MIMM #4

Good Morning Everyone! I hope y’all had a wonderful weekend. Ours was filled with good food, and the olympics. I can’t believe they are over :(. How about Uganda’s Stephen Kiprotich winning the Men’s Marathon. Seriously, where did he store all of his energy at until the end of the race? I probably told my husband at least 10 times how all these marathon runners are so inspirational. He just didn’t understand though. Anyways, moving on to another Marvelous In My Monday hosted by the beautiful Katie @ HealthyDivaEats. If you don’t already participate, head on over to her page & read all about it.

  • I talked to my mom Saturday afternoon. Those forty minutes on the phone made the day perfect. Just hearing her voice was so heartwarming. I’m beyond blessed to have such a wonderful mother. She knows just what to say, and has the greatest advice. I can’t even begin to explain to y’all how much I look up to her. She has the biggest heart out of anyone I know. Her strength alone is amazing. I can only hope to become as incredible of a mother as she has been to my brother & me.

  • Atheno’s Spicy Three Pepper Hummus. Have you guys tried this stuff yet? Oh my word, it’s amazing. I’ve never been a big hummus fan, but could easily eat this by the spoonful.  I mixed it in w/ my eggs this weekend, so good. I’m going to do some experimenting in tonight’s dinner with it. I’m thinking something along the lines of pasta, shrimp, and onions. Hopefully I’ll have a new recipe for y’all tomorrow.

  • My body. No I don’t think my body is marvelous by any means, but it has been feeling wonderful lately. Ever since upping my calorie intake I feel much more “alive”. My body feels stronger, and not “tired”. I know I’m still not 100% on where I should be with how many calories I should be consuming a day, but I’m getting there. It’s not about changing my ways overnight; to me it’s about baby steps. I want to feel comfortable and happy while doing it, and so far I am.

  • Step Brothers. Even though the hubs always recites every line during the movie ((which may or may not drive me crazy!!), it’s still a favorite. Seriously, how can you not die of laughter watching it??

 

 

  • What’s your favorite movie?
  • Have you seen Will Ferrell & Zach Galifianakis’s new movie “The Campaign”? Did you like it?
43 thoughts on “MIMM #4

  1. I love Step Brothers! Its so stupid, but sooo funny! I’ve heard Bridemaids is a funny movie too – but I haven’t see it yet!

    Your mom sounds like such a wonderful women! It’s nice that you got to talk to her.

  2. Talking to my mum is always marvellous too – they always seem to know what to say! I’m so sad the Olympics are over, and weren’t the marathon runners incredible? Seriously inspirational how they push through right to the end. I thought the modern pentathalon women were pretty awesome too.
    Have a marvellous rest of your Monday 😉

    • Don’t they? I don’t now know how moms do it, but they truly are amazing!

      Oh I couldn’t get over how incredible the marathon runners were. They seriously made running 26.2 miles look easy haha.

  3. Glad to hear you were able to talk to your mom! I can’t imagine living in a different country than my mom, so I’m sure that was a special treat!

    Hmmm favorite movie? I usually answer this question with “Mean Girls.” It just never gets old!

    • It does get hard from time to time. I mean the hubs & I haven’t lived near our family back in PA for a couple yrs now bc he was in the military prior to this movie, so forethemost part I’m kind of used to it.

      Oh I loveee Mean Girls!! That one is definitly in my top 10 🙂

  4. I had the same feeling when I upped my calories! It was such a great feeling 🙂 My favorite movie…. kinda funny but it would prob be Tangled hahaha I could watch that movie all the time and not get bored 🙂 I haven’t seen that movie yet, but saw lots of billboards in the city with it, it looks funny lol

  5. That is so sweet that you have such a great relationship with your mom. I just took my mom out for her birthday last night, you gotta love quality mom time. Hmm my favorite movie ever is Clueless and other awesome 90’s movies 🙂 Have a good one!!

  6. hm could I be more proud of you? I am so glad you have found peace with upping the calories and are starting to feel it. Your body is probably thanking you over and over. I see we are both mama’s girls. I love that about you! I am so glad you had a marvelous weekend.

    • Awe thanks girlie 🙂 You are too sweet!! Pleaseee come to Kuwait already. Thanks!! Our little girl flies out in September from Philly so just catch a ride w/ her. Maybe you can fit in the kennel w/ her?? I promise she won’t bite!

  7. Aww! I’m so glad that you were able to talk to your mom. She sounds amazing. I can’t imagine living that far away from my parents.
    And I’ve been feeling the same way since I upped my calories. My body feels stronger and healthier, my skin is more vibrant, and I’m just a happier person in general. It’s crazy how much of a difference it makes!

    Oh, and my hummus addiction is out of control. I’m convinced that it should be it’s own food group because I find myself eating it by the spoonful on a regular basis. haha. No shame!

    • It’s so good to hear that you are feeling much more “alive” since upping your calorie intake. I’m so proud of you girl. We can do it, and continue to become stronger 🙂

      Ha Ha, I’ve never really been a big fan of hummus until this flavor actually. Now I don’t ever want to run out haha.

  8. So glad you had a nice convo with your mom! And its awesome that you are feeling better since you upped your calories! So important to listen to your body and make it happy!! I haven’t tried that hummus, but it looks so yummy! I tried the regular flavor and was not a fan, but maybe this one will be better?? I trust your opinion!:) have a great rest of the day!

  9. I love this post!! I’m so glad you’re feeling better and taking some baby steps to be in tip-top shape 🙂 I totally know how amazing talking to your mom can be. It sounds like yours is an amazing and wonderful woman–she’s clearly taught you well! My mom is the one person who gets me most–we’re so blessed to have such wonderful role models! I loooove Stepbrothers too, and totally loved the Campaign. I didn’t have high expectations for it but it turned out hilarious!

  10. “THERE’S SO MUCH ROOM FOR ACTIVITIES!!” I love that movie! Just hilarious. I can’t wait to see “The Campaign” … hopefully tomorrow night!

    I need that hummus in my life. Sounds amazing.

  11. Moms really do have a certain kind of comfort that nobody else can emulate! My favorite funny movie has to be Bridesmaids. Such a cliche choice, I know, but I just can’t get enough!

  12. I don’t know what to do with myself now that the Olympics are over. It feels weird to watch normal TV again.
    I love Step Brothers! So many funny lines in that movie! But my all time favorite movie is Wayne’s World, super cheesy but I love it.

Leave a Reply

