea))

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. angel hair pasta (whole wheat)
  • ½ pound medium shrimp, peeled & deveined
  • ½ tablespoon olive oil
  • ½ medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 pepper (I used ½ red, ½ orange), chopped
  • Fresh pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • 2 tablespoon Atheno’s Spicy Three Pepper Hummus

Preparation:

  • Boil water for pasta. Cook according to directions on package.
  • Meanwhile, cook chopped peppers and onions in olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat for about 4 minutes. Season shrimp with pepper and garlic powder. Add shrimp to skillet and cook for about 3-5 minutes or until shrimp is pink. Shrimp will become tough if overcooked.
  • Once pasta is done, drain and stir in hummus (add more hummus if you want more flavor). Top with the shrimp, peppers & onions mixture. Enjoy!
  • Serves 2.

 Now I have gotta go pack up the house. Thank goodness we don’t have too much, so it won’t take too long. Even though I don’t mind cleaning, I despise doing it whenever were moving out. It always seems like such a hassle. Anyone else agree?

  • How many times have you moved?
  • What is one necessity you must have in a home?
62 thoughts on “Exciting news + a recipe

    • Mine too. It’s so much more convenient than having to run tot he laundry mat every few days. Mine was always a dishwasher before moving here. I don’t think they really exist around here though? haha

    • It truly is amazing. I wish the pictures showed just how gigantic it is! The spare bedroom is huge too, so you’ll have muchhh space for all of your stuff for when you come visit!! No worries, theres a bed too –no cot for you 🙂

  1. Fingers crossed everything goes over smoothly with getting the apartment today!! The kitchen is wonderful!!

    A big kitchen with an island was a requirement when we were buying a new house and I love it so much that I will never be without one again…..if I can help it!

    • I thought the same exact thing before moving here. Strangly enough, I kinda enjoy washing the dishes?? I never though I’d say it but it’s true. It might also just be because it gives me something to do during the day haha.

  2. That apartment looks so awesome! I am excited for ya girl! I know how you feel, I am in the process moving out of my current apartment and into a new place. Lots to clean and pack/unpack ugh!!!

  3. Congratulations!!! That is very exciting news, and I am super jealous of how huge your kitchen is! Someday when I leave manhattan, I will have a large kitchen as opposed to a closet with appliances 😉
    And YUM!! Your dinner looks so good!!

  4. hi pretty lady!! the new apartment looks awesome!! love that kitchen.. moving is always a PITA. I am moving again 9/1 (nick and I are getting our first place together..eee!!!) and I admit, I am overwhelmed that we are combining 2 apartments, and there is just so much to do. Regardless, looks like this is the right move for you and the hubs and you will love your new kitchen 🙂 my mom makes shrimp and pasta, very similar to what you posted – totally just reminded me of her, haha. SO GOOD!! happy tuesday!!

  5. That kitchen in enormous!! So exciting!!! I just moved last week and moving is such a pain, but well worth it. I finally have a dishwasher (never had one in my apt before…sf apartments are too old) and I don’t want to ever be without it again! My other requirement is laundry in the building…I refuse to go to laundramats.

    • haha i never thought i’d be able to go back to a place w/o a dishwasher, but i guess moving to a new country proved me wrong haha. It’s weird, I kinda don’t mind it anymore?? Neverr thought I’d say that!

  6. That is really exciting news!!! The kitchen in the new place is awesome–I love the countertops! And the recipe–using hummus for the sauce–brilliant. I use hummus as salad dressing all the time. I don’t know why I never thought to use it like you did!

  7. Great news. Good luck packing everything.
    I’ve moved three times now, and I always pack a small basic kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom supply box (plates, napkins, utensils, soap, towel, toothbrush, sheets, linens). These basic boxes are the first ones I unpack. That way if I’m too tired to do anything, I know I have a plate to eat off of, a toothbrush to freshen up, and a clean bed to crash on.

    • Genius idea!! I’ll have to remember that for our next big move. Thankfully we don’t have too much to pack up again since we are moving to another furinished apartment. It really does make packing a lot easier! haha.

  8. You found an absolutely GORGEOUS apartment!! Congrats! I bet you’re going love cooking in that kitchen! The granite counter tops are beautiful. 🙂 I hope everything went smoothly tonight!

    You dinner looks amazing. When I was in middle school, I was obsessed with Shrimp Scampi, and would always order it when I went to my favorite Italian restaurant. This sounds similar–but much healthier! 😉

    I moved a lot when I was young, in fact by the time I’d turned 9, I’d moved nine times! Crazy, huh? Fortunately my family slowed down a bit as a I got older!

    • Isn’t it gorgeous?? I’m thinking about putting a mattress on the island and sleeping there so I never have to leave the kitchen 🙂 haha.

      oh my goodnes 9?? that is crazzayyy girl!! That’s great that they slowed down. I’m sure you’ve met so many wonderful people though with all those moves & switching from school to school.

  9. Pingback: FRIDAY RANDOMNESS |

Leave a Reply

